We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great break from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coffee Shack Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I spent 1 night at Coffee Shack on my road trip from Durban to Cape Town and I have to say it was just amazing. Their shuttle conveniently picks you up in Umtata and takes you straight to Coffee Shack's door. They are located right on the beach and there was constantly stuff happening from the moment we got there. You get given a free welcome drink in the bar, and the night we were there, there was a full moon party where we got given free vodka/sprites and mussels!! They also have a fantastic breakfast bar where you can order all sorts of different breakfasts, which is really nice when you're out in the country.

The only thing I would suggest is putting some fans in the rooms as it got incredibly hot at night!
I really hope to be back soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Howzit Mel
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Coffee Shack, please come and visit us again soon. If you need a little space and quiet, next time, remember to ask for the dorms or doubles across the stream. Keep up to date with the Coffee Shack news via our Facebook page.
Cheers
David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Coffee Shack Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 323 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

This place was definitely our highlight of South Africa. And this hostel made it!

The location is amazing! It's set on it's own little bay where a little river meets the beach. The river is tidal and some of the rooms are over the other side of this river. I think these were the doubles though (dorms are closer to the action). There is no bridge and is sometimes tricky to cross at high tide in the dark and after a few dozen black labels at the bar. haha but also fun at the same time.

The staff were awesome, genuine a fun peeps. They made the vibe of the hostel with their drinking games and tours they run. The tours are the highlight of the hostel. They organise for the hostel to have loads to do with the local community which also supports them. Transkei is a very poor place so the tourism really helps them out and in a good way too. We went to a family dinner in the village which was a major highlight of my trip. We got to sit and have dinner in one of the traditional huts in a real village. Awesome culture fix! We also went on the walk to the caves and it was good to explore the local area.

This place is the sort of place where you could easily get trapped for weeks if your not careful. The food is great, beers are cheap and I love the payment system (charge all food and booze to your bed and pay all in one go at check out).

Hammocks down overlooking the beach and one really cool, chilled out awesome vibe. I've stayed in loads of hostels all around the world and this is in my top 5. Stay here! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Howzit Ben
Stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coffee Shack, please make sure that you come and visit us again, when you are next in South Africa. In the mean time stay up to date with the "Shack" news on our new Facebook page.
Cheers
David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Looking for the best hostel in Coffee Bay, South Africa? Coffee Shack has a feel-good vibe that’s contagious.

Not only will you be given a guided tour and a welcome drink (which you MUST drink with your left hand), you’re introduced to staff members and invited out to dinner with other guests.

Whether it’s munching curry at the hostel or heading into town for more traditional African food, we promise it will be an experience to remember.

By day, enjoy the free activities on offer including treks to the Hole in the Wall, cheap surf lessons and sundowners (see picture). And if you like open fires, drum circles and plenty of drinking games then you’ll never want to leave.

Choose from simple dorms (120ZAR); private rooms (from 240ZAR) or camping. Bathrooms are spotless, and there are even hairdryers for the girls!

http://fabuloustravelguide.com/2011/11/coffee-shack-south-africa-hostel-review-2011/

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Fabtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Howzit
Cool to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coffee Shack, visit us again, soon! In the mean time we are trying to connect with all our past and present friends/guests on our new Facebook page.
We would be stoked if you "liked" us and stayed in touch with us
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

i absolutely loved this place, everyone (staff,locals,guests) are all amazing, so friendly! all walks of life come here and this place caters for all! the view are spectacular, every night there is dinner served for 40R with desert sunday nights dinner is free!!
there is music and some nights people are up dancing til the early hours, there is a bar over the road that sometimes fills up when the coffee shack bar closes.
many people chill around playing cards etc. theres a fire to sit around and sometime local girls preform dances in order to raise funds for their school.
great place to meet people, lots to do, few local shops and restaurants,day tours and they help with it all!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Hello Alison
Thanks for the positive feedback, it is always much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you at the Shack again, soon!
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The staff in the backpackers is really friendly and the activities are plenty. Do not miss the killer-pool competition and the parties in the pub. And never forget. Drink with left hand. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayDreamer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It was hell getting there but heaven when we stayed there. Hell because they working on the road and we had 2 stop and go's. Be careful for the taxis and animals on the road. We went prepared for the journey but really you need to go to experience it. dont think you going to ride more that 60km per hour. We went there expecting nothing as it was on the spur of the moment thing and as a couple who was well travelled we found it to be an amazing experience.
The have activities for the youngsters all the time. We went on a walk of 3 hours along the coastal mountain and hilltops till hole in the wall, breath-taking views that no car can experience.
the food was cheap but good quality, breakfasts a wide variety to choose from. we lived in a rondavel as a couple so that was nice that they catered for people who wanted privacy. Would recommend the place to all with open minds and the trust factor of running a bill for the whole stay was great. R45.00 for supper was a steal.

yolande and trevor

Room Tip: book the rondawel for privacy, they have 1 with an ensuite but the communial bathroom is very clean...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolisborch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Imagine arriving at a backpackers... the staff give you a tour around the premises, finally taking you into the bar and announcing the only rule, "you may only drink with your left hand"... welcome to Coffee Shack!

This is my favourite backpackers of all times - set in one of the most stunning locations on this planet! You cannot help but get involved in the party every single night. It's a great place to kick back, and enjoy a few rowdy nights. Everyday the staff organise activities - the hikes are really great, but they're not as easy as the guides make them out to be.

The accommodation is fine - dorms and camping spots are available. The bathrooms are brilliant! The cleanest bathrooms I've ever seen in a backpackers - cleaner even than some hotels. For couples / those who want a quieter spot, Coffee Shack has accommodation across the river.

They owners allow you to run a tab where you charge everything to your dorm bed... it's great but most are shocked by how much they indulged in the festivities when it comes to check out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
0.1 mi away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
6.1 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coffee Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lubanzi Village
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Shack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Shack Backpackers

Address: On the Beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Coffee Bay
Price Range: $24 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, discover and enjoy a unique taste of rural Africa! Coffee Shack is a backpackers' tropical paradise, located on the beach at the Bomvu River mouth on the Wild Coast of South Africa, where you will experience a way of life far removed from Western culture. We have a reputation of being a fun, good-value hostel with excellent facilities and the most amazing, friendly staff. We offer accommodation in traditional, thatched-roof huts, ranging from private rooms to dorms, as well as camping facilities in the garden next to the beach. Choose between self-catering options or try our delicious meals with a free 'potjie' meal every Sunday night. Weather and ocean permitting, join us for daily sundowners with magnificent views or taste freshly caught oysters and mussels at the bar before dinner. Stay for five nights and get your 5th night free! Our 'Babalaza Bar' is fully licensed and rocks in the evenings with its free pool table and range of drinks and cocktails. Join in the Killer Pool game or enjoy the chilled-out atmosphere around the firepit. Our variety of day trips include cultural walks exploring the local Xhosa culture, a traditional evening of dance and song at the home of a local family where you can try traditional Xhosa food and beers, beach days on the beautiful Coffee Bay, surf lessons, exploring Mapuzi cliffs and caves, hiking to the legendary "Hole in the Wall" or just walking in the local countryside with one of the local guides. We are accredited by Fair Trade Tourism South Africa and are committed to the improvement and upliftment of the greater community through various education and support projects. We are dedicated to making a difference to the local community and are thus 30% owned by the local Tshezi Community, who receive direct financial benefits from being involved in the business. We aim to encourage growth and empowerment opportunities for the local community through the development of meaningful partnerships. Coffee Shack runs a daily shuttle to Mthatha to meet the Baz Bus and other mainline buses at the Shell Ultra City in Mthatha (Umtata). We have free WIFI, safe parking and a laundry service. For self-drive, we are located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, in the former Transkei area. Turn onto the Coffee Bay road approximately 20km south of Mthatha, continue 80km down to the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing