We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous catering”
Review of Tinajas Arenal

Tinajas Arenal
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Healthy, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 2013, Tinajas Arenal is a family project perfectly situated at the edge of the Arenal Lake. Our family settled in Arenal many years before Lake Arenal was created in 1974 and Nuevo Arenal was established. With a green organic garden. Tinajas is a wonderful place to eat while traveling this beautiful area, with glorious sunsets and a dock for boat access, this new lakeside retreat is a hidden gem. It is the perfect place to relax and take nice pictures of the lake and the sunset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous catering”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We used their catering service at the villa we were staying at. They did a fabulous job- great variety of food, wonderful presentation and good attention to detail with the service. They really do take care care of everything from set up to dishes! You just need to turn up and enjoy.....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wwennick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    44
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aguacate, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the Short Drive from Town”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This restaurant is a great addition to Nuevo Arenal! Yes, it is a little ways out of town (maybe 2k), but the well placed black signs lead the way without issue. It is a little rough in places, but nothing a standard rental car could not navigate.

The menu is extensive. Typical food, pastas, seafood, salads, vegetarian, sandwiches, etc... AND the prices are very reasonable.

The food is excellent. Always fresh. They have an organic garden onsite. If you order plantains, they cut them down in front of you!

The staff is wonderful as well. Always accommodating and making you feel welcome no matter what time you arrive.

The bonus though is the view. It is located on a hill overlooking the lake and the island. If you can do it, time it to arrive right before sunset. Sitting in one of their hanging chairs watching the day end makes you truly appreciate the beauty of the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were driving around the lake and saw the signs for this place. I was curious because I'm a vegetarian and was having a hard time find good food in La Fortuna. After a kind of crazy drive over rough roads, we came on this amazing place. The view is spectacular, the food was delicious and tasted really fresh. The only complaint I have is minor; I wish there were more options for local or authentic cuisine on the menu. The things we had were great but seeing chicken fingers and pasta on a menu in Central America was sad. I know it's because that's what most tourists want and they are trying to keep a business running, but I think the people adventurous enough to find this place would be into something different. But go, the great food and the amazing view are worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mksweeney1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, great views of the lake”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food was excellent. I think the restaurant is now called Rancho Tinajas Arenal. They have a Parrot and a Parakeet that are residents of the restaurant. The service was great, the prices were very reasonable and this is a place I would highly recommend if you go to the lake. You can call for reservations or just go there. Their phone number is: 506-8926-3365, and the address is 1km Peninsula, Nuevo Arenal. It's open from 9:30am to 9:30pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierras Morenas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a setting!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Take the time to find this restaurant! The directions on the business card are:"1km Peninsula, Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica" The town, itself, is not that big, so don't hesitate to ask directions! It is worth it! The menu has organic, healthy choices, including the beverages. I look forward to returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinajas Arenal also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Tinajas Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing