We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday bash and weekend!”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee Bay B&B and Inns
Wildcoast!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday bash and weekend!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just had my birthday bash with sixty people ranging from young children to the elderly! A fantastic stay and event with wonderful food, excellent service and warm friendly staff! A mere week after severe floods the hotel put on a world class spread and amazed very deserning guests with no fuss at all! Everyone was thourally impressed and can't wait to return.....to Tim and his team, thank you very much for making this massive milestone so memorable!

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms just above the beach are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonwildcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    66
    34
    21
    16
See reviews for
30
95
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Ocean View Hotel. There is plenty to do for the whole family and the food was really good. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner had plenty of variety and everything tasted freshly prepared. One of the highlights was the abundance of fresh oysters. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. A wonderful place to have a laid back family holiday.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are spacious and each has a private verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We ended up at Ocean View after having spent a week backpacking and breaking down in Coffee Bay. The experience at Ocean View was like day and night compared to what we experienced elsewhere. While the price is slightly higher than what I expected, I must admit that I felt it was absolutely justified based on what was included, and the service we received. We ended up staying 5 days.

Apart from the great sea view from the rooms, the food was superb. Buffet was served fresh three times a day, and was always more than enough. Being able to dine on the deck, enjoying a view of the pool below and the beach just beyond was one of the many fine features of the hotel. Daily maid service and a laundry service were also a great plus we enjoyed.

The management and staff were very friendly, and really went the extra mile for us (mostly along the N2 to Mthatha), often giving lifts to other places in the bay, and shuttling us and all our camping gear so that we could get to a rental car, and get home.

We spent 5 days at the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone traveling through theses parts. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms with the sea view are worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are perturbed when we read negative reviews about the Ocean View Hotel. We were lucky to have a sea facing room and from the moment we arrived felt relaxed and welcome. We were offered lunch even though we arrived after lunch time, a nice gesture. The food was fresh, abundant and very tasty. The view and beach is lovely. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel then this isn't the place for you but if you are willing to have a great wild coast experience, relax and enjoy the scenery, it is absolutely lovely. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view above the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailJB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tergniet, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and myself have stayed a night at Ocean View hotel 5 times in the last 9 months, as a stop-over during business trips. I do feel that some of the reviews on this site are a little unfair. Firstly, the food has consistently been abundant and delicious - plenty of choices available for the guests with different tastes. There have been no mushy tomatoes and definitely no tinned mushrooms. The fish served is fresh and well cooked - and the pickled fish is to die for. Secondly, our one night included 4 meals. If one works out what these would cost at a restaurant ( for 2 courses - not 4 like here) - say conservatively R80 per meal - the R600 per night is actually well priced, particularly for people from the UK and Australia, but also for a local. The place has a rustic charm which is appropriate for the region - and provides all the basics for comfort, like a pool area, direct beach access ( to a stunning beach) TV, adequately appointed rooms and very fast wireless internet, plus a Spa and tour options. We would always recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a real Wild Coast experience at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We did not get along with this place, with it's taff reception stuff and weird atmosphere. It's popular with tourgroups who stay overnight, as it seems the only hotel in the bay... We ended up there, as all other places (hostels/backpackers) where fully booked. I would not go there again, as the price was just to high for what you get. The restauant food, which you have to enjoy, as they only offer the rooms with full board, is not worth the costs...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30andtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffee Bay hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ohhhhhhh what a great couple of days we had here. It's not fancy, it's just a simple uncomplicated easy going and friendly place to relax and eat wonderfully fresh straight out of the sea seafood and what ever else the kitchen decides to feed you. If your in the area then stay and soak in the uncomplicated lifestyle of Coffee Bay. Ahhhhhhhhh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisworldishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.5 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Freedom O Clock
Freedom O Clock
#3 of 3 in Mdumbi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Umnenga Lodge
Umnenga Lodge
#2 of 3 in Wild Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coffee Shack Backpackers
Coffee Shack Backpackers
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Property: Ocean View Hotel
Address: 1 Main Road, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing