We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Ranked #6 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of days during our visit to Costa Rica and could not have been happier! We were met by Jeff and Lydia as we drove up (They were hard at work painting one of the exterior walls) and were given a short tour of the property. We were then shown into the room we had originally booked, I believe it was called the "Casa Cabina". It was wonderful and had its front door open to the gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the jungle. It also had a really cool open shower made of rocks and stone. Lydia said there was another room available and we could stay in any one we chose! So we went to check out the other suite called the "Jungle Suite". It is directly above the bar and has and entire wall of screens that overlooks the jungle. Both of the casitas were very cool, but we chose the Jungle Suite. Everyone at Toad Hall is wonderful. The bar/restaurant has great food and drinks and is reasonably priced. We talked to Lydia about where to go and what to do and she had great advice every time. She recommended Gingerbread for dinner and it was one of the better meals I have ever had, although it was VERY expensive ($110 for a shared appetizer, salad, entrée, and dessert) but we both thought it was well worth it. We also did the Sky Adventures hike and zipline tour which was amazing. It really is a must do. Places all seem to close around 6pm so be prepared if you like to eat after that (like I do). Luckily we had a fridge, stove, and dishes (no microwave) to make late night snacks a possibility. Toad hall itself is in between La Fortuna and Nuevo Arenal and is about a 20-25 minute drive to La Fortuna and about 15 minutes to Nuevo Arenal. Toad Hall has a lot of things you might need, but the closest grocery store is in Nuevo Arenal as well as the closest ATM. You could get away with staying only at Toad Hall without a car and maybe taking the bus to town every few days, but I would highly recommend having a car when staying here. We will definitely be back to this place!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good, I think there are only the Casa Cabina and the Jungle Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elnino32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    31
    12
    6
    15
See reviews for
44
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

After a "day trip" to the Arenal Volcano we stopped in to grab a beer after reading several dozen signs on Rt. 142. We ending up leaving 3 days later. We we're overcome by the amazing attitude of the staff and owners Jeff and Lydia. They immediately treated us like family and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We stayed in the lago suite whose porch sits above the rest of the estate with the best view there. In the morning we watched the Toucans and dozens of other birds carry out their daily ritual. We rented a canoe with a supplied cooler of cold beer and fresh pineapple and enjoyed the amazing views from lake Arenal. This will most certainly not be my last time at this establishment.

Clifford, Brooklyn, NY, USA

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I could write a book about our stay here, but Jeff and Lydia made this stay absolutely incredible. The hospitality is the best I've experienced and the views were second to none. Waking up in the morning to expansive views of the rainforest and hearing so many different types of tropical birds...it was epic in every way!!!

Jeff made us feel like kings preparing the most amazing dinner on several nights and his anticipation of our needs and over the top "wow factor" service was something that I have rarely experienced in years of travel as well as working in the industry for a dozen years.

I rarely return somewhere twice because I still have 918 places to see before I die, but this is on the short list of return destinations.

Thanks for making our trip unforgettable.

Josh, Jocelyn, Alex and Sarah

Room Tip: The views from the balcony were amazing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on the way to go hiking. The food was pretty awesome. We had a chicken casado and a fish casado, and it was some of the better food we had on our trip. The service was very good and everyone was very friendly. The signs leading up to Toad Hall are silly, but the place is worth checking out. You can get a great view of Lake Arenal while eating lunch which was pretty cool. They also had some rescued birds there. I can't say much about the B&B there, as we didn't stay over, but if you need a solid meal along the way, I'd recommend stopping in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Driving in beautiful Lake Arenal we saw many amusing signs for Toad Hall so decided to stop in for a beer and some lunch to check it out. Started out with 2 of the best fruit smoothies we've ever had then moved on to ice cold cervesas and quesadillas. The place was so charming and the staff so friendly we decided to stay the night. We stayed in the Casa Cabina room, complete with fridge, coffee maker and delicious Costa Rican coffee, wine glasses, satellite TV, huge grotto style shower. One step out the door put us in front of the infinity pool, over looking beautiful Lake Arenal and the mountains and volcano. There is great attention to detail at Toad Hall, chaise lounges with beach towels, a basket of various sunscreens, lots of shade, comfy couches and lending library, great restaurant and cocktails and a fabulous breakfast. When we were heading out the next day the owner Geoff noticed a broken mudflap on our SUV and fixed it free of charge. We found out later that this broken flap would of cost us $300. Now that's service!! Our next trip (in August) will include a trip to Toad Hall.
Warm Regards, Janine & LIndsay from Cambridge ON Canada

Room Tip: The rooms were all huge, air conditioned and super clean. And great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banine235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

followed the signs, read them as we drove around the lake, they definately had our interest.
it was getting time to find a room so we stopped. justin showed us the rooms, beautiful. thought, no way can we afford this place. how much? I asked. 75 bucks incredible! the owner jeff, sd quick get to the water with cold beers to watch the sunset!
pool to ourselves, rock showerin corner of our room! this place was great!
sad to say we left to gon pay double at los lagos. not even comparible.

hope to get back here! great fish tacos too!

shelley

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley ve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Quesada, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

After passing this place by on at least 7 trips and ignoring the Burma Shave signs for 3 years we finally stopped because someone in the car had an urgent need. OK so the place has a prime location overlooking the lake with a great view. Beyond that it was just as much a joke as the signs would lead you to believe. Store is small, poorly stocked and over priced. The name and signs contour up a vision of a large airy rustic setting. It is small open and has a few outdoor tables with views. A bar facing away from the lake and a snack bar in front more suited to an old drugstore than a rustic resort. Can't speak for the B&B since we didn't stay, but based on what I saw I wouldn't consider it. There are better places in the area for the money. Bottom line is don't let the hundreds of road signs mislead you. Stop in to wiz and decide for yourself.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Heroes
Hotel Los Heroes
#5 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Property: Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Address: La Union | 9 km SW from Nuevo Arenal on Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the jungle, overlooking the magnificent Lake Arenal, Toad Hall is a must while traveling in Costa Rica! The Jewel of Arenal! Looking for relaxing time, a thrilling adventure or both? We've got it all at the best boutique hotel of La Fortuna! Reserve Online Today! Toadhall Arenal Hotel is one of finest boutique hotels in Costa Rica and the best on Lake Arenal. Each villa is custom designed with a charming fusion of rustic charm, artistic flair, natural beauty and all of the comforts to make you feel right at home. Take a peak at each of our villas, each comes with it's own unique enchanting features to see which one is ideal for you. Interested in reserving more than one villa or planning a private party? Contact our Events coordinator for your next picture perfect occasion! Toad Hall Arenal Hotel in La Fortuna Costa Rica is a magical place. Once you're here, you'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Toad Hall Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing