We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lucky Bug B & B
Nearby Hotels
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$107
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$176
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel(Tenorio Volcano National Park)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Castillo del Arenal(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$68
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$54
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lavas Tacotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
252
15
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
15
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart gallerysmall lakebutterfly roomsun suitethe ownercosta ricagift shopfrench toastunique itemscorned beef and cabbageapple strudelbutterfly gardendelightful hoststhe breakfast areagreat place to staybed and breakfasteach morning
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 270 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had breakfast three times here and met Monika and Rob in the process. Not only is the food and location wonderful, but the hosts are incredibly hospitable and generous. We were renting a home in Nuevo Arenal, and after breakfast at the Lucky Bug, Monika and Rob invited us to dinner with them. We ate at a small, out of the way soda that had terrific food. We never would have found it on our own. Also, when we experienced a problem with the home we were renting, we weren't sure what to do. Monika and Rob offered their own home to us, since the guest rooms were occupied. We can't say enough good things about them and the Lucky Bug. Gift shop is also worth a visit. Thank you Rob and Monika, your friendship and generosity will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for the nice review. We enjoyed meeting you and were very sorry for your problems at the rental. We had a great time with you with good conversation when we went to the restaurant. Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts here, they are very popular. People come just for Monika's Corned Beef Hash.
Glad to be of help by having you guys over for the night, and hope you guys had a good trip back. Come and see us again. We just got awarded the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award from Tripadvisor, so we are celebrating this year by giving each person staying multiple nights a bottle of wine at check-in. So come and see us before the year is out.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We didn't stay at the Lucky Bug, but ate there several times. The food is plentiful, delicious and beautifully presented. Monika and Rob are terrific hosts and went out of their way to make sure our experiences in Costa Rica were fabulous. Next time we'll plan to stay in their B&B as well. Thank you for everything!! Bob & Dana

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieinthesky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks so much for your review of the El Caballo Restaurant, which is part of the Lucky Bug Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed talking with you and going out to dinner with us. We enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in the near future and we will make room for you.

Monika and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We decided last minute to stay for a night at Lucky Bug and it was wonderful. They couple who owned it were very hospitable and kind. The property was beautiful and eating breakfast on the porch with the birds in the morning was a true treat. Great gallery and gift shop.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Felicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you guys here, but next time you should stay longer. We would love for you to see more of the area. We hope the three of you had a great vacation.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed one night at the Lucky Bug in between longer term rentals we had in CR. It's a really great place for families or couples, and I would imagine singles. Beautiful, beautiful location, peaceful setting, lovely couple who run the place, comfortable beds, reasonable rates, and a delicious breakfast. My kids only complaint was the slowness of the wifi, but hey, we were on vacation, so who cares? We'll return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marihopewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope you come back and stay longer. And as for the internet, that is a function of the services here in CR. Before last summer, we did not have any internet in the B&B, so now there is 3G service to the rooms. People who stayed here had to come and sit outside of the main house and do their internet. Actually, they were fine with it, but we took one reviewer's suggestion and added the 3G and a router and have been fine since. But yes...you were on vacation!!! :)
4G is coming soon, so we are hoping that will help.
Pura Vida,.

Monika and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lucky Bug for several nights and found it to be one of our two favorite places in Costa Rica to stay. The bed was comfortable, the place was immaculately clean, the natural surroundings beautiful and diverse, and the owner Monika is generous, friendly, and professional. The food was incredible. It was quite affordable. We saw a basilisk lizard in the yard - the only one I have ever seen, though I've looked. I also saw a poison dart frog and other creatures in the forest edge. Lots of other frogs around the property. We toured nearby backroads for some amazing scenery, we toured nearby Arenal National Park and the hanging bridges- really a lot to see nearby. You will thank yourself for staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Wow, it has been a long time!!! Thanks so much for your nice review. Glad you saw our basilisk and he is still here, along with the large iguana. They take turns hanging out in the trees near the restaurant. And we love all of our frogs and glad you got to see the poison dart ones. They are really pretty.
Come back and see us next time you are in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida,

Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews