We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine Les Granges
St. Lucia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful holiday village”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in September 2012 and had the most amazing holiday. It was so relaxing for us and full of activities for the kids. We want to go back for sure.
The gites are adorable, very quaint and fully equipped with everything you could need, from dishwashers, washing machines, hairdryers to bbq's
The owners are very accommodating along with all the staff, who live on the premises, and always there to offer tips on touring the area and taking advantage of all the fascinating and historic spots around the beautiful Charente Maritime. There is so much to visit, including Cognac vineyards, Forts in La Rochelle, maritime history in Rochefort, donkey sanctuary etc.. with the authentic historic town of St. Jean D'Angely 10mins walk away, providing a very local french feel at the twice weekly market.
It really was a superb holiday and the kids really didnt' want to leave after making new friends.
We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: The modern gites are beautiful decorated in the old stable block, but I particularly liked the orgin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at Les Granges in Summer 2012. New owners were v. welcoming and charming. Domaine was clean, tidy, and excellent quality. 2 pools, squash courts, bar. We had visited 4 years previously, and really loved what the new owners had done. Patio outside our gite was private and pretty with plant pots and good quality table, chairs, parasol & umbrellas. Couldn't fault it at all. Within walking distance of the lovely town of St Jean D'angely with its lovely restaurants and market. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Spent a great week at Les Granges this summer. The location is ideal: walking distance to lake, to the pretty town of St Jean d'Angely with its restaurants and shops. T he accommodation is comfortable, spacious, very clean and well decorated. The house was very well equipped and very well maintained. Lots of things to on site for children and adults (squash courts, tennis, 2 swimming pools, gym, golf, wine tasting…. ). The owners are charming, helpful and most welcoming. My two daughters loved it and are ready to go back there next summer (bearing in mind that one is 20 and the other 15, it does say a lot for this complex). All in all it is a very nice place to spend a week or two or even a month. The weather was hot and dry so we could spend the day around the pool or exploring this wonderful area . Lots of good restaurants nearby . Great place , highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A beautiful setting in rural France, surrounded by fields, lakes and rivers, and a historic market village.
The estate is equipped with everything a family would need for a delightful holiday, but also comes equipped with excellent facilities for squash players. The bar is a great place to meet other guests, and the welcome drinks were really good for getting to know the other guests staying the week.

Richard and Eva, the proprietors, are very welcoming, and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

Highly recommended (esp for keen walkers, cyclists, fisherman and squash players!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-d'Angely hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
L' Etoile du Port
L' Etoile du Port
#1 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbaye Royale
Abbaye Royale
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Domaine de Rennebourg
Domaine de Rennebourg
#2 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Four A Pain
Le Four A Pain
#6 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Maison d'Hotes Le Cadran Solaire
#3 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Les Granges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Les Granges

Property: Domaine Les Granges
Address: 55 Chemin des Portes, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine Les Granges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Les Granges France/Poitou-Charentes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing