We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fabulous Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm
Ranked #2 of 10 Maipu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband Garth and I stayed at Posada Cavieres this past April 2014, and I can truly say it was a highlight of our Argentinian adventure. This little wine farm is just so lovely! The beautifully tranquil property is located in a quaint, quiet part of the Mendoza Winelands, and the accommodation is beautifully furnished, wonderfully comfortable room, fresh linen etc - every comfort one could wish for. The accommodation is on a 'bed and breakfast' basis, however, Hans is able to accommodate dinners by prior arrangement. We had the most authentic 'asada' (braai/barbeque) experience here (prepared by a wonderful, warm Argentinian man named Alberto), the food was really superb! For a nominal rental fee, Hans has bicycles in the shed which he rents out to those interested in a cycling meander to neighbouring wine farms and olive groves, and this we found to be not only relaxing, but a great way to experience the area and enjoy the gorgeous countryside. We stayed a total of three nights, and we were VERY sad to leave. Hans is a great host, always willing to accommodate and go the extra mile. We hope to maintain contact with him in the future, some great friendships made, and memories shared. Garth & Kim - South Africa

Room Tip: All rooms have french door access onto an outside patio area, and I feel each room offered equal val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
122
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a great stay at Posada Cavieres and we would absolutely recommend to stay here! Hans is a very friendly host, doing his best to make your stay comfortable. The posada is located in a quiet area and perfect to relax or to go to the surrounding wineries by bike. If you don't want to go out for dinner, Hans can serve you some perfect simple food, like empanadas or torta. We really liked the Asado one day, more than enough good meet :).

A small downside is that the wifi hardly works. Obviously we didn't come to a place like this for internet, but sometimes this was a bit frustrating when you want to look something up, book a bus, etc.

Rather about the area than the Posada: be aware that most wineries are closed on Sunday when planning your stay (we stayed 3 days, so it was no problem, but if you are just here for 1 or 2 days, it might be a pity)

Overall, a place we highly enjoyed!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wouter188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at Posada Cavieres at the end of September 2013 and had a wonderful time!!! Hans and Alina were amazing hosts and made our stay very special and memorable. Before we arrived, Hans was very helpful in giving us recommendations regarding the various activities we were interested in. We were mostly keen on visiting wineries, but also wanted to spend some time in the mountains. Hans arranged for us to be picked up from the airport by a very nice driver who gave us an introduction to Mendoza and the surrounding areas. It took about 20 minutes to get to Posada Cavieres from the airport.

The posada is located in a rural part of Maipu close by to various wineries. We were immediately befriended by Tommy, their infamously cute and fury dog!! Hans showed us around the Posada - which is a beautiful rustic adobe with three guest rooms and a living / kitchen area for guests to share. We stayed in Room #2 which had a king size bed and a giant luxurious bathroom (with towel warmers). The room was very cozy and spacious and we loved the decor. We loved the tranquility of the posada and the surrounding vineyards and olive trees. Hans quickly got us on our way to exploring the nearby wineries with a Ruta de Vino map and bicycles / helmets that we were able to rent for our entire stay. As Hans warned us, there were no bicycle paths so we had to ride on the side of the road. This felt a little unsafe at times but to address this, there were policeman on motorcyles that ride alongside the road with you to ensure that passing vehicles see that there are bicylists on the side of the road.

The cool thing is that Maipu has a special tourist police on motorcycles that ride alongside bicyclists to ensure their safety. As soon as we turned off the small road that leads away from the Posada, we were accompanied by the tourist police, which was like having our own private escort. That afternoon we visited 2 nearby wineries: Mevi and Vista de Alba, which we both enjoyed, though we thought that the wine at Mevi was much better. Back at the posada before sunset, we decided to have a low key evening there. Hans and Alicia offer their own homemade food – we ended up having delicious meat empanadas with a salad and of course some Cavieres wine! It was so cozy to sit by the fire place and enjoy the food and wine that was locally grown in the area and prepared our hosts.

We stayed two more nights at Cavieres and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We wished that we had at least one more day to be able to do more in the area. Hans was always on hand to guide us and to ensure that our objectives for our trip were met. He recommended a lovely place for dinner – Club Tapiz – which was a bigger winery with an art gallery and restaurant. They had a free fireside wine tasting led by one of their sommeliers – which was really intimate and great experience. The food at the restaurant was delicious and after the wine tasting we knew exactly which wine we wanted to order for dinner! We were amazed that we could drink a bottle of wine over dinner (not to mention all the wine we drank beforehand!) and not feel the negative effects (hung over, etc). It was explained to us that because wine is local, from the source, and the wines that we usually drink are imported to the US and have various chemicals such as sulfites to preserve them during travel time.

Another great thing that Hans helped us to arrange was a hike in the mountains and a visit a nearby natural thermal hot springs. On our first morning at the Posada, we were having the amazing homemade breakfast spread and chatting with Hans and Alberto, a guy that came to fix something for Hans. Alberto told us that he loves hiking and this is what he does on his day off on Sundays. With Hans’ help, we were able to arrange for Alberto to take us on day trip the following day. He picked us up from the posada, drove us into the beautiful mountains, guided us on a gorgeous hike. Then we went to the thermal baths (Termas Chacheuta). This was a great experience because this is where the local people go, not touristy at all! There were many families hanging out, drinking mate, eating empanadas, etc. The thermal baths were a great way to relax and unwind from our hike! Alberto was amazing – he prepared coffee, mate, sandwiches, and even a homemade cake! On the way back he even drove us into Mendoza so that we could see the city. We were very happy that we made the choice to stay in the countryside of Maipu rather than Mendoza – which felt like any mid-sized Argentinean city. Our day ended with an amazing asado back at the Posada! Hans wood smoked meat was delicious – as were all the accompanying food and of course the Posada Cavieres wine.

On our last day in Maipu our flight was leaving at 5:30pm. We did not want to miss out so we decided that we can hire a driver to take us to some of the wineries that are farther away and then to drive us to the airport. Again Hans was instrumental in arranging this and negotiating a fair price with the driver. We had a wonderful time – visiting 3 wineries and an olive oil farm, which was great. Many of the wineries offer food too, so we had lunch and a wine tasting at one of them. Again Hans was instrumental in helping us plan our itinerary and in making the reservation with the driver.

All in all, we had a wonderful time exploring Maipu and staying at Posada Cavieres was definitely the highlight of our trip. Hans made our time so enjoyable and always made sure that we were well taken care of and having a good time. We loved the intimate feeling of the Posada and the very personalized treatment we received. It was great that Hans helped us plan our itinerary around our interests and that he knows local people to recommend for various tours and outings. We are already thinking about when we can come back to Posada Cavieries. In the meantime we still have the wine, olive oil, and homemade jams that we bought from Hans to relive the wonderful time we had there! I highly recommend staying at Posada Cavieres to anyone that is looking for an authentic experience and local insight of someone who lives in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timeofyourlife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed at Posada Cavieres for four nights in October/November 2013. It has a lot to offer. The property itself is beautiful and quiet and located in a good spot in Maipu for getting around the wineries (short bicycle trips or longer for anyone keen) and also not difficult to get a bus into town (Maipu) or a little further (Mendoza CBD).

One may not experience the most out of their stay however if it weren't for the attentive Hans who runs the place with his wife Alina. When I arrived Hans told me to come find him whenever I was ready (I'd just taken an 18 hr bus ride from Salta so a shower/sleep was in order) so he could take me over the location and what's nearby on some maps I could use. I chose Maipu to be close to the wineries - I must admit I hesitated at first when I realised just how long it would take to get to Mendoza and how much that would cost in a taxi etc - but I appreciated being in Maipu in the end over Mendoza central once I'd been in there. Hans knows so many neighbouring restaurant/winery owners/activity providers that you won't have a shortage of things to do in Maipu - he is very helpful in making arrangements on your behalf if you wish (ie for horse riding). He can also speak Dutch, German, French, Spanish and English - possibly more - so I had no trouble communicating with him (my Spanish is very basic).

As for the room itself it was a lovely character room with tiled floors and high ceilings. A laundry service is offered if you wish which is great considering the centre of Maipu isn't really somewhere you would walk to laundry in tow. They have a nice dog called Tommy who is very friendly.

You share a common kitchen/verandah and large open living area with whomever is staying in the other two rooms. I much enjoyed this as I sat at breakfast a few mornings with some of the different guests and chatted with them. The place never felt busy or crowded - you could easily avoid other guests if you prefer not to socialise.

In terms of food, breakfast was included in my tariff and there are a couple of light dinner options Hans and Alina can prepare if you don't want to cook for yourself. If you do want to make your own things you can catch a bus (only problem is they're cashless and you must have the local transport card which you can buy in the centre of Maipu) into town and pick up some groceries.

The pool is lovely as well and the posada is a great spot to sit back and relax - if you had nothing to do on a particular day you wouldn't mind. In all a memorable and peaceful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babblingbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband I I stayed here for two nights in December 2013, and I can't express how much I wished it were for much longer. The proprietor is incredibly passionate about the quality of his property and the guest's experience. The rooms were lovely and with a/c. the pool was perfect after a long day of biking around and the food - specifically the asado he organized for us - was 1 of the best meals I had on my trip. I would come back here over and over again.

Regarding the location: when I planned our trip I wasn't sure how out of the way we would be, but for our purposes it was perfect. A taxi from Mendoza city is cheap, you can comfortably bike to many wineries and walk/ or taxi to wherever else you need.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms in the B&B. No one is better then the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The reviews below mine are all consistent with my experience -- absolutely wonderful stay. We felt so at peace and comfortable. Sad to leave. It was so nice to lay in a hammock just a hundred feet from their winery after a busy day.

Hans and company are stellar hosts. Breakfast was wonderful. The table is placed outside and is communal so you not only get to listen to the birds chirp but you also get to converse with the other guests (my favorite part!). Homemade bread and jams, eggs, yogurt, etc. Coffee is very plentiful, too :)

At some point in your stay, ask Hans to BBQ. Such a fun experience and quite delicious. All of the food they offer is tasty and very affordable.

Tommy, the sheep dog, is a lot of fun to have around. We never went in the pool, but many of the guests did. Seemed like a nice afternoon spot to chill and relax after a day of wine tastings.

I do feel the need to alert people: this isn't your normal chain hotel. We loved every aspect, but some may not (no TV, organic hand-maid soaps) and a more social, homey feel. Wifi is available and very good.

One day, we rented bikes from them (I can't remember the $ but it was super affordable) and visited about 6 family-owned, boutique wineries. That was a really wonderful day. They also will help arrange a driver (Oscar was a joy; we were with him 2 separate days), a taxi, or make dinner reservations for you.

It's more affordable to pay for any wine, bike rental, or food in USD. They offer the 1:10 ratio :)

A highlight of our time in Argentina, truly. Hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Cavieres is a beautiful property with fabulous interior design... it draws you into its tranquility so much so you never want to leave! We arrived early in the morning and our room was already made up for us : very clean, airy and comfortable (though one of the beds a bit squeaky), complete with air conditioning and fan, should you need it. Ensuite bathroom was HUGE -- clean, bright and with hot, plentiful showers.

Hans and Alina were wonderful hosts -- very helpful (especially when the airline lost our luggage :-( ) and informative about the surrounding area. The property is close to some small local shops and other good wineries (within walking distance), but you'd want to ideally rent a car to explore the area in more detail. We used the airport transfer service offered by Hans -- US$17 for the 40-minute ride to the Posada, for the three of us. Excellent value.

The breakfasts were incredible -- without a doubt, the best we had in Argentina. Fresh multi-grain bread (homemade?), cookies, yoghurt, cereal, cheese, ham, eggs, juice, tea and coffee. Gut-busting!! We also ate dinner there one night -- the most delicious homemade pie ever! Yum.

Our only concern was the exchange rate used for payment. All prices for accommodation are quoted in US$, but you can pay in pesos. We didn't have any dollars left, only pesos -- which we'd withdrawn from an ATM at the official exchange rate (1:5.6). The exchange rate the Posada uses, however, is the Dolar Blue rate of 1:10. So our US$150 room was charged at 1500 pesos for each night. Which, at the exchange rate we had withdrawn our money, ended up being US$267 each night -- almost twice the price of the actual room in dollars. Same would happen if you paid by credit card. Tip? Pay in dollars (cash)! You'll also get a nice discount if you do :-)

Overall? We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It was truly wonderful -- so peaceful and relaxing. I wanted to stay another week! And so very easily could have :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ModernWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavieres, Propietario at Posada Cavieres Wine Farm, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for all the lovely comments. You were great guests and it was fun having you staying with us.
Just one remark so our future guests understand about payment facilities. We did give a 30% discount on the part that you payed in cash dolars (so that was about 90 USD less for the first 2 nights). The part that you payed in pesos cash we also gave 10% discount (calculated by the official dolar at 6,1) and the part payed with the card we charged at the official dolar 6,1 without surcharge (most places charge extra if you use the card).
So for the first two nights triple room we charged total 210 USD in stead of 300 USD.
and for the double room we charged 139 x 6,1 (=official USD) = 834 pesos.
There were extra expenses (BBQ and drinks). For the amount payed in cash we gave 10% reduction and the part payed with the card was the normal price (at the official dolar). So no worries, you didn't end up paying any hidden extras, on the contrary. The taxi was reserved long in advance. I quoted that in USD (at the unofficial dolar) on behalve of the taxi-driver (17 USD x 10 is 170 pesos).
So to resume: no surcharge on paying with the card, 10% discount for cash pesos and 30% discount for cash USD or Euros.
best regards and thanks for giving me the opportunity to explain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.8 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
12.4 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.4 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
10.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Cavieres Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Cavieres Wine Farm

Property: Posada Cavieres Wine Farm
Address: Espejo Este 3705, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Cavieres Wine Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Cavieres is located in the middle of the wine route in Maipu, Mendoza's first wine zone, with 9 wineries in walking distance. The lodge has 14 hectares, where you'll find vineyards and olive trees. The lodge has 3 spacious rooms, each with private bathroom. It's equipped with a kitchen and dining room. Swimming pool and Wifi. The host Hans provides a copious breakfast with regional products. The posada has its own line of wines, "Cavieres." From the posada you can cycle along the wine road and go wine tasting in the surrounding wineries, visit olive oil factories, chocolate- , liquor- and cheese factories, go horseback riding or do a trip into the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Posada Cavieres Wine Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Hotel Maipu
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing