We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coffee Shack Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Best Holiday”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I experienced peace, serenity and a change of mindset that changed me forever... We met so many travelers and holiday makers at the Coffee Shack, people I will probably never see again, but people that will have a place in my heart always.. The staff to say the least was chilled about everything, but still very professional and everything went and operated smoothly. Especially Cindy was an excellent part of the dynamic team improving the experience.. Coffee shack really provide the traveler with a warm fuzzy feel ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello Walter
Thank you very much for the fantastic review, but more important for us is that you had a memorable stay, and it sounds like you did.

All the best for 2014 and we hope that the "warm fuzzy feeling" lasts until next time we see you at Coffee Shack. I will pass on regards to all the staff, they will be very happy.
Safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    67
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
87
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was my first backpackers trip, and I must say from the moment I arrived I was welcomed with open arms. The staff was attentive although it was their busiest month. Will definitely return this year

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise, then definitely get a hut which is across the river. The only proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santayiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Howzit
Thank you very much for the great review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Coffee Shack.

Thanks for the good advice of bringing a torch. Torches do make it easier to cross the stream on dark nights, if you are staying in the huts across the river and when we have electricity outages. Coffee Shack does have a few spare torches, but during the busy season the torches get lost, so it is always a good idea to bring your own, just in case, we do not have enough.
Safe travels, and hope to see you again this year.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Coffee Shack is in a beautiful ocean inlet, a short walk to the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and were a pleasure to interact with. They have the most well stocked bar that we saw on all of the Wild Coast! They organize lots of optional day trips and excursions for the guests, we loved the hike to Hole in the Wall. The bathroom was always clean and tidy. The dorm room that we stayed in was a little damp and musty, but the private rooms looked great, we regretted not booking one of the quiet huts across the stream. The average age of the crowd is around 25, evenings were fun but also very loud. We ate our meals here, the food is very good.

Room Tip: If you are trekking the Wild Coast, 1 or 2 nights here is perfect. Don't book a dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello
Thank you very much for the great review, we all appreciate your comments regarding the friendly and helpful staff.

The main side can become busier than some people prefer, particularly around Christmas and New Year, as this is our busy/silly season (summer holidays) and as you suggested the private rooms and doubles across the stream are a great alternative, if you would like a little more space.
Safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The only con was that we stayed in the huts accross the river from the main backpackers and it was necessary to either hop accross slippery rocks or else wade through ankle to thigh deep water (depending on the tide) in order to get from one side to the other. Eventually we got used to it and it became part of the experience but initially it was really unpleasant and unexpected.

Pros:
-The communal bathrooms were clean and comfortable.
-the rooms were really clean and comfortable.
-nice kitchen facilities.
-fun and sociable vibe by the bar area.
-magnificent surroundings. (frequent sundowners from the hill overlooking the bay)
- really cheap surf lessons.
- its great to stay at a place that integrates, supports and develops the local community through various channels.

One of our most pleasant stays!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia_K271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello Nadia
Thanks for the great review and feedback, it is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed Coffee Shack.
The river or stream between the main side and quieter beach side rondavals is a difficult subject, because its depth varies so much and for long periods of time, as it is dependent on so many factors, although mainly the cycle of the tides and to a lesser extent the current weather conditions. It can be a little daunting the first time, if it is spring high tide or something like that. Although as you mentioned it does become a positive part of the Coffee Shack experience, and most people have no problems once having crossed a couple of times. Sadly at this stage there is no chance of a bridge, as it is in the very ecologically sensitive intertidal zone of an estuary.

Thanks also for pointing out our involvement and participation with our surrounding community. Most people do not realise that Coffee Shack is accredited by Fair Trade Tourism for its social and environmental efforts.
Happy New Year, safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Coffee Shack for a night's well deserved rest after we completed a 5day hike from Port St Johns to Coffee Shack. We were welcomed by a very friendly Cindy who ensured that we had everything we needed. The room in King's House had a great view, the dinner was great value for money, awesome party in the evening and overall a spot not to be missed.
I have to commend Cindy furthermore - we had to be in Mthatha on the day before Madiba's funeral to catch a shuttle back to Cape Town when several roads were closed. Cindy researched alternative back roads and got us safely in Mthatha (despite hectic pot holes and animals "grazing" in the road), on time, amongst all the chaos.
Make sure to experience their hospitality when u are in the region!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarisseCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello Clarisse
Thank you very much for the great review and the compliments you paid to the staff and in particular Cindy.

Make sure that you guys come and stay a little longer next time? Safe travels and have a great festive season.
Cheers
David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

.What an amazing place to stay when in South Africa. Coffee Shack is located on Coffee Bay on the Eastern cape. This place is over all the best place to stay with in 'The Bay'. The staff makes you feel so welcoming and know everyone by first name, I though was having trouble keep up with their names. The kitchen staff make the most amazing food and well worth the price for the amount you get. The sleep quarter are nice weather you stay in a dorm or one of the hunts which were very comfortable. Coffee Shack also provides day trips and always has Suring lesson, best place to surf (best kept secret). Locals are friendly and few local restaurant's and store in walking distance. I go back every year as they make your trip worth coming back for more

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilelyjadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello
Thanks for the great review, but more importantly to us is that you had an unforgettable stay. I will pass on a copy of your review to the other staff members to read, they will be super happy, with your compliments.

As you noted the R50 for 2 hour surf lessons, are winner for anyone who would like to give surfing a try. Safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Coffee Bay is a choice on the BazBus route which requires a connecting (small extra cost) shuttle from its stop at Mthatha, and takes about 2 hours. Don’t for a second let this put you off and make sure its Coffee Shack where you choose to stay (& book ahead)! This is a party place f’sure, but not exclusively young, and locals as well as volunteers and workers from towns about 4 hours near, make this the place they go on their time off – so you meet lots of types, of all ages. BBQs, pool comps, drinking games, solo guitarist/vocalist and ahhhh-mazing local drum & dance performance, on different nights, all made for a great vibe and plenty of fun. It’s not in-your-face though and the indoor and outdoor areas make it easy to mix and meet people or find a dark corner. All staff were terrific: reception, kitchen, cleaners, bar. All of them! Own towel and toiletries needed, credit card accepted, no ATMs. Stayed a dorm the first night and a private room w/shared bathroom, the next three – basic and clean, but linen is in dire need of renewing. The communal bathrooms are huge, clean, decorated with flowers and have blowdryers. Short walk to the beach, sunbake or do the super cheap surf lessons, which my bus compatriots took advantage of, and loved. Hike to “Hole In The Wall”, which reception can organise for you, is a must, and takes about 4hours round trip. But if you’re short of time, or even a little unsure of walking for that duration, I can recommend just hike to the first, smaller (but somewhat more spectacular) hole, and return. It’s also this part of the walk which is the most breathtaking. There’s no wifi at Coffee Shack, but at the Ocean View Hotel up the beach, there’s an all-you-can-eat buffet lunch (until 2pm), which will permit you access to theirs. Try to get to one of the highest craggy-rocked cliffs you can and watch the sun go down, or come up. Coffee Shack, like its namesake (and the Bay on which it rests), is perfectly brewed for a good time; whichever way you like yours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Howzit
Thanks you very much for the great review let us know when you are next in the area; I am sure that we could put you to work writing some copy for Coffee Shack! Your review sums up Coffee Shack very well, particularly the fact that there is space for virtually everyone to get comfortable, have a fun time and make some great new friends and meeting other interesting people.

Thanks for pointing out the problem with worn out linen, we have already been in the process of replacing it. The private traditional rondavals across the river are also in the process of getting a major upgrade and should be really comfortable and stunning when completed.
Safe travels please come and visit us again
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
3.8 mi away
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
6.1 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mdumbi Backpackers
Mdumbi Backpackers
#2 of 3 in Mdumbi
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coffee Bay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Shack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Shack Backpackers

Property: Coffee Shack Backpackers
Address: On the Beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Coffee Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, discover and enjoy a unique taste of rural Africa! Coffee Shack is a backpackers' tropical paradise, located on the beach at the Bomvu River mouth on the Wild Coast of South Africa, where you will experience a way of life far removed from Western culture. We have a reputation of being a fun, good-value hostel with excellent facilities and the most amazing, friendly staff. We offer accommodation in traditional, thatched-roof huts, ranging from private rooms to dorms, as well as camping facilities in the garden next to the beach. Choose between self-catering options or try our delicious meals with a free 'potjie' meal every Sunday night. Weather and ocean permitting, join us for daily sundowners with magnificent views or taste freshly caught oysters and mussels at the bar before dinner. Stay for five nights and get your 5th night free! Our 'Babalaza Bar' is fully licensed and rocks in the evenings with its free pool table and range of drinks and cocktails. Join in the Killer Pool game or enjoy the chilled-out atmosphere around the firepit. Our variety of day trips include cultural walks exploring the local Xhosa culture, a traditional evening of dance and song at the home of a local family where you can try traditional Xhosa food and beers, beach days on the beautiful Coffee Bay, surf lessons, exploring Mapuzi cliffs and caves, hiking to the legendary "Hole in the Wall" or just walking in the local countryside with one of the local guides. We are accredited by Fair Trade Tourism South Africa and are committed to the improvement and upliftment of the greater community through various education and support projects. We are dedicated to making a difference to the local community and are thus 30% owned by the local Tshezi Community, who receive direct financial benefits from being involved in the business. We aim to encourage growth and empowerment opportunities for the local community through the development of meaningful partnerships. Coffee Shack runs a daily shuttle to Mthatha to meet the Baz Bus and other mainline buses at the Shell Ultra City in Mthatha (Umtata). We have free WIFI, safe parking and a laundry service. For self-drive, we are located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, in the former Transkei area. Turn onto the Coffee Bay road approximately 20km south of Mthatha, continue 80km down to the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing