We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friends Cafe & Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Coffee Bay
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hole in the Wall(Coffee Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mayfair Hotel(Mthatha)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
uMhlanga Sands Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
21
16
7
8
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
16
7
8
32
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 84 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's a very long drive only to be welcomed with poor service, dirty facilities, attitude and people trying to milk you for your cash. I had emailed the asking if they had sites for us to camp. Now I don't think they have every camped in their lives before, so not sure why they offer it or call it camping. It's like getting roped into a trance festival party that you didn't know you were going to in the first place. We were told that our vehicle could not be parked on our site. Our electricity ran off the vehicle so this was quite important for light and keeping things cold. Beyond this they make sure they are making every cent possible so you camp on top of each other while the trance music and bongo drums blare till 2 in the morning. If they not making enough money off the site they still overchange you for ice, R30 for half a bag (It's water), beer and food. So disappointing. I hope that by reading this you will be spared the long drive for not a hell of a lot :(

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank off_to_Patong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

after reading some of the reviews left by the likes of dubbtrub and markus g, i honestly cant accept that we visited the same place. I experience of bomvu was overwhelming! perhaps its not for everyone, and if you're looking for a pampered holiday, with all the luxuries of your home life, then go somewhere else, but if you arrive with an open mind and are willing to embrace the bomvu lifestyle, you will have the time of your life! In my 10 day visit made some friends and memories i'll never forget and was truly sad to leave... i thought the bar was very reasonably priced, and the the bar tenders (Chris my main man!!) where always on form, and keeping the party going!! every night was an awesome party, and don't even get me started on Bomvu tribal rhythm!! Theres nothing like those melodies!! I cant get enough!! I bought the CD, but its just not the same... I wish i was still there!!:( My only small issue was with the cost of the pizzas... all the menus were reasonable, but the pizzas, were pretty small and pretty expensive, but thats hardly a reason to avoid such an amazing place! We ended up staying for 2 more days, because we just didnt want to leave! I cant wait to get back! We stayed in the camp site 10 ft from the bar! which suited us perfectly! but the camp site was huge, and there are plenty of amazing spots.I highly recommend bomvu paradise to anyone who has the balls to have a good time!! we'll see you in september!
Love you guys!!
Dean...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

" Hawu BOMVU! " - We all could not stop shouting this throughout our stay at Bomvu Paradise: Backpackers in Coffee Bay. Each of us trying to out do the next one with our volume and vigour!

Despite the rustic appearance and hint of disorganization among the employees, we embraced the experience of our Bomvu adventure with all we had. And hell were we embraced back. Karl, Chris and Mike thoroughly made us feel at home and fueled our curiosity and 'party-hard' attitudes we all had. Having a 12 man dorm right next the the restaurant, bar and dance floor - rest was not an option for us. For me and most of those who I was with, Bomvu offered a space where creativity and wonder met freedom and fun. Although people may criticize this place for certain things, if you really have an open mind and a will to experience the beauty of raw life then you'll see why we all loved Bomvu's 'B LOVE' philosophy! The music, The pizza's (although expensive!!), The drums, The New Year's Party, The People, The Layed Back atmosphere - Bomvu Bomvu Bomvu, I said BOMMMVUUUU!

Peace & Love

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What an awful start Bomvu gave us to a holiday we planned for ages. As stated by previous reviews, we too were moved to another housing unit which we didn't book (and this unit wasn't even part of bomvu). It was at the top of the hill with a guy named Mark. When we arrived there the place looked like a dump. Old batteries, scrapmetal, glass panes and regular junk was just lying around. We were told that all valuables should be locked inside our car seeing that the dorm couldn't be locked, and whatever is stolen from our bags is just part of the experience and that is how things work around there. When we returned to our dorm after dinner at Jah Drums (friendly, clean and professional service), we found a local in our dorm that was trying to steal whatever he could find. Luckily we chased him away and confronted Mark on this matter. That's when things got heated. Mark started swearing and harassing us, telling us we should move out tonight and that we haven't paid him a cent (all this while we did pay our deposit with Bomvu). He treated us with no respect and each of us expected a brawl to happen (even with the females). That when we packed up (at 10:30PM) in the dark, and got moved to 2 different dorms (still not what we payed the deposit for). The next morning we just left without receiving our deposit to Hole in The Wall where we had the time of our lives. Bomvu offers you no security, has no organisation, overbooked, with dirty showers and toilets. Basicly a place for a bunch of druggies to just get their next fix. You'll constantly be harassed by locals to buy shrooms or marijuana and it seems that Bomvu just accepts that's the way it goes around there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuBez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived in Coffee Bay looking for a chilled out atmosphere and somewhere we could crash while we experienced the beauty of the surrounding area. The momment we arrived we felt judged, and were not only not greeted by the receptionist - she didnt even offer us a glance. After confirming that we had booked a six-man dorm exclusively for our party prior to our arrival we were shifted to what i can only disguise as a make-shift shack where about 12 matresses were crammed in that allowed little space for movement. there was no electricity and no lock to the door. windows were broken too.

Other than that the place was completely overbooked and did not offer the chilled vibes we were looking for, just a couple of washed out trance hippies looking for there next fixed. We didnt even stay one night and booked out that day we arrived.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank dubbtrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews