We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and beautiful, relaxing setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Maipu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and beautiful, relaxing setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Posada Cavieres is a beautiful property situated in a vineyard. Hans is the perfect host and the communal atmosphere, be it over breakfast or dinner, really adds to the experience. Our room was very large and well appointed, and I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anybody who wants to stay in Maipu area of Mendoza. There are several vineyards nearnby such as Carinae and Trapiche which are great to visit, however, our favourite was Familia Zuccardi which is a car drive away, but worth it for the sensational, reasonably priced set lunch.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavieres, Owner at Posada Cavieres Wine Farm, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
heheh, finally found the button to reply on the review.
We have now 7 vineyards within 5 km distance to visit since Trivento has (finally) openend its doors for tourism. So that's great news for people who don't wanna drive. The wineries within walking-cycling distance are: Mevi, Viña del Cerno, Tempus Alba, Di Tomasso, Vistandes, Trivento and Carinae. Maybe in the future also "Marques de Salavaria", but it's still under construction.
other news: We just finished the harvest of the olive grove and will have olive oil by the end of the week (2011 june 13). The harvest of the vineyard brought us about 8000 kg of grapes. So let's say some 9000 bottles of Malbec. We have plans to build a bit extra rooms, a nice salon and dining room and more important: a sauna, jacuzzi and massage room. So in winter you can overlook the vines from the jakuzzi or change a cold shower with a hot sauna. And also the swimming pool is under construccion. But ... with time. As we also attend the farm ourselves we can't do it all at once. Now we will give some explanations about pruning to the newly arrived guests. See you, and again, thanks for keeping our tripadvisor reviews alive. As we only have 3 rooms, we get less reviews than the big ones, we appreciate it twice as much!!!! Thanks for the lovely review by the way. Gives us the courage to carry on with our project.
Hans and Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
122
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

This place was simply gorgeous. Hans and Alina run a three-room posada that's as quiet as a country farm. They make their own wine and have a full kitchen available for use, or for their staff to make breakfast and dinner for you. Bikes are available as well for an easy day's ride to local wineries on par with the best in the world. Or, simply relax in a hammock under the sun. So very, very relaxing, quite intimate, with extraordinary service. I really hope to see this place do well for years to come.

Room Tip: Only 3 guest rooms available, so book ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Due to a booking mishap, we were not able to stay at this quaint and hospitable posada but we did tour it and I know we would have loved it. The owner Hans and Alina did everything possible to minimize the stressful situation we were in as this snafu happened on Vindemia week-end. Alina found us an alternative accommodation, Hans suggested we spend the afternoon sightseeing with one of his rental bicycles. He even took them to the other hotel and left them there the entire stay. We were so impressed with their hospitable and great customer service dispositions. We highly recommend this little gem of a posada. But you do need a car otherwise you will feel constricted and isolated. Maipu offers a lot of well known and important wineries but for most part they are closed on week-end. Remember that when you book your trip to Mendoza region.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annab30144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmonje, Owner at Posada Cavieres Wine Farm, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
thanks for the lovely comments. We also missed the opportunity to get to know you better. Although we won't forget you. Still remember the picture of the proud man standing in front of his vintage car? "Misbooks" like this are inevatable and happenend to us twice in 4 years. The good thing was that we got to know your travel agency from which we've heard only good comments since. CATDMC with contacts in various countries seems to be able to organise very tailor made trips with lodgings in places hard to find by oneself. We appreciate every comment to update our commodation on the wine farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Posada Cavieres. The room was large and comfortable; we slept well with the double doors open and a light breeze blowing in. After a full day of wine tasting in the Maipu and Lujan areas, it was nice to come back to the posada and sit outside with a glass of Hans' wine (yes, more wine). Hans was a great host; we also met Alina, but she was mostly busy with the new baby. We also fell in love with Tommy, the dog. The best part of our stay, however, was when the other couple who was staying there invited us to join them in a typical Argentina asado. It was a great evening of food and friendship.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

This posada feels secluded and very rural but is conveniently located to visit the wineries and attractions of Maipu and surrounding areas. The attentive and helpful owners made us feel part of the family.
We loved coming back in the evening, relaxing on the veranda with a glass of wine and watching the sunset behind the vines.
This is a low key, friendly place with Argentinian country atmosphere, a true hidden gem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Hans is a diligent but laid back host who provided some great suggestions and even sorted out an extra night nearby when he was fully booked.
The posada is 3 rooms opening onto a roomy and cool shared space and kitchen. Outside is an parilla to use. Its all recently done with simple but good furniture, great linens and beautifully finished bathroom.
Outside there is plenty of space to lounge in the sun or cool off under the veranda when not out touring.
For wine tours they have decent bikes and an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area (and most vineyards asked after Hans) and it's a central location for exploring.
They do take cards but for touring you'll need cash - get it while you can as we found maipu banks to be unreliable.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavieres, Owner at Posada Cavieres Wine Farm, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Thank you for the nice comments. Maipú is a relatively new touristic destination with a lot to offer. Most places to visit (wineries, restaurants, cheese farms, olive oil presses, choclate and liquor factories) are still small and family run. Often we got the comment that this is like the Nappa Valley but 30 years ago. As the region was until recently exclusively farming area the infrastructure is now updated with bicycle paths, police post, tourist information centres, lights in the streets etc. there are permanently changes noticable. So many places to visit are still not quoted in tripadvisor: Domaine Saint Diego (a 3,5 hectare winery), Tapaus (liquor distillery with a fantastic architectural style building, Palo Alto (a beautiful restored winery), winery San Telmo (looks like a cathedral of wine), Ranch La Guatana for horseriding and many more places in Maipú that have not received any attention or hardly any in tripadvisor can be visited. So, we're seeing every day various new small projects emerging, which is very nice and has a positive influence on our wine-region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

Posada Cavieres is a small working, family run wine farm. The owners Hans and Alina have beautifully created this Posada with only 3 bedrooms. It's comfortable, clean and spacious. There is a common sitting area in the Posada and also in the gallery where you have breakfast every morning. As we came from Mendoza, this Posada was quite difficult for the taxi drivers to locate. Another alternative is to travel to Maipu centrum first and get a taxi from there, as the drivers know where Posada Cavieres is.

Both Hans and Alina speak very good English and they will provide you with all the necessary information and tips about the area. Breakfast includes coffee, tea, freshly pressed orange juice, toast, lots of different homemade jams, cheese, ham and fruit. There are a few supermarkets nearby where you can go by bicycles to get your drinks or some food. The Posada has a kitchen and fridge where you can use when you wish to dine in. The fridge is also stocked up with drinks and you just have to fill in the sheet if you have taken any.

The area has a lot of trees, fruit trees and of course the wine farm. Different types of birds can also be spotted here. There are hammocks and sunbeds in shaded areas where you can just chill out and watch the day go by. If you like some activities, borrow the bikes from Hans (at a small price) and go explore the vineyards. Do not forget your sun screens and drink lots of water.

Should you need any help or information, just drop by Hans's house and ring the bell. This family is always ready to assist you. We must say that it was really difficult to part with the family and the Posada. We came as guests and felt like friends when we left. The hospitality is something which we will never forget during this trip to Maipu.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupitermond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.8 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
12.4 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.4 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 6 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
10.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Cavieres Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Cavieres Wine Farm

Property: Posada Cavieres Wine Farm
Address: Espejo Este 3705 | Russell, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Cavieres Wine Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Cavieres is located in the middle of the wine route in Maipu, Mendoza's first wine zone, with 7 wineries in walking distance. The lodge has 14 hectares, where you'll find vineyards, olive trees and vegetables. The lodge is a renovated old mud brick house, with 3 spacious rooms, each with private bathroom. It's equipped with a kitchen and dining room. Swimming pool and Wifi. The host Hans provides a copious breakfast with regional products. The posada has its own line of wines, "Cavieres." From the posada you can cycle along the wine road and go wine tasting in the surrounding wineries, visit olive oil factories, chocolate- , liquor- and cheese factories, go horseback riding or do a trip into the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada Cavieres Wine Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Hotel Maipu
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing