We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully warm weekend.”
Review of Hotel La Caminatha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Caminatha
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zoldo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully warm weekend.”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for a very quick ski weekend, perfectly viable as Zoldo is only 1.5 hrs. from Marco polo airport. Food was great so was home-made grappa served by the proprietor with interesting insights about the various flavours.

I personally think they gave me larger measures to ensure national pride and victory at table football - who know Italian rules were so 'different' than English - it was their table though so who were we to disagree!

Rooms were comfortable and warm - what more could you want?

Food was lovingly prepared and served by a great set of staff.

The warm atmosphere that the family have created at the hotel, helped with the amazing central fireplace, are all that you could ask for after a long days skiing in the stunning Dolomites.

Watch my video of the trip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scVDgUmxUEU&context=C34df495ADOEgsToPDskJb5QmDnGQ5euLLlHXyt1Kw

Room Tip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scVDgUmxUEU&context=C34df495ADOEgsToPDskJb5QmDnGQ5euLLlHXyt1Kw
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    57
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
58
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely long weekend at Hotel La Caminatha and we were all overwhelmed by the fantastic hospitality in this friendly, family run hotel.
The family went out of there way to make our stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and were so helpful by coming to our rescue when we got stuck in the snow due to problems with our snow chains.

The rooms are clean, warm and comfortable with plenty of storage space for clothes and belongings. There is also a locked ski room to store all of your ski equipment safely overnight.

The food was superb and plentiful - home cooked, hearty and well balanced 3 course evening meals with a special 5 course meal on the saturday night. The breakfast buffet in the morning consisted of juice, coffee, tea, pastries, cakes, fruit, cereal, cheese, ham and more - a great meal to prepare you for a days skiing.

In the evening there is plenty to do at the hotel - pool/billiards tables, table tennis tables, table football, all of which the hotel family are keen to challenge you to a game! My favourite part of the hotel was the huge log burning fire in the main bar area with ample seating around the edge where you can sample one of the many flavours of home made grappa on offer.

The location of the hotel is about 2km from the main ski lift but the hotel offers a free shuttle bus service to and from the slopes so this is not a problem at all, if anything it is easier than trying to lug heavy ski equipment to the slopes yourself! This location perched high on the hills overlooking the ski runs and village below offers spectacular scenery from the landscape windows in the restaurant and from the outdoor terrace.

This hotel was superb value for money and at only 1.5hrs drive from Venice airport so it is the perfect option for a ski weekend getaway or a longer holiday if time allows.

I have skied in many areas around the world and the Dolomites are probably my favourite place to ski in europe - the scenery is amazing, the pistes are varied and well kept and the cost of restuarants/bars etc is much cheaper than the more touristy resorts in the alps.

One word of advice - Ensure you know how to correctly put snow chains on your tyres and also double check the car hire company give you the correct size snow chains in the first place as the hotel is positioned at the top of a hill and the road does get very snowy at times!

Overall the stay was fantastic and I will definately return in the future, as another review says - this hotel is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

In fact I am not sure I should be writting this review at all as it will only increase vititors to both the hotel and the ski resort in general- i would much rather keep it to myself.. I have now stayed in la Caminatha twice and zoldo alto three times altogther- this is the better of the two hotels I have stayed in by far.
Zoldo alto in general terms is a great place to ski and is mostly frequented by local and not the usual rowdy british lot.
The hotel itself is fabulously clean, family run, with really good food. Yeah for sure its up the hill and a little bit out of the main town, but the views are to die for and the free bus they operate drops you at the ski lift and picks you up when you want to.
I would ha;ppily recommend you stay here, but not too many of you!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikec34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

It is an old hotel that is renevatin slowly. Rooms are small but clean. Food is great. There is a shuttle bus to reach the skilift. There are no shops Iand in winteryou can only ski. In summer there is a lot of trekking to do.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zazzo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zoldo Alto
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mae
Hotel Mae
#3 of 5 in Zoldo Alto
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 1 in Mareson
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#5 of 5 in Zoldo Alto
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Antelao Sport & Wellness
Hotel Antelao Sport & Wellness
#1 of 5 in Borca di Cadore
549 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Garni la Stua
Hotel Garni la Stua
#3 of 8 in Selva di Cadore
41 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Valgranda
Hotel Valgranda
#4 of 5 in Zoldo Alto
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Caminatha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Caminatha

Property: Hotel La Caminatha
Address: Via Col, 1,Coi | Belluno Veneto Dolomites, 32010, Zoldo Alto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Zoldo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zoldo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Caminatha 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a privileged, sunny and quiet position, at Coi di Zoldo, 1494 m., just 3 km from the ski lifts and from the centre of Pecol; Hotel La Caminatha is immersed in an unforgettable landscape, surrounded by the majestic Civetta Group and Mt. Pelmo.Characteristic three-star hotel in mountain style, including wide common halls. Home cooking, local and international dishes, specialities of the Zoldo cuisine, supervised by the owner.ski-room in the hotel and in the park of ski tracks (3km), car/bus park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Caminatha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing