We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lucky Bug B & B
Nearby Hotels
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$110
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$176
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$375
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel(Tenorio Volcano National Park)
$139
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$59
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lavas Tacotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
251
15
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
15
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart gallerysmall lakebutterfly roomsun suitethe ownercosta ricagift shopfrench toastunique itemscorned beef and cabbageapple strudelbutterfly gardendelightful hoststhe breakfast areagreat place to staybed and breakfasteach morning
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 269 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this lovely B&B and absolutely loved it (even though its not the beach). The owner is everything you wish for in a host. We felt amazingly comfortable, welcome and relaxed so much! Thank you a lot for adding another nice experience to our holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This B&B has it all great food, Art gallery, Beautiful landscaping, Exotic Birds, Fishing in pond with large Rainbow Bass. The staff is great you will have a wonderful
time if you stay here.
Scott B..........................................

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseanna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Lucky Bug is a garden of paradise.If you love birds and nature, this is the place to go when traveling through Costa Rica. We stayed there 9 days and I never wanted to go home.Monica, the hostess is absolutely delightful. Every morning we sat on the porch and ate her lovely breakfasts with fresh fruit and watched the birds come to the feeders. Monica points out all the birds and their names.Hummingbirds are all around you with the two feeders. You are overlooking a beautiful lake where again you see many water birds, lizards, and frogs.You don't have to go on tourist nature walks because you'll see more wildlife on her porch than anywhere else, including monkey's. In the evening we again enjoyed monica's home cooking on her beautiful porch.I've never felt so content as I was on this vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here earlier this year and were blown away. It is probably one of the coolest, most unique places we've ever stayed at, anywhere. It's really perfect. You can fish on their pond, if you're nice ;) and have amazing dinners. The service is perfect. We can't recommend this place enough. We'll be back soon!!

Chris and Janna

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed at THE LUCKY BUG in Nuevo Arenal ,Costa Rica for four nights. The accomodations are very unique and colorful and as a bed and breakfast very inexpensive. We stayed in the Butterfly Room which had hand painted touches of what else butterflys. Monica the owner and chef is very warm and accomodating and makes a terrific breakfast as well as dinner. She is originally from Germany and her schnitzel comes in three varieties all of which are delicious. In addition she can steer you to all the local attractions such as what to do in Arenal and the local attractions around Lake Arenal which in itself is breathtaking. Off season rates are around $80.00 per night including breakfast which is an outstanding value. We have been to Costa Rica three years in a row and will return to this beautiful country and The Lucky Bug in the near future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Butterfly room but all the rooms are charming.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbandkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews