We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best host, quiet location, walking distance to bodegas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TikayKilla Lodge & Wines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best host, quiet location, walking distance to bodegas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we were so happy!

Location: outside of Mendoza but in Maipu, so if you want to do wine tasting, this is the place to be. Totally worth the cab rides into the city when we wanted to head there.

Host: Francisco (and his cute pup Suki) was amazing! He was more than helpful arranging taxis, tours, and giving his opinion on what is not to be missed. We had such a relaxed end to our vacation because we knew we could trust his recommendations.

Bed & Breakfast: the only place that we got a substantial breakfast that we didn't have to eat an hour later. Eggs cooked any way you like them, banana bread, toast & jams, fresh orange juice, coffee and tea. You can even have dinner there (there are a few good restaurants within walking distance too) if you are tired from doing wine tours all day!

Rooms were clean and looked out on the great back yard. The entire place is new and nice, well taken care of. Even little things were great (like water pressure in the shower).

No complaints at all. We will definitely be staying here and recommending this to anyone coming to Mendoza.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have a view of the garden in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
144
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stopped by for a couple of nights.
The service was great and the location couldn't be better, having the rental bikes already available for us we were biking down the wine yards in no time.

The host (Fransisco) also acted as our personal tourist guide, helping out a lot. Felt more like staying at an old friends house than a hotel.
We decided to keep staying here instead of in the city center, worth the extra taxis.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balboah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed two nights at Tikay Killa in the beginnig of march. What a nice little gem. We loved the stay from beginning to end. We can only confirm the already positive reviews. Francisco is the best host you can imagine. He cooked dinner to us both nights and we could just tell Francisco what we wanted and he would cook it - can you ask for more? Francisco was also extremly helpful with arranging our wine trips and our trip Termas Cacheuta. Rooms are nice and clean. Would definitively stay here again if in Mendoza.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Following other reviews, I'll repeat that the rooms are clean and well maintained but the real draw of this place is Francisco, a friendly welcoming and informative host. He gave us great ideas for things to do in the area, and even sketched out an itinary for our trip to the lake district and Chile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

A few months have passed since I stayed at Tikay Killa, This review is actually my first but I feel I owe it to Francisco. Over the years I have stayed at many B&Bs, the main reason being to get the local "feeling and atmosphere". For me the host plays the most important part, and in Francisco I found a person, whose engagement from our first email contact until even after my departure was outstanding and went by far past my expectations. The rooms at Tikay Killa are simple but clean, however Francisco's hospitality and his offer to join him and even his friends did not give me much of a chance to spend time in my room. My stay there will always generate fond memories. I do hope I get a chance to return a bit of that hospitality to him, when he visits British Columbia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Technically I am writing two reviews . The first is for the TikayKilla Lodge. We have stayed in accommodation all over south America, from hostel to B&B's to apartments and TikayKilla has been our favorite place. It is a charming lodge in the countryside surrounded by vineyards, that offered the peace and tranquility that we were looking for while visiting Mendoza . It is a small intimate lodge which comes with the very personalized attention, air con, cable and a delicious homemade breakfast when you finally rise in the morning. To top that Soki, the friendly and playful dog, and cat canela kept us smiling all week. But if you are not a huge fan of animals, Francisco has them so well trained that with one word and they will give you all the space you want. But we loved all the affection they gave us.

That brings me onto my second review-the owner Francisco, an Argentinian who speaks fluent English. What a beautiful lodge needs to be successful is a wonderful owner and manager. Francisco is amazing! A very genuine, funny, caring and down to earth guy that goes above and beyond for his guests! We had some car trouble while we were there and we would have been lost without his help. From translating to the mechanic for us to cooking us fantastic chorizo, we were so grateful for his hospitality. Thanks again Francisco, We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights to explore Mendoza wine country. Absolutely beautiful property and very relaxing. Perfect to be out in the country and close to wineries. Host was wonderful, and dog Soki very nice. Treated us wonderfully and was extremely accommodating and helpful as well. Went out of his way to make us delicious breakfast every morning and an excellent asado experience with several of his friends. Layed in the large backyard to stargaze and enjoyed pool to cool off from the hot Mendoza summers. This is the perfect place to stay if wanting to be in the country and near wineries, which is what was so relaxing. It is not near the city.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms only I believe, and all are nice with the basic amenities - meant to relax and sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggg748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jubrizzi, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for this great review. We are happy when our customers are too.
You are right; we only have 4 rooms so far and Francisco is a super nice person.
Regarding warm rooms, we had installed central air conditioning a week after you had left so I want to apologize about making you feel not as comfortable as we wished.
If you decide to come back someday, you’ll notice this improvement as many others we are caring out to make our place even more enjoyable and pretty.
We hope you also enjoyed the rest of your trip in our lands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 6 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
8.8 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 6 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikayKilla Lodge & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikayKilla Lodge & Wines

Property: TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Address: Montecaseros 3543 | 500m / 0.3 Miles East of Bodega la Rural (Rutini Wines), Maipu 5513, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TikayKilla Lodge & Wines 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TIKAYKILLA Lodge & Wines, beautifully reflects the traditional and rural land of Mendoza from which it is rooted. Springing from a marvelous display of plants and indigenous trees of various typical fruits from Mendoza region, Tikaykilla Lodge & Wines looks out on an expanse 3000m2 of open country full of picturesque vineyards introducing the visitor to the origin of the wine produced in this region. The Lodge is located in the very heart of the Wine Route, among vineyards, olive trees and fruit Groves, surrounded by Wineries and small farms in a typical Mendoza landscape, and just 500m away from the most important Wine Museum in South America. Tikay's cliche: "to make guests to feel even better than home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your TikayKilla Lodge & Wines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing