We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! FANTASTIC!!! Better then any meal we had in SMA!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada de las Minas
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“WOW! FANTASTIC!!! Better then any meal we had in SMA!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had such a FANTASTIC dinner here!!!!. Id recommend coming to this town just to eat here. Way better then any resteraunt in SMA. On par with Nirvana in Atotonlico. My husband had cream of pecan soup "Sopa Crema De Nuez" that was so unbelievably good. I had salmon w orange that was fantastic. They gave us free chips and salsa. We sat by the warm fire. Very nice atmosphere.
We talked to the manager about the rooms and we really wish had stayed here. Staying here you have use of their spa with a heated lap pool and jacuzzi, use of mountain bikes, and breakfast all included for free with the room. The place looked very upscale and expensive looking but was reasonable at around 1500 p but they also have cheaper options. Really fantastic place!!! Only real downside is seeing a beautiful big white bird in an extremely small cage that seemed to be hauntingly crowing "get me out of here", which was extremely depressing..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julievida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xico, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel and restaurant in this pleasant little town. Fun for a few days or halfway stop for driving from Laredo and the border. We stop here headed north or south on our way to our Veracruz home or our Missouri home. Very nice rooms with fireplaces and VERY PET FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Santa Brigida with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlutistCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadadelasMinas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada de las Minas, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Google Translation
Hotel Posada de las Minas agradece su preferencia y su comentario, apreciamos el hecho de considerar útil el hecho aceptar mascotas en el hotel. Esperamos contar con su presencia nuevamente.
Un placer atenderles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Honestly, the first time we had lunch at the Posada de las Minas was largely by default: it was open, it was time to comida, and we were hungry. It turned out to be an outstanding choice.

The second time was a planned visit, but not until after we’d bought dolls made by the local women, wandered the town, and chatted up half the population. Once again, we were pleased with our choice, opting for tampiquena which was accompanied by a mole-topped enchilada. We’d had the mole the time before, and it’s the kind that makes you want to forget your manners and lick the plate. Now there are moles, and there are moles, and living in Mexico tends to make many of us frankly a tad jaded when it comes to mole. The Posada de las Minas’ iteration of mole stands out and will have you jonesing for moles three times a day.

The resident manager, Jaime, is bilingual, genial, entertaining, and more than just the guy in charge. He makes his guests feel like they’ve known him for ages, trusting his opinions, and bantering like old friends.
I’d drive all the way from Morelia just to eat at Posada de las Minas. In fact, I think I’ll do just that in a few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedShoes_and_Bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachuca, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

An amazing little hotel in a wonderful little town. Rooms are spotless, beautiful, and comfortable. Be sure to have a salmon burger or a club sandwich, both are great!

Right in the middle of nowhere but close to several historical towns, the stay at Posada las Minas is worth the drive to Pozos, although Pozos itself is truly an unforgettable experience. Once a blooming mining town, today is full of ruines among which several crafts shops and art businesses can be found.

My third time at Pozos, for sure will be back soon.

My only complaint: pool is off-limits for kids, which is a BIG deal when family travelling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JYbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good hotel and instalations, it was my first time in Mineral del Pozo and it was really amazing a very good place to rest. Service value very excellent. there are a lot of places to practice eco turism, walk and it is very paceful place. You can rest and forget all the pressure of the weekly issues.

Room Tip: all the rooms seems to ve very good i stayed in buena vista room and the see sighting was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadadelasMinas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada de las Minas, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Google Translation
Nos encontramos felices al saber que su visita en su Hotel Posada de las Minas le haya sido placentera, en efecto el eco-turismo es una actividad perfecta para realizar en Mineral de Pozos y estamos trabajando en ofrecer paquetes que incluyan este tipo de actividades, ahora contamos con el Paquete Aventura que incluye (una noche de hospedaje, desayuno completo, tour guiado en bicicleta, dos masajes, acceso al Club-Spa las Minas, con un costo de $3,000.00 pesos por pareja). Estamos muy agradecidos por su comentario.
Esperamos volver a contar nuevamente con su presencia, como siempre será un placer atenderle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This posada is a gem in every way, but one. The rooms, restaurant, cactus garden and other common areas are probably the most charming we have seen in our Mexico travels. The artwork and ceramics dotting every corner of the property are magnificent!

Our only complaint are all the caged birds. It was atrocious to see large tropical birds and doves in cages built for canaries, in which they could hardly turn around. For anyone sensitive to animal rights, this would not be the place to stay. We mentioned this to the manager who said others had complained as well. Hopefully this note will help move the owners to take away the birds - artificial birds would look just as nice.

Steve

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milesdiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our annual visit to the Posada with old friends. Wonderful as usual, great ambience, lovely accommodation, friendly helpful staff. Food and restaurant service first class; especially love the coffee brought to our room in the morning We will be back!

Room Tip: Love Santa Brigida and the patio overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral de Pozos
24.2 mi away
Atotonilco el Viejo Hotel Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
La Casona Hotel
La Casona Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mineral de Pozos
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Secreto de Pozos
El Secreto de Pozos
#5 of 6 in Mineral de Pozos
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Su Casa
Su Casa
#4 of 6 in Mineral de Pozos
31 reviews
24.6 mi away
La Santisima Trinidad
La Santisima Trinidad
#3 of 7 in Dolores Hidalgo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de las Minas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de las Minas

Property: Posada de las Minas
Address: Manuel Doblado 1 | Pozos, Mineral de Pozos, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Mineral de Pozos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral de Pozos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada de las Minas 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada de las Minas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Minas Mexico/Mineral De Pozos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing