We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure to just switch off and rest your soul!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coffee Bay
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hole in the Wall Hotel for a long weekend in 2011!

To get there there we went through a section of terrible road, then found out there was a better one!

We were booked into a self-catering unit at the hotel, enjoyed braais with a view to die for, a loverly meal at the Hotel restuarant!

Very rural, beautiful beaches, good friends! The perfect place to switch off from the rat race!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea! Worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanTyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 119 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

I had a great time with good friends.We were we welcomed by two amazing ladies(dunno if they still there)bY The sounds of it ur better off gettin a six sleeper dorm than stay in the hotel.Its a very chilled place super safe inside the complex.Just have to watch yourr stuff on the beach(the little bas*&%*$ are quick)The atmosphere is what you make it if theres willing friendly people around Its an amazing place.
Hikes,braais,bongs,balancing boards,bongo drums and unspoilt beaches.

Room Tip: away from the hotel so u can party as long and hard as you want.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamDBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed one night at the Hole In The Wall Hotel and Backpackers during our day at the Coffee Bay area. We got a 4 Bed Room, which is usually shared, for your own. Thus we go a good price, but without breakfast.

The resort looks nice and friendly and is close to the Hole in the Wall, so the beach is in front of the restaurant.
The service was a little bit lazy at the hotel as well as in the restaurant. Off-season you get only reduced menu options for dinner (but they bring you the default menu card).

Parking was included, the area was fenced and there was security staff at the gates to the beach and to the road. Big advantage is the closeness to the Hole in the Wall, disadvantage, that you have to drive a longer gravel road to Coffee Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darktemptation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

14 of us Hikers arrived at Hole in the Wall on our first day, not to be welcomed, just given our room keys. Our rooms were very big but very empty, no atmosphere or personaltiy just like the managers. The bed was a sponge bed and the bedding was so old that you could almost put your finger through it. The bathrooms were so small that you could hardly move I weight only 48kg and am 5.2 and I battled to move around without doing myself any damage.
The food was very plain, even our packed lunches left little to be desired. Not that I dont know how to rough it but come on guys you really need to make an effort White Clay outshone you!!!!!! with hospitality and presentation

Room Tip: I dont think any of the rooms are good enough to choose
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Heading for the Hole in the Wall formation, we departed Coffee Bay (unfortunately after staying one wretched extremely poor value night at the White Clay Resort - read my review). Looking for a safe spot to park our car and contents before embarking on foot to view the Hole in the Wall. We found the fenced and gated Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village. I believe the place also trades as The Hole in the Wall Backpackers but we did not experience the backpack aspect of the operation. Went inside to look around, and it was such an extreme difference from our previous night’s accommodation and a huge step up in comfort and safety that we decided to stay the night. Our accommodation slept 6 with 2 bedrooms - one bedroom with double bed and bath, the other bedroom with 2 twin beds and a bunk bed and bath, open and spacious proper lounge area and kitchen. Clean, Clean, Clean, including bottled water and the price was a fraction of the previous night’s stay. We felt like we were in a 5 star hotel after the other places we stayed on our trip. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The restaurant was nothing fancy - hamburgers/pizza/sandwiches - but we were satisfied with our meals. The location is beside the beach for sunning/swimming/fishing/boat launch and is a short, easy, safe walk to The Hole in the Wall formation, and there are plenty of activities to stay busy with for a day or so. During the night of our stay, it rained very hard, and the next morning there were several puddles here and there in the rooms but not enough to dampen my enthusiasm. If I ever return to Hole in the Wall, I would hope this place keeps doing what they are doing. It’s by far the best value of 5 establishments we visited in Coffee Bay, and we would definitely stay there again, http://www.holeinthewall.co.za/
Final thoughts and reflections now from the comfort of my home... I read the other reviews for this property and find no fault or argument with the reviewer’s observations, perhaps just their perspectives. While this place is by no means a resort by international or national standard, by local standards a resort it is. For this locale it doesn’t seem to get any better so it's a waste of time to judge or review against a preconception. Additionally, they also have a number of accommodation options available and I suspect ones experience might largely depend upon which accommodation one resided and on which day one was there. One can find fault at any of the local dining and lodging establishments because there is little competition and most certainly it’s difficult to operate with any consistency. Also, a visit to the region is not for everyone - it’s a difficult drive, hard on passengers and vehicles alike, and one must have the free time, be flexible and really prepared for the experience. Additionally, while the landscape and inhabitants might initially appear charming, be honest and grudgingly accept a number of disturbing and festering social, environmental and employment problems. We came to view “The Hole in the Wall” costal feature and experience the beaches. This we did but in doing so experienced little to prompt a return visit. So, after visiting the region my suggestion to those considering the trip is to do your homework, consider all the time and preparation needed to be safe and comfortable and ask yourself if the juice worth the squeeze.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank 4whatitsworth2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

My fiancee and I were looking forward to a long-awaited trip to Hole in the Wall but now deeply regret not having had the time to properly research accommodation beforehand as our experience was deeply disappointing. We booked at the Hole in the Wall backpackers for 5 nights and yes, we were mentally prepared for roughing it in a backpacker environment, as the self catering units were booked and we were on a budget.

Getting there...
We were warned about the roads by the booking agent and made the necessary planning to drive with enough fuel and not during the night. As it's a rural area you will encounter the following on the roads in the Wild Coast: cattle, sheep, goats, donkeys, horses, dogs, potholes and opportunist locals either begging for sweets or money. I would suggest you travel with a high raised vehicle or 4x4 and not a sedan.

The Resort (Backpackers)...
Various self catering bungalows and chalets scattered around the hills. The backpackers has 9 rooms, some with 2 single beds other with a double bed with an ensuite bathroom (toilet and shower). Some rooms were equipped with kettles and wardrobes, others not.

What we didn't like...
Reception and checking in: waited for 10 minutes to get someone's attention to check in. We could see somebody dusting behind the check-in desk and hear discussions of a manager's/senior staff member in the back office, but despite trying to draw their attention, none of them made the effort of coming to help us.The receptionist eventually made an appearance but was on handling a phone call at the same time and multi-tasking checking us in and answering another holiday maker's questions. When I eventually had her attention I asked about activities in the area and she couldn't offer me any suggestions or options other than the hole in the wall and horse riding (which is R150 per hour and R250 for 2 hours) and did not seem eager to give any more information about the horse riding other than where to book and how much it cost. I was hoping to get a welcome or this is what our resort offers speech, but nothing... We were not asked whether we would prefer a double bed or two singles, were given vague directions to make our own way to our room andhad to find the kitchen and other facilities with no help from the resort staff.

General cleanliness was poor: bedding and pillowcases were dirty, plates in the restaurant were cracked, glasses and cutlery were dirty, furniture in the bar area is in bad condition

Water: if we had known beforehand that the tap water is untreated river water, we would've been better prepared mentally and brought our own drinking water. Residents in the self-catering units had the same situation and complained about the whole family being sick from the water. Rain gutters collect and feed a steel tank with water for drinking and cooking. Actually saw a goat urinating next to the tank.

Communual kitchen: not enough mugs, glasses, eating and cooking utensils, generally felt dirty, would suggest they invest in a microwave and connect a hot water pipe to the washing basin

Beggars: the resort is fenced off but beggars outside the fence yell (even at 5:30 in the morning) trying to sell all kinds of illegal delicacies. Outside the resort you are harassed constantly with offers of paid tour guides or locals who know of someone who will be able to supply you with whatever you require. 'Help' might be forced onto you (at a cost), despite politely indicating that you do not need assistance.

Polution: the beaches aren't clean, lots of plastic bags and bottles on the beach. A local programme to clean up the area will do wonders.

Drunk people: we encountered drunk people on 2 occassions. Why doesn't the resort have a policy against drunk and lude behaviour or enforce something? They do market and present itself as a hotel and holiday (family) resort... I can understand if they were only focused on being a backpackers.
The green "under maintenance" pool (in peak holiday season).

Parking: No dedicated/demarkated parking for backpackers and campsite. Result is that people park all over, parking people in

Condition of facilities: Everything has a feel of neglect, one or two broken chairs on the backpacker veranda is the only seating available, the restaurant only has four wine glasses, furniture is old and damaged

What we liked...
- The hole in the wall.
- Relaxing on the green hills and cleaner parts of the beach.
- Taking pictures of the cattle on the beach and the natural unspoilt beauty.
- Some meals at the restaurant.
- Cindy the waitress (always friendly and ready to assist).
- Ally the gatekeeper (organised a fishing rod and bait for me, gave me good advice on the roads and weather).
- My stomach medication.

The area is rough and rural and we expected it. Just didn't expect it to be rough and rural at the resort...
Don't go there if you have small children or if you are squirmish. If you stay at the backpackers take along plenty of drinking water, your own cooking utensils and plates and easy to make food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheTravelinBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Rather search on the internet for 'Hole in the Wall' than to spend thousand of rands and time to travel on these non-existing roads and polluted country side. It is a far cry from unspoiled and I suppose best left to the local people. Our self service apartment was dirty and way! overpriced (R580 per room per night). The towel rack came down, the water is dirty and furniture stained. Swimming pool was without water. We arrived 19:30 and lady greeted us in her night gown. Owner was there but too busy with his friends. Much better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacoduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
4.4 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coffee Bay
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
3.7 mi away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
166 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lubanzi Village
61 reviews
508.8 mi away
Gethlane Lodge
Gethlane Lodge
#5 of 16 in Lydenburg
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village

Address: Coffee Bay Rd | Umthombe District, Coffee Bay 5080, South Africa (Formerly Hole in the Wall Hotel and Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coffee Bay
Price Range: $25 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Coffee Bay and surrounded by vast stretches of unspoiled coastline, Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village offers some of the most picturesque scenery in South Africa. The remoteness of Hole in the Wall resort lends itself to excellent bird watching, nature walks, hiking trails as well as being an ideal spot for fishing. The beach is directly in front of the resort and has a lovely natural bay. This secluded location makes it the perfect destination for a relaxing holiday and the ideal base from which to explore the pristine Transkei coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing