We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Le Four A Pain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Four A Pain
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Mu husband and I stayed au Four a Pain for 3 nights (in July 2012) and we loved the place! Very spacious and clean bedroom, gorgeous garden with a pool, beautiful breakfast, quiet location only 10 ms from St Jean.. We would go back if we have a chance. Thank you for a wonderful stay to the owners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaM-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

500miles, three course dinner, bottles of wine and another idyllic night spent at Le Four a Pain. Richard and Karen are perfect hosts and the place is a little gem. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toys88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had a lovely stay on our way down to the south of Spain. Excellent rooms. Super cleanliness. Richard and Karen where most welcoming. We had evening meal and breakfast which were both served in very pleasant newly decorate surroundings in the main house. Food excellent value and plentiful. Will be rebooking for our return journey. Exceptional value for money, great friendly hosts and a wonderful place to stay. 5 stars....

Room Tip: I'm told that they are investing in a fitness room. Not for me, but a great addition for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Wonderfull setting, very kind couple (with supercute little dog!), lovely swimmingpool, big room.... nothing to complain about! Karen and Richard do their best to make your holiday a succes and are very kind and helpfull. Room very clean and well decorated. Only thing to be approved is isolation between the rooms, and a wire gauze (? hope I use right word, searched in dictionary) for the windows would be nice too. End rate : 9/10

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babaroil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We are staying here for one night on our way south. The welcome amazing, the room beautiful, can't wait for dinner and breakfast tomorrow. A little gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toys88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a lovely time at this delightful B&B. Karen & Grant are fabulous hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was decorated well and very comfortable. It was lovely to spend time in such a relaxing setting. We very much enjoyed our stay and will be booking our next trip very soon. Would strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFandJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

It's Saturday morning and we're sitting in the walled garden at Le Four a Pain just soaking up some late summer sun before we head north along another endlessly straight but quiet 'D' road back to 'Blighty'.

Karen and Grant have created a wonderful environment here; the renovations have been well executed and the decoration well thought out. We stayed in one of the converted out buildings (formerly the bread making facility for the village). The room was large, clean and quiet. Breakfast was perfect and served with a smile.

The property is just outside St-Jean-d'Agely and about 5 mins from the A10. There's loads to see and do locally.

K and G are excellent hosts.

Good WIFI.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saint_Christ0pher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-d'Angely hotels
4.3 mi away
Domaine de Rennebourg
Domaine de Rennebourg
#2 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Etoile du Port
L'Etoile du Port
#1 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbaye Royale
Abbaye Royale
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Domaine Les Granges
Domaine Les Granges
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Maison d'Hotes Le Cadran Solaire
#3 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Four A Pain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Four A Pain

Address: 1 rue du Bourg, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Price Range: $81 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Four A Pain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Four A Pain France/Poitou-Charentes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing