We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Beds was hard like a table - nice enough for Malanje, though!”

Hotel Palacio Regina
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malanje
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Palacio Regina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malanje
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We participated on a two day tour to Malanje, hosted by EcoTur. The Hotel Palacio Regina is supposed to be Malanje's finest; there aren't many choices. A double room cost $250 per night, including breakfast.

Look, from the outside, the building looks lovely, painted in a soft yellow color. The lobby is modern, air-conditioned, and the front desk staff seemed friendly enough. The inside is also well-maintained, and has a pleasant appearance.

The furnishings are probably brought in from China, as are the bathroom fixtures, as they are not like the ones used in the West.

In any case, my biggest complaint was the bed... it was so hard, that there would be no difference sleeping on the floor.

The bathroom was small, but functional, and clean! The shower fixture took some figuring out, and I had to call my husband to come help me turn on the water. He was left with the shower's handle in his hands.. we managed to put it back on and turn on/off the water, but it fell off again. We reported it to Management, and when we returned from touring, it had been repaired.

The bedroom has a small TV overhead, and there is a good selection of 2 local channels and 1 from another city.

The bedroom had an air-conditioner, which was noisy, but it provided a lovely white noise to drown the extremely loud music that was coming from the outside. Our bedroom faced the street, and the UNITAS building.

We had two breakfasts; the food was pretty basic but edible.
f
We also had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, and the food was surprisingly good, and just as expensive as Luanda!

In summary, you stay at this hotel because you are part of a tour, and there are no other choices. At least I can say the hotel is clean, the staff is somewhat friendly. There is a pool in the back patio, but it was not functional when we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank reginafug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2008

I stayed here for two nights over Easter as part of a three trip from Luanda to Kalandula Falls and Pedras Negras.

It was very busy as many expats had the same idea. This created some confusion at the front desk, although our tour agent was able to sort this out.

This is a business hotel and along with the Planca Negra Hotel is the best Malange has to offer. The hotel is a renovated hotel in a city which saw a lot of fighting during the civil war (the hotel is opposite the UNITA HQ) and is still being rebuilt. The hotel is unprepossessing on the outside and the lobby area feels cramped because it is filled with over stuffed leather couches and the grey/black hand hewn rock effect and lonely water pool (with no water) doesn't quite work. Same story with the stairs and hallways leading to the rooms which are uneven and carpeted only in the center with a weird Chinese designed runner.

But once you get into the rooms it is very nice. Beige marble floors with matching bedspread and curtains. My single was small but comfy. The aircon was new and worked well. It was very clean. The bathroom was small and the shower stall didn't hold back the water but the tap was strong and the water hot.--a rarity in Angola. There is a small TV with one English channel, but no cupboards--just a metal rack on wheels with a few hangars on it. It's quiet too.

There's a bar, pool area (but covered with no greenery and so I never saw anybody use it) and the buffet breakfast and dinners are good and serve a mixture of Angolan and European food.

The one problem is the service. They were completely unprepared to deal with all the guests they had at meals times, leading to them running out of things like eggs for breakfast and long delays in the evening to get your food. In order to keep track of drinks, you also have to pay after your meal rather than at the end of your stay. Still, they tried hard and it really wasn't too much of an inconvenience--especially by Angolan standards.
The Palancar Negra hotel is a better place for a drink with a good view over the country side and a nice grassy pool area. The rooms are bigger than the Palacio Regina but more motel like and the hot water and back up generator is not always as efficient as the Regina.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
12  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacinto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ilercio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015
1  Thank Luis Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palacio Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Regina

Address: Rua Henrique de Carvalho | Malange, Malanje, Angola
Location: Angola > Malanje Province > Malanje
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malanje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing