We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Holiday 2018”
Large heated swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large heated swimming pool
Shallow beach style entrance to the pool, perfect for young children communal area with barbecue and wood burning pizza oven
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Large heated swimming pool
Shallow beach style entrance to the pool, perfect for young children
communal area with barbecue and wood burning pizza oven
Fun for all the family
The cottages are surrounded by beautiful countryside
Crystal clear and maintained daily. Depths from 10cm to 2m
spacious comfortable accommodation well equipped for a self catering family holiday in France
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rmorgan20...
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Holiday 2018”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Many thanks to Chris and Wendy for a lovely two week stay with our 2.5 yr oldOur gite was well appointed and had everything we could have needed for us and our son, from the equipment in the gite to the outside playing areas and pool. There are activities for the kids which you can do but there is no pressure to join as there are plenty of places to go out to on day trips. Chris and Wendy are very welcoming and very knowledgeable and we would highly recommend a stay here, so much so we are already planning our next trip, so sad to be going home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our Pavillon villa at the Les Vallaies property, we really appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to seeing you again in September !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingridmcg...
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing and booked for 2018!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well what can I say - this has been a fantastic holiday for us all at Les Vallaies. The cottage is equipped with
everything you could possibly need when you have children. The garden area is great, our children would often head
straight out to play in the morning, it's full of toys, swings, a slide and is a big area for them to play and explore. The
swimming pool is great too. We spent many days relaxing and playing there. The cottages are so peaceful and you
feel like you are situated in a very special part of Charente Maritime. You're very near to amenities and local
towns. There's a lot to do in the area and any bigger trips are only half an hour to an hour away so it's very easy to
break up your stay with trips. We visited Cognac, did the Hennessey tour, did the boat trips at St Savinien and would
recommend them both. The local markets are also worth a visit and the kids loved the local goose going for its
morning walk ! The activities and information pack provided by Wendy and Chris are fantastic. There's no pressure so
you can get involved in what you and your family are truly interested in. They're a lovely couple with two lovely boys
and together they all make you feel very welcome, comfortable and looked after. Safety at the property is spot on too. Our kids were free to roam about freely. Would highly recommend these gites and we'll definitely be back. It's a little piece of French heaven - Enjoy !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our family holiday cottages at Les Vallaies. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorers...
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

As a family of 4, we stayed at the spacious villa with good facilities within Les Vallaies which meant we had our own chill out area and grounds behind the cottage as well as being able to join in the communal area and swimming pool of the other cottages. Wendy and Chris were great hosts - we had an incredible time joining other guests at La Grange du Moulin for the seafood bbq (which inspired our 6 year old to try and subsequently enjoy mussels, our 9 year old to develop a taste for oysters as well as for us to enjoy sparkling Cognac) and vineyard walk (where we were educated by Chris on his knowledge of the region and wines whilst the children happily wandered in and out of the vineyards alongside). We also enjoyed day trips such as to La Rochelle and Pineau & Cognac tasting within the Cognac region courtesy of Jean Balluet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to welcome you here. The biscuits you bought for us were delicious and didn't last long ! Enjoy the sparkling Cognac (ice cold ! ) with friends of course - it's the only way ! Thank you again.
Wendy, Chris, Benjamin and Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pigeon42
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful child-friendly accommodation”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderfully peaceful week here. We had the best of both worlds; being the only occupants at Les Vallaies meant we had the run of the garden and pool and we were also invited to join other guests at La Grange du Moulin for the activities such as the teddy bear picnic and vineyard walk. The cottage was so well equipped with everything you could possibly need (down to a cuddly toy for a little girl !) Wendy and Chris made us feel very welcome and were more than happy to share their knowledge and advice on the local area. The vineyard walk was a real highlight for all of us - our daughter loved the freedom to explore the countryside and we enjoyed learning a little more about this beautiful area of France (and being introduced to the local Pineau !) We loved the tranquility of this place, with proximity to beautiful towns and villages to explore. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Child-friendly, including activities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are so pleased you had such a lovely time and Chris will be particularly pleased that the vineyard walk was a highlight ! Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantleyg...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Child friendly, great location and probably my most relaxing holiday ever!”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Les Vallaies for the 3rd year in a row & yet again we had a wonderful holiday!

Our children (aged 8 & 11) love the swimming pool, garden and games room, the highlight was the chance to meet & play with other children staying in the pretty gites on site! They explored the local quiet lanes picking blackberries that were consumed straight after the evening BBQ!

While the children enjoyed themselves with new friends, we took the opportunity to relax in the glorious surroundings & soak up the sun. In the evening we met other parents over a glass of wine in the garden & some nights we cooked pizzas in the pizza oven accompanied by some fizz kindly supplied by Chris and Wendy!

The gites have everything you need for a great holiday. The kitchen has all the equipment you need and a big fridge freezer is a real help for all that BBQ food, ice cream and chilled wine. Bedrooms are large and we had wonderful views over the pool & into the quiet hamlet. We never used the lounge area, DVDs etc as we spent all our time outside and we always ate in our private courtyard.

The local area is wonderful, highlights include having a coffee in the local market in Aulnay and a picnic by the boating lake at Saint-Savinien. We all loved Châtelaillon-Plage & of course La Rochelle, both under an hour away.

Thanks to Chris and Wendy for a wonderful holiday, they run a wonderful gite complex & I would thoroughly recommend any family to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, nestled in the countryside surrounded by sunflowers and vineyards, yet only an hour to the coast.
Liked least: It gets booked up quickly for the summer holiday months
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind and informative review. We are so pleased you had such a lovely time. Thank you for taking the time to review Les Vallaies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, family friendly, relaxed cottage!”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've had a lovely time. Not only has the weather been glorious but the gite was exactly what we needed. Well equipped kitchen, separate bedrooms for the children, no need to bring anything except a favourite teddy ! The pool has kept them entertained for hours and we've made good use of the wood fired pizza oven with the other families at Les Vallaies. All in all, just the break we needed !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything we could possibly need for children was available to borrow
Liked least: Nothing.....
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property we really appreciate it. It was a pleasure having your family staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing