We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in St Jean d'Angely”
Review of L'Etoile du Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Etoile du Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2008

This was our second stay at L' Etoile du Port, we stayed here last year on our way to the Dordogne and enjoyed it so much we booked for this year again. The hotel was recently taken over by new owners and we were worried that it would not be the same as our last stay but can I say that the new owners have only made it better!
Thanks to Susie for being so friendly, it was like visiting an old friend and nothing was too much trouble, my son has allergies but Susie made sure that everything was okay for him, even checking with the baker that the bread was okay for him to eat. The breakfast was excellent, would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel!, everything you could wish for, including fruit, meats and cheese - even the kids were catered for with thier own box of coco pops!
The hotel is immaculate and decorated in a style to compliment the beautiful building. We booked for two adults and two teenage children, the children had a large room with very comfortable double and single beds and ensuite shower room, all very clean with beautiful linen and decorations. We had the double room just along the hall, again decorated very nicely with sumptuous bedding and a very chic bathroom. Both rooms overlook the river and the street outside is very quiet, we had a great nights sleep.
As there were no other guests we had the run of the hotel, the rooms were on the first floor but we spent most of our time in the large lounge, it was very relaxing and very nicely decorated.
If you are looking for a chic and relaxing place to stay with good food and hospitality at a fabulous price, we paid 90 euros for the four of us, look no further than L' Etoile du Port it's a hotel you will remember - for all the right reasons, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purplelinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

Took a bit of finding, but what a delight ! This was such a pleasant surprise Susie was an excellent host. The rooms were nice and roomy with lovley views over the water. The breakfast was superb and the price was the best value we found during our 10 day stay. We were so pleased with the first night we booked a second the following week.. Even our 17yr old son was 'chuffed' with his own room & bathroom...now thats a recommendation !

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSC_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

It was being served the chilled sherry by the lovely and unobtrusive host in the beautifully decorated huge lounge of a former cognac warehouse that we realised what a gem of a place we'd found. The sun glinted off the water outside on what looks like a wide river (but I'm told is a canal) where ducks waddle and locals stroll or take coffee in a nearby cafe.

This chambre d'hote was a REAL surprise. A perfect balance of style and hospitality. There's even a restaurant next door. After staying at dozens of Chambre d'hotes in northern France which are perfectly adequate/functional clean this was a breathtaking STAR.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LeePenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carabebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charlène l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank SANTAMBROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-d'Angely hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
31 reviews
4.1 mi away
Domaine de Rennebourg
Domaine de Rennebourg
#2 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Four A Pain
Le Four A Pain
#6 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbaye Royale
Abbaye Royale
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domaine Les Granges
Domaine Les Granges
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Etoile du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Etoile du Port

Address: 14 quai de Bernouet, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Price Range: $79 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1633 as a Cognac store this characterful property lies within easy walking distance of Saint Jean D'Angely. It faces the beautiful Boutonne River and is a perfect overnight stop when travelling through France (only 4 mins from the A10). It is also popular with those wanting to spend more time in the area, with easy access to the West coast (La Rochelle, Ile de Re, Royan), and other treats inland, including nearby Cognac and Saintes. Guests have plenty of space and share a large living room and small kitchen (fridge/freezer, microwave, hob) in addition to their well equipped and comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your L'Etoile du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Etoile Du Port France/Poitou-Charentes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing