We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, comfortable, and eclectic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Bug B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lucky Bug B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, and eclectic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lucky Bug B&B was a wonderful place to stay. We stayed there for 1 night as a stopover between La Fortuna and the Liberia airport. Great rooms, wonderful breakfast, and very friendly hosts. I would highly recommend staying!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice review. We enjoyed having you here and please keep us in mind if you are in Costa Rica again. You were here such a short time and there are plenty of things to see here. I guess back to reality for you both. Enjoy N.O and Atlanta.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The Lucky Bug is a beautiful B & B just before Nuevo Arenal on the left of 142, driving from Tilaran to La Fortuna.
It actually consists of three places: A restaurant, an art gallery on 142, and the guestrooms, which are located away from the street. They are just adjacent to the rainforest, and past a private lake with an absolutely stunning, big garden. We stayed in "The Frog" - a very beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, big, inviting room with a good sized, hot and fully functioning shower bathroom. It was fun to walk across to the restaurant every morning (driving possible as well of course) for Monica' s delicious breakfast. We also enjoyed the gallery, full with reasonably priced, handpicked Costa Rican art and gift items.
What stood out for us is how everything is tended to with so much love and care.
We really enjoyed our stay. It was a pleasure to meet Monica, the owner and the creator of that gem of a place, and her partner Rob. They are such kind, fun, and helpful people. Highly recommended!

Atol and Gita

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of my B&B. We enjoyed having you here and hope that you come back to visit us again the next time you are in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We LOVED the Lucky Bug! It is a great location to just relax and enjoy the jungle. Although it is on the main road to Fortuna, the B&B is set away from the road so that all you can hear are the sounds of the jungle. The rooms are impeccably decorated, with great attention to detail and beauty. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The entire grounds are well-maintained and beautiful. Monika, the owner, and her partner, Rob, went above and beyond to create a special experience. They were kind, generous, and informative. Each night stay includes a delicious breakfast, prepared with the same attention to detail. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We enjoyed having you here also. So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for the nice review. Please come and see us again.

Pura Vida,

Monika (and Rob...:))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The moment we arrived and were greeted by Monika we knew we were in a special place. The rooms are far enough away from the road that peaceful sleep is assured. Only the sounds of nature can be heard. The breakfast that is included is wonderful and lunch is delicious as well. Close to the town of Nueva Arenal if you feel the need to leave the inn. The gift shop has a wonderful array of crafts that you don't find everywhere else... and the gallery has some really beautiful pieces.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review. We enjoyed having you here also. When you need to get away from the beach, please come and see us again. See you soon.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Monika, the owner, has created a miniature Eden while preserving a personalized experience that feels as if you "discovered" it. I agree with the glowing reviews on TA of Lucky Bug, but unlike so many other popular destinations, it does not cater to the large tourist buses or advertise with tacky signs all over the Arenal area trying to draw the crowds in. Instead, you will feel as if you are visiting family you haven't seen in awhile and are welcome into their home. However, the property is big enough that you have plenty of room to wander around and take in the tranquil beauty on your own. We stayed in the Sun Suite for 3 nights which was more than enough room for my husband, daughter and I, and we liked that we had our own kitchen. Waking up to the rainforest - howler monkeys, bird calls, occasional rain - was soul satisfaction. The breakfasts are hearty and the coffee is Costa Rican strong. Enjoy happy hour on the veranda while chatting with other guests. This is a place you come to rest and leave behind your agenda. We loved it so much that we booked our return trip already.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It was so nice having you with us, and so glad you had a nice time. You have such a nice family, and I think Spike misses your daughter. I hope you got some really good pics with that great camera. And glad you had such a good experience at the Hanging Bridges. And you got to take a detour around a road that washed out. NEW Costa Rica EXPERIENCE!!!

Thanks for the nice review.

Looking forward to seeing you in December.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at Lucky Bug for several nights a couple of weeks ago. The place is idyllic, with the sound of the rainforest at night, and bird calls in the morning. Particularly enjoyed the included breakfast on the restaurant veranda, overlooking the pond. Lots of good fruit, by the way. Also had lunch and the food was excellent, tasty and tastefully arranged. You should be aware that the restaurant doesn't serve evening meals, but that isn't much of a problem, as the restaurants in Nuevo Arenal are less than 10 minutes away. Very much recommended.

Room Tip: The Butterfly room has a nice deck where you can sit and enjoy the night sounds, when it isn't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank techedprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
It was nice having you here. I do make vegetarian dishes frequently, but not usually vegan, but that provided a nice challenge for me. Enjoyed meeting you and I am glad you enjoyed our recommendation on the activity and guide we suggested. Thanks for the nice review. Please come and stay with us again and I can get some more practice on other vegan offerings...:)

Pura Vida,

Monika Krauskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I toured Costa Rica for a month and this was our last stop before returning to Playa Hermosa. Monika is a wonderful hostess and a great cook - we loved our breakfasts. The location is nicely landscaped and quiet. The restaurant and shop are on the road but the rooms are far enough away that you will not even know that there is a road nearby. It is an easy drive to the small town of Nuevo Arenal. The town has the basics (gas station, Mercado, bank, etc.) including a nice little bar/restaurant. We spent three peaceful days there exploring the area. It was so nice to enjoy sleeping with no air conditioning - just a cool breeze and the sounds of nature. Be aware that there are no TVs in the rooms so bring a book. WIFI was available in the room and in the restaurant.

Room Tip: I think that there are only 5 rooms. We were fortunate that we had our choice since it was low seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rd184042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. I am glad you had a good time with us. Also glad we could hook you up with someone to show you the area and help you make an informed decision. Hope the rest of your stay in Costa Rica is good, and please come back and see us when your back in the country.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
6.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
14.9 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Ceiba Tree Lodge
La Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tilaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Bug B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Bug B & B

Property: Lucky Bug B & B
Address: W of Rio dos Bocas 2 km, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Bug B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucky Bug B&B, art gallery and restaurant Caballo Negro is located 2 km from the town of Nuevo Arenal. The b&b has 5 great rooms with decorations with art from Costa Rica.The area around the B&B is all rain forest with a private lake, excellent for fishing. The restaurant, owned by a German chef, has an international menu. The art gallery is well known for fine Costa Rican art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lucky Bug B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Bug B & B Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing