We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean rooms; excellent host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, clean rooms; excellent host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Following other reviews, I'll repeat that the rooms are clean and well maintained but the real draw of this place is Francisco, a friendly welcoming and informative host. He gave us great ideas for things to do in the area, and even sketched out an itinary for our trip to the lake district and Chile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
144
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

A few months have passed since I stayed at Tikay Killa, This review is actually my first but I feel I owe it to Francisco. Over the years I have stayed at many B&Bs, the main reason being to get the local "feeling and atmosphere". For me the host plays the most important part, and in Francisco I found a person, whose engagement from our first email contact until even after my departure was outstanding and went by far past my expectations. The rooms at Tikay Killa are simple but clean, however Francisco's hospitality and his offer to join him and even his friends did not give me much of a chance to spend time in my room. My stay there will always generate fond memories. I do hope I get a chance to return a bit of that hospitality to him, when he visits British Columbia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Technically I am writing two reviews . The first is for the TikayKilla Lodge. We have stayed in accommodation all over south America, from hostel to B&B's to apartments and TikayKilla has been our favorite place. It is a charming lodge in the countryside surrounded by vineyards, that offered the peace and tranquility that we were looking for while visiting Mendoza . It is a small intimate lodge which comes with the very personalized attention, air con, cable and a delicious homemade breakfast when you finally rise in the morning. To top that Soki, the friendly and playful dog, and cat canela kept us smiling all week. But if you are not a huge fan of animals, Francisco has them so well trained that with one word and they will give you all the space you want. But we loved all the affection they gave us.

That brings me onto my second review-the owner Francisco, an Argentinian who speaks fluent English. What a beautiful lodge needs to be successful is a wonderful owner and manager. Francisco is amazing! A very genuine, funny, caring and down to earth guy that goes above and beyond for his guests! We had some car trouble while we were there and we would have been lost without his help. From translating to the mechanic for us to cooking us fantastic chorizo, we were so grateful for his hospitality. Thanks again Francisco, We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights to explore Mendoza wine country. Absolutely beautiful property and very relaxing. Perfect to be out in the country and close to wineries. Host was wonderful, and dog Soki very nice. Treated us wonderfully and was extremely accommodating and helpful as well. Went out of his way to make us delicious breakfast every morning and an excellent asado experience with several of his friends. Layed in the large backyard to stargaze and enjoyed pool to cool off from the hot Mendoza summers. This is the perfect place to stay if wanting to be in the country and near wineries, which is what was so relaxing. It is not near the city.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms only I believe, and all are nice with the basic amenities - meant to relax and sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggg748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jubrizzi, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for this great review. We are happy when our customers are too.
You are right; we only have 4 rooms so far and Francisco is a super nice person.
Regarding warm rooms, we had installed central air conditioning a week after you had left so I want to apologize about making you feel not as comfortable as we wished.
If you decide to come back someday, you’ll notice this improvement as many others we are caring out to make our place even more enjoyable and pretty.
We hope you also enjoyed the rest of your trip in our lands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

When you ride your bicycle on the street Tikay Killa lodge is on, floral scents fill the air from the surrounding orchards of plums, peaches and olives. The lodge is conveniently located next to a gourmet shop, wineries, and less than 1km from a grocer. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the quiet propierty is beautiful with soft grass, lavender bushes, and various fruit trees. A wonderful place to take in the stars and the vast, open sky. For those hot days, there's a little pool you can cool off in. Francisco is a wonderful host whom treated us as guests, but also like friends. He assisted us in planing an itinerary for the duration of our stay, and beyond. Breakfast was wonderful, complete with optional fruit breads, eggs, toast, cereals, yogurt, orange juice and coffee. The atmosphere is very laid back and relaxed, which we like. At our request, he prepared an excellent asado and we were happy to break bread with him while we enjoyed his company. His dog, Soki, is sweet and playful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juneashley26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent a few nights in Tikay Killa Lodge. This is a great place in the middle of the wine-area of Maipu, just outside Mendoza. The lodge, which is pretty new, is a very good base to relax and to do wine-tasting by bike. The vineyards are just around the corner. You can rent bikes at the lodge. The owner, who speaks fluently English as well, is a fantastic host. He will provide you with all the things you want to know about the area. Together with his lovely dog (the most adorable ever seen!) he is taking care of a very nice atmosphere. The rooms are maybe not the biggest, but good enough. There is a kind of nice veranda where you can drink your wine in the evening. If you need a relax place and like to stay close to the vineyards where you can do the wine-tasting by bike, we can highly recommend this place. Joost & Karin (The Netherlands)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joost_Karin_Utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

This relatively new B&B-style lodge offers peace and quiet, or friendly banter when you want it. It's clean and the proprietor will, without question, try to make you comfortable. For instance, he has made arrangements with a local bike rental company to keep a few bicycles at the lodge for convenience. He will call a taxi, give you suggestions on places to visit (wineries) or help you order a pizza. For us, arriving on a Sunday afternoon when the shops are mostly closed, he prepared and included us in his evening dinner. If you need extra attention, just make friends with Soki, the TikayKilla puppy. The proprietor is very smart, is acquainted with all the latest pop culture and could definately handle a much larger property... You won't go wrong at TikayKilla.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 6 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.2 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 6 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikayKilla Lodge & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikayKilla Lodge & Wines

Property: TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Address: Montecaseros 3543 | 500m / 0.3 Miles East of Bodega la Rural (Rutini Wines), Maipu 5513, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TikayKilla Lodge & Wines 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TIKAYKILLA Lodge & Wines, beautifully reflects the traditional and rural land of Mendoza from which it is rooted. Springing from a marvelous display of plants and indigenous trees of various typical fruits from Mendoza region, Tikaykilla Lodge & Wines looks out on an expanse 3000m2 of open country full of picturesque vineyards introducing the visitor to the origin of the wine produced in this region. The Lodge is located in the very heart of the Wine Route, among vineyards, olive trees and fruit Groves, surrounded by Wineries and small farms in a typical Mendoza landscape, and just 500m away from the most important Wine Museum in South America. Tikay's cliche: "to make guests to feel even better than home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your TikayKilla Lodge & Wines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing