We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An art oasis tucked in an Antipolo subdivision”
Review of Pinto Art Museum

Pinto Art Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An art oasis tucked in an Antipolo subdivision”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The museum and the gardens alone are a must see. Most art works are contemporary with a bit of social commentary (read: leftist) leanings. Our guide on many occasions, a long time artist, caretaker and gardener, is cheerful and clearly loves his job and his workplace.

There are several souvenir items from Ilocos, the home province of the owner, which are reasonably priced. A cafe also serves lunch, snacks and dinner (by reservation) but I don't recall when days it's closed.

This is always a pit stop for us in Antipolo after the Church.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank January_Roads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    134
    25
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Serenity mix with culture ”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I went there to appreciate a good view and what I saw was enlightenment. I actually found peace in knowing we have an astounding group of artistic people. The sculptures were awesome and the architectural and interior design were relaxing. It's another picture perfect venue. In here I learn to appreciate being a Filipino more. True some of the paintings depict we're victims of materiality & colonial mentality. It didn't help that currently we have the porky politicians. But what I saw in those paintings are Filipinos who love their fellow citizen enough to wish they wake up and learn to appreciate their culture.

I took my kids and artistic brother on our following visit. They love it. The kids hoped to stay longer but the restaurant was full and they're hungry.

This place can be a new sanctuary to anyone who needs a bit of inspiration, positive motivation, love.... I'll try the food next time. :)

More power to the owner. Thank you for sharing your collection. Cheers!

Helpful?
Thank Lei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must see... For all ages!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It was one of those road trips that led us to the Pinto Art Museum. For an entrance fee of P100, you get transferred to another world of nature and art that are all a feast for the eyes. Never forget to bring your camera with you to capture all the interesting shots. Truly enchanting and worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Washi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely museum, beautiful grounds.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I don't know why this is not done more often: the combination of a mature garden / arboretum with a few buildings, big(gish) and small(ish) that are filled with art. One wonders from building to building, sometimes opening doors, but always walking through rooms filled with truly wonderful art. There are places to sit, places to buy coffee, places to hide and places to stand quietly, admiring the art. Highly recommended.
PS the locals will refer to the museum's location as "in the mountains" which in my western mind conjured a completely wrong impression. No, it's not hours away from Manila. it's in (or very near to) Manila.
PPS The entry fee is very inexpensive and so far they allow photography (but I would not use a flash).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dmitry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Space, Posh Gallery Cafe”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I went here to scope out a possible prenup photo place for a friend. Didn't expect too much but came away very pleasantly surprised.

The Pinto Art Gallery is pretty interesting because it's not only one space where they put the art works on the walls. The place consists of several different buildings and gardens and you can easily spend 2-3 hours without getting bored. They provide a lot of comfortable sitting areas where you can just relax, think and appreciate the artwork.The place has a Mexican vibe with wide open windows, white walls, old timbers and flat rooftops that can serve as viewing decks. Going up and down the stairs can be a bit of a problem, though, so be prepared.

They have a cafe that is catered by Bizu, the same company that has several Pattiserie in Manila. They only have a limited menu (3 pastas, 3 entrees and 3 desserts - no kid friendly meal) and most of it I found a bit heavy (Duck Confit? Lamb Shank?) but they present it so well and it was not bad. However, the thing that make it more enjoyable is that you are inside a garden and the cool breeze almost lulls you to sleep.

For a minimum number of guests and advance warning, they can come up with a different menu for you. I can't help but think that this would be a fantastic place for an intimate lunch/dinner for a small party.

Open from Wednesdays to Sundays
9am - 6pm

Direction: Coming from Ortigas Extension, go straight towards Antipolo. Once you reach the fork where the Capitolyo and Ynares center is located, stay on the right side. Drive for about a 100 meters and you will see a Sr. Pedro Lechon Manok stand. Turn right on the first road after that. There will be a small sign for Pinto Art Gallery. Drive through Grand Heights road until you reach a guardhouse, pay P20 and turn right on the first corner and you will soon see the gallery.

FYI when you go to the Antipolo/Taytay intersection, you won't be able to go straight to Antipolo since there is a barrier. You will be forced to go to the right side (going to Taytay). That is fine but do a U-Turn at the first available slot so you can go back to the right direction.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank supremebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinto Art Museum also viewed

Antipolo City, Rizal Province
 
Antipolo City, Rizal Province
Antipolo City, Rizal Province
 

Been to Pinto Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing