We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and Dinner”
Review of Tinajas Arenal

Tinajas Arenal
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Opened in 2013, Tinajas Arenal is a family project perfectly situated at the edge of the Arenal Lake. Our family settled in Arenal many years before Lake Arenal was created in 1974 and Nuevo Arenal was established. With a green organic garden. Tinajas is a wonderful place to eat while traveling this beautiful area, with glorious sunsets and a dock for boat access, this new lakeside retreat is a hidden gem. It is the perfect place to relax and take nice pictures of the lake and the sunset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch and Dinner”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Down a rocky road but well worth the trip. What a great setting for an escape, I went with a friend and could have stayed hours just for the oasis alone.
The food though is all organic and so fresh and tasty.
Pet birds and dogs running around in the large area run by a Costa Rican friendly family. Just go you will know what I mean!

Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    44
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great view of the lake & very good food.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We ate here for lunch & for dinner. The food was very good and the service was great. You can not find a better view for a meal. Getting here is a little bit of a challenge but well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rfm117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to find, but worth the time!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a great meal at Rancho Tinajas. We almost gave up after following signs on the road for organic food (we were craving a healthy meal), but down the bumpy roads we went finally finding it. What a great spot! An amazing location, gorgeous view of the lake. We at ceviche and avocado/tomato salad out on the grass. The server was a doll, very friendly... the parakeet too! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better and Better”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have fallen in love with this wonderful family-run restaurant. Every time we eat here the food is excellent! Everything is cooked to order, the sauces are exquisite, the food is fresh and beautifully plated. The lake views are stunning. It is a bit off the main road, but worth the drive. We find it hard to pass up the opportunity to eat here every time we are in Arenal - which is at least once a week! Everyone can find something good to eat at Tinajas but the fresh seafood specials are marvelous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, value and a view that cannot be beat”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This has been a great addition to our adopted hometown of Nuevo Arenal. The food is fantastic and a tremendous value as well. Much of their produce is also grown on site and the view is absolutely amazing, especially at sunset. This restaurant falls into the category of one that the locals love and the tourists would love to know about. It is locally owned and should not be missed by anyone looking for a really great meal at a very fair price. Don't be scared by the road--it is only 5-10 minutes from the main highway on a good dirt road and is very well signed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinajas Arenal also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tinajas Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing