We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coffee Shack Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome vibe”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about Coffee Shack. When I arrived, it was such a cool, laid back atmosphere that I immediately felt at home. Everyone who worked there is extremely personable and really go out of their way to know everyone they meet. Even though there were lots of other travelers going in and out, I was always surprised that the staff always called everyone by name. Such a cool place. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TeresG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Howzitt Matt
Thank you very much for the great review, and it is always our pleasure to hear that our guests have taken advantage of the many services that we offer and enjoyed them.
Safe travels, come and visit us again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    66
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
86
71
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This was the one hostel where the party was on. Really cool vibe. Free drinks on a arrival. You don't need to worry about food as they make breakfast, lunch and supper everyday. And you decide what u want and it goes on ur tab. They also organised a tour everyday but if you only staying a short time and want to do specific tour they can organise that specially. Really well run. Thanks guys:) for the unique backpacking experience

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MattAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
Thank you, for the great review! It is actually surprisingly complex and hard work making the Coffee Shack, run smoothly, due to the remote location and logistics associated with this. So your compliments are much appreciated by everyone working at Coffee Shack.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Could only stay one night but wished it could have been for more! We booked a hut which was clean, secure and spacious. The bathrooms were clean with good facilities. Great place to socialise - the bar was full all night & there was a great atmosphere. Excellent location right on a beautiful huge beach, friendly and efficient staff, and good vibe - we loved it. Recommended :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
Thank you very much for the fantastic review, we really appreciate it and the fact that you had a very enjoyable stay, even though you only managed to stay one night. Hopefully next time you can plan for 3 or more nights. Remember that every 5th night is free.

We generally find that if guests stay 3 nights or more, they really settle in and appreciate what makes Coffee Shack and Coffee Bay a special place.

Safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our fifth day of our hike down the Wild coast. It is a popular backpackers and a busy one. We stayed in a rondaval across the Bomvu River which had just been refurbished - lovely and quiet (only one or two mosquitos). We got a free drink on arrival (after our day's hike this was nectar!). NIce sandwiches for lunch and roast chicken for dinner. Nothing special but tasty. Pudding too. The self-catering kitchen was much cleaner than any other back packer as was the ablution block. We stayed for one night to carry on our hike to Lubanzi.

Room Tip: The rondavals across the river are very comfy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0kk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
Thank you very much for the review and glad to hear that you felt very comfortable and enjoyed the welcome drink. We do usually have mosquito pads in all the rooms which do a pretty good job of keeping the mozzies at bay. Guests are usually made aware of them on check in, and the device then has to be switched on.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Best place to stay in coffee bay. Lots of activities to join in on. Friendly staff and great food. Very good atmosphere and close to beach. We stayed in a rondavel on the other side of the river to the main reception and dorms. Perfect if you want a bit of piece and quiet.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter stay opt for the other side of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Howzit Lucy
Thank you for the great review, and more importantly that you had a great stay at Coffee Shack.
Thank you for mentioning the dorms across the stream for those who need a little more space, most people don't realise that there are also dorms as well as private rooms on the beach side, across the stream.

Safe travels and we hope to see you back again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Undoubtably the best back packers I've ever stayed in. Right on the beach - pretty much in the middle of paradise - with the most awesome staff. I didn't need to worry about anything, with awesome food served everyday, a bar open from 9am - 2am, great activities arranged every day and night and just such a cool vibe. I surfed (board rental and lessons are super cheap), I hiked. I swam and swam and swam. And I met the most awesome people. I will recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Howzit Neil
Thanks you very much for the fantastic review, although more importantly that you and your crew had memorable stay at Coffee Shack.

It sounds like you guys had a fantastic time, I am jealous, I probably need a holiday myself now!
Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
PS. May is the perfect time to visit, when the weather starts getting a little miserable down South, it is our best time of the year here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in Coffee Shack for 3 nights over x-mas, and it was the best x-mas of my life. The staff is incredible. The food, the hospitality, the smiles. For X-mas eve, Dave took us out for an incredible hike on the most beautiful day, followed by sundowners over a hill with free gin tonics, mussels and oysters. Then came the huge x-mas dinner and a crazy party. Suffice it to say, I have never seen this amount of people that happy in my life before. Happiness was contagious in the place.
They also contribute a lot to the kids in the community which really need a lot of help.
Never miss Coffee Shack when you're in South Africa, the most beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
Thank you for the very kind review, but more importantly to us, is that you had the “best X-mas possible” at Coffee Shack and enjoyed it as much as we did. It certainly was a very memorable Christmas, with lots of fun had by everyone there, including us the staff.

Thank you also for noting that we do run a lot of education based community projects in the area. Many of our guests do not even realize that Coffee Shack is actually accredited by Fair Trade Tourism.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again next Christmas eve for even more fun.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coffee Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.1 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Freedom O Clock
Freedom O Clock
#3 of 3 in Mdumbi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Shack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Shack Backpackers

Property: Coffee Shack Backpackers
Address: on the beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Coffee Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, discover and enjoy a unique taste of rural Africa! Coffee Shack is a backpackers' tropical paradise, located on the beach at the Bomvu River mouth on the Wild Coast of South Africa, where you will experience a way of life far removed from Western culture. We have a reputation of being a fun, good-value hostel with excellent facilities and the most amazing, friendly staff. We offer accommodation in traditional, thatched-roof huts, ranging from private rooms to dorms, as well as camping facilities in the garden next to the beach. Choose between self-catering options or try our delicious meals with a free 'potjie' meal every Sunday night. Weather and ocean permitting, join us for daily sundowners with magnificent views or taste freshly caught oysters and mussels at the bar before dinner. Stay for five nights and get your 5th night free! Our 'Babalaza Bar' is fully licensed and rocks in the evenings with its free pool table and range of drinks and cocktails. Join in the Killer Pool game or enjoy the chilled-out atmosphere around the firepit. Our variety of day trips include cultural walks exploring the local Xhosa culture, a traditional evening of dance and song at the home of a local family where you can try traditional Xhosa food and beers, beach days on the beautiful Coffee Bay, surf lessons, exploring Mapuzi cliffs and caves, hiking to the legendary "Hole in the Wall" or just walking in the local countryside with one of the local guides. We are accredited by Fair Trade Tourism South Africa and are committed to the improvement and upliftment of the greater community through various education and support projects. We are dedicated to making a difference to the local community and are thus 30% owned by the local Tshezi Community, who receive direct financial benefits from being involved in the business. We aim to encourage growth and empowerment opportunities for the local community through the development of meaningful partnerships. Coffee Shack runs a daily shuttle to Mthatha to meet the Baz Bus and other mainline buses at the Shell Ultra City in Mthatha (Umtata). We have free WIFI, safe parking and a laundry service. For self-drive, we are located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, in the former Transkei area. Turn onto the Coffee Bay road approximately 20km south of Mthatha, continue 80km down to the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing