We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't pass by !”
Review of L' Etoile du Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L' Etoile du Port
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't pass by !”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

we love this place ! perfect for a break when you're travelling through france.
charming and helpful hosts, easy booking, calm and beautiful location, elegant and comfortable interior, good beds, stylish and clean rooms, delicious breakfast - great place to come back again and again !

Room Tip: all great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have enjoyed Susie and Gerard's hospitality so much over the past few years and will be back again next year. The stylish yet inpretentious decor compliments the wonderful old building. Each bedroom has it's own particular style and identity. Wonderful bedlinen and much appreciated little touches in the bedrooms. Breakfast overlooks the lake from the stunning baronial like hall. Have only stayed in summer but oh to relax on the sumptuous white sofas when logs are burning in that amazing fireplace. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we couldn't resist 'snapping' up 2 of the stunning photographs in the gallery. We cannot recommend L'Etoile du Port more highly and this is echoed by the many family members and friends who have been similarly welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickandsuemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Fantastic place opposite a river with a lovely park (good for jogging in).
Within walking distance of the local village & shops.

The accomodation was clean with really comfortable beds, douvays & pillows!
Owners (Susie & Gerard) were most friendly & helpful with good knowledge of the local area.

We had a great stay & we'll be back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at L'Etoile du Port on our way back from Spain to the UK. The location is fabulous and the house is charming and elegant. The owners were very kind and helpful. We will definitely make it a regular stop every time we drive through France. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

What a jewel - L'Etoile du Port has such a lot of character - just like it's hosts, Susie and Gerard! Comfortable yet very stylishly furnished, this chambre d'hote, an old converted cognac warehouse, is very classy with lots of personal touches and hand-picked objets d'art. The triple height salon makes a very civilised communal space from which all the bedrooms have direct access.

This was our third visit and we weren't disappointed. From the Egyption cotton sheets to the dappled light coming through the canal side windows, L'Etoile has a most calming effect. Nothing was too much trouble, our hosts treated us like old friends, and the croissants were as delicious as always! Our 10 year old loved her separate but connected bedroom, which gave us all both security and privacy.

Lots to do nearby, mini golf, play park for little and not so little ones, a canal side pool, a waterside cafe, and a fantastic municipal pool with water slides and dedicated diving pool. We highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal side room - for a beautiful outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We broke our journey to Laungedoc-Rousillon with a one night stay at L'Etoile du Port. It's a beautiful building very elegantly restored. We stayed in a huge family room, stylish and very comfortable. The crisp white egyptian cotton bedlinen would rival any five star hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. Gerard and Susannah couldnt have been more hospitable and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at L'etoile du Port for one night on our way down to the south of france from Le Havre. It was an excellent stop off point being not far from the N10 and just over half way from le havre to our final destination in le gers. We arrived weary from a 6.5 hour drive to a very friendly welcome from Gerard and Susie. They guided us to the wonderful suite they had reserved for us and our 2 children and after showering they informed us of the reservation they had made for us for dinner at a very nice local restaurant - typically french and buzzing. After a fabulous nights sleep in exceptionally comfortable beds we awoke to an amazing breakfast of croissants, french bread, fresh fruit, yoghurts, and the good old english (if desired after all that!). We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Go for the suite. It is a great space for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky_11043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-d'Angely
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chateau de Laleard
Chateau de Laleard
#1 of 1 in Saint Hilaire de Villefranche
39 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Pertuzerie
La Pertuzerie
#1 of 1 in Saint-Savinien
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
4.1 mi away
Domaine de Rennebourg
Domaine de Rennebourg
#2 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbaye Royale
Abbaye Royale
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L' Etoile du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L' Etoile du Port

Property: L' Etoile du Port
Address: 14 quai de Bernouet, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1633 as a Cognac store this characterful property lies within easy walking distance of Saint Jean D'Angely. It faces the beautiful Boutonne River and is a perfect overnight stop when travelling through France (being only 4/5 mins from the A10). It is also popular with those wanting to spend more time in the area, with easy access to the West coast, and other treats inland, including nearby Cognac and Saintes. Guests have plenty of space and share a large living room and small kitchen (fridge/freezer, microwave, hob) in addition to their well equipped and comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your L' Etoile du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L' Etoile Du Port France/Poitou-Charentes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing