We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Monika!”
Review of Lucky Bug B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lucky Bug B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
“Thanks Monika!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

With each trip to Costa Rica we always plan to spend a couple of nights at the Lucky Bug. Monika, Rob and the family are always very hospitable fun and full of local information. Their setting on the lake with surrounding rainforest is sublime and a great way to slow down before enjoying the country. The rooms are very nice and always very clean. The location is good for exploring the countryside and seeing both Arenal volcano and its attractions in La Fortuna and also close to Monteverde Cloudforest.
Thanks Monika, We will see you soon,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review. We are also looking forward to having you here again. It is guests like you that helped us get the 2014 TripAdvisorTraveler's Choice award. We love our area and our property, and we treat every room like it is our own. We liove meeting everyone, and by the time people leave, we want them to feel part of our family. Hurry back soon.

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
131
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Lucky Bug was a delightful place to stay. The decor was very unique and interesting. It was clean and Monika & Rob were super friendly. Not only was the food good, it was a very lovely walk we got to take between our room and the restaurant for breakfast, as the grounds are lovely. The restaurant is attached to their gallery, which carried very unique items, many, if not all, made in Costa Rica … bring money :-) We highly recommend the Lucky Bug Bed & Breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed there in the off season, so were the only guests at that time, and Monika let us see all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate it. And yes, the gallery has nothing but items made in Costa Rica. Nothing from other countries. In fact, some are made right here in Nuevo Arenal. We take pride in our B&B and the grounds because we love living here and it is our home and like making it your home while your are here also. And we are know in the area for our great breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lucky Bug is consistent--always really nice. The restaurant, B&B and gallery are all in a beautiful and peaceful setting. Food is superb; we've had nothing on the menu that we wouldn't highly recommend. Prices all quite reasonable. And the people there are charming. Solid five stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRG903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review. It is due to our guests that we got the 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Hope you return soon.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hi we are a family of 3 with 2 adults and 1 18-month old child. We stayed at the Lucky Bug for 3 nights, and we loved it!
The owners are super friendly and helped us plan our activities, recommended restaurants, and served us a fantastic German lunch one day.
They even gave us a bottle of wine to help celebrate their TripAdvisor award last year.
The grounds are spectacular, with a massive garden full of birds, and a private lake that you can boat on.
If you are a bird lover, this place is fantastic. We also saw piles of fireflies at night which was very cool.
We stayed in the Sun Room and it was great to have the small kitchen to cook some meals in the condo.
The included breakfast was extremely deluxe and was by no means basic.
The condo was very quiet and very clean. The whole condo complex is located behind a secure gate, so there is a safe place to park a car.
Overall we highly recommend the Lucky Bug, next time we're back to Lake Arenal, we are coming back!
Thanks so much!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review. So glad you enjoyed yourselves and we enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. And thanks for helping us celebrate our 2014 Traveler's Choice Award. It is because of people like you that we received the award.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Costa Rica

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Walking past the mosaic and over the little bridge into Lucky Bug immediately a wave of relief washed over me. As we stepped nto the cozy space filled with fragrant lillies, walls bedecked with color and tables kissed with sculptures, " all you need is love" playing overhead, we were overjoyed with a feeling of coming home. So grateful for Rob and Monica inviting us warmly into the amazing creation/manifestation at the Lucky Bug. SOooooo many small details make up the magic of this place ( a Big part of course starting with the love and hospitality which Rob and Monica share) Details like the stone lady bug door stopper which held our doors open, the thematic design of the room, the wrought iron sun bed and buddhas blessing our space, bird feeders filled with fruits to attract a wide variety of colorful and exotic winged friends, the wonderful variety of local art in the shop,excellent/ authentic apple strudel, overall yummy foods and cozy and easy design of the space was such a pleasure to play in. We enjoyed a beautiful evening with living music dancing hearts and sparkling eyes. Thanks you guys soooo for all the love and goodness you share<3 <3 < 3 <3

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeedsoftheHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks so much for your heartfelt review of our B&B. We enjoyed having you stay with us while you were spreading your music and love in the Nuevo Arenal area. It was a pleasure providing you with food and shelter while you were here and we hope that our paths cross again in the future.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Whenever I go to Costa Rica I like to travel around, and every time I go I return to the Lucky Bug In Nuevo Arenal. I make it a stop no matter where I'm going while on my vacation. It is on the main road so easy to find yet feels like you are in a tropical oasis. The grounds are beautiful and the bird watching spectacular. Touches of art everywhere. As I'm writing this I am wondering why I'm here in California and when can I go back! The very friendly hosts Monica and Rob have a nice restaurant and offer some good home cooking. There is an art gallery too at which I always find gifts and art to bring back to friends.Check out their website it gives you a great feel for the place.

Room Tip: two rooms face the lake and have small balconies, I like the Butterfly Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonEricThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review. We enjoyed having you here also. We hope to see you again in the near future and hope the rest of your trip was good.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Over the years I have traveled all over Costa Rica and overall my favorite place to stay is at the Lucky Bug. True Costa Rica relaxation and hospitality in a setting that oozes of Pura Vida. It really is wonderful with a great restaurant on property and a fun gift shop with handmade quality souvenirs that backs to a view of a small lake and jungle trail that leads into the cloud forest. The rooms are very upscale and tastefully decorated. What a great place to visit!!

Room Tip: I would call for reservations. There are only a few rooms and they are sought after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CECPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks so much for the nice review. It was nice seeing you and being able to have you at our B&B. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Costa Rica. Good luck this season in Colorado. Hope the Pura Vida Cafe has a great year.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
6.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
259 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
801 reviews
10.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 8 in Nuevo Arenal
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Bug B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Bug B & B

Property: Lucky Bug B & B
Address: W of Rio dos Bocas 2 km, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Bug B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucky Bug B&B, art gallery and restaurant Caballo Negro is located 2 km from the town of Nuevo Arenal. The b&b has 5 great rooms with decorations with art from Costa Rica.The area around the B&B is all rain forest with a private lake, excellent for fishing. The restaurant, owned by a German chef, has an international menu. The art gallery is well known for fine Costa Rican art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lucky Bug B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Bug B & B Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing