We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Hostal Lola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Lola
Ranked #1 of 5 Isaba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We did not actually stay at Hostel Lola, but we did have a super lunch there. We had intended to eat at Tapia in Isaba, but it was closed and we have no regrets. The restaurant was cozy and delightfully decorated, and the daily menu from which we ordered provided a good selection of local dishes at very reasonable prices. We started with a shrimp and baby eel salad, which is WAY better than it sounds, followed by fish and a lamb stew. All delicious. The service was utterly delightful, with our waitress leading us through the meal choices and providing guidance on the wine. Simply super. From what we could see, the rest of the hotel was also first rate, and if our meal was any indication, this would be a great place from which to explore the Pyrennees.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QCern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    52
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
83
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed in Hostal Lola during a 2 week journey through the Basque region and vicinity. There were two couples traveling. Prior to coming to Isaba, we'd stopped in Pamplona to see where the running-of-the-bulls happened. While there, we stopped in a second hand CD shop to buy some music for the remainder of the trip, one of them being the Kinks. We'd not booked a place to stay in Isaba, and as we came into town "Lola" started playing - and at that moment we saw Hostal Lola. Fate. We ate breakfast and dinner each night at the restaurant. The food was good and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. I highly recommend visiting Isaba and staying at Hostal Lola.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerac, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We did not stay at the Hostal Lola, but had Sunday lunch there on the recommendation of a number of locals. "It is the best dining room in the village." Well, it might be the best dining room but the food was terrible - only the ambience raised the above rating to poor. I keep a record of places we eat and visit and the note on Hostal Lola reads -
"Disappointing/Poor - very good dining room, but €15 menu not up to the setting, though wine was OK. Not worth recording details." I do remember that the starters were acceptable, Mrs. N's meat cold and my Trucha a la Navarre unspeakable and swimming in fat [thankfully the fish was dead] - Mrs Noah passed on the pudding, mine did what it said on the menu and no more. With this chef the Hostal Lola is to be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We only stayed one night but liked the town of Isaba and this hotel a lot. We asked for a room with a balcony when we arrived and this was no problem. The view was lovely- the balcony was an absolute sun trap so it was too hot to sit out but the weather was exceptionally warm. On milder days it would have been gorgeous. This place has no pretensions- it's a little old fashioned but excellent value and very friendly. The dinner we had was great. It was a set price menu which included wine and there was lots of choice. We had a menestra to start which is a sort of vegetable stew and delicious. I believe the veg was home grown as there are vegetable plots both in front of and behind the hotel. My trout stuffed with crisped ham was delicious and for dessert I had a huge bowl of perfect cherries. Breakfast and packed lunch were both fine.. A major plus at breakfast was proper coffee from the espresso machine, not that horrible stuff you sometimes get in big hotels, and there was a plate of fresh fruit and some natural yoghurt as well as the standard bread and jam. I would definitely go back and recommend this place..

Room Tip: The rooms at the front with balconies are worth asking for unless it is very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

A charming small and friendly hotel in the middle of Isaba village. Our room was clean, nicely furnished and had a little balcony with a beautiful view of the village. There is a car park about 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was simple and sufficient and evening meals were nice and very good value. After your evening meal, you can have your coffee or night cap in a lovely sitting room with a variety of interesting books and magazines to look through. Overall, a very relaxing place to stay in order to explore the western Pyrenees.

  • Liked — Comfortable room with lovely balcony
  • Disliked — variety of food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wynne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isaba
7.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Besaro
Hotel Rural Besaro
#1 of 2 in Ochagavia
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel HG Apartamentos Isaba
11.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Etchemaite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hostal Aunamendi
Hostal Aunamendi
#2 of 2 in Ochagavia
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Ezkaurre
Hostal Ezkaurre
#2 of 5 in Isaba
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Apartamentos Onki Xin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lola

Property: Hostal Lola
Address: Lugar barrio Mendigatxa 17, 31417 Isaba, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Isaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Isaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Lola 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hostal Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing