We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Ranked #6 of 13 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We didn't stay here, but we stopped to eat. EXCELLENT food and service. Small gift shop and beautiful scenery. They had a couple parrots, a toucan and another large bird- nice view if you sit outside. I wish we had more time to spend here, but a nice heavy rain storm came through, so it was very relaxing to sit there and listen to the rain and spend more time. I would definitely come back to shop and eat again. There were plenty of signs to get here, so you shouldn't get lost :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DD1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

We are currently still in Costa Rica; ( Riu Guancaste), however had great fortune in renting a car and exploring parts of Costa Rica solo... Without a guide! We came across Toad Hall on our travels to Areneal Vocano and Hot Springs. The signage describes Toad Hall Almost Perfectly.... It was even more amazing than what we anticipated. Jeff & Lydia were extremely wonderful, from their food, drinks, atmosphere and hospitality all were exceptional! If you want to experience HEAVEN on EARTH, Toad Hall is a MUST! Christine & Kenny Rivers, Timmins Ontario CANADA

Stayed: April 2014
Thank ChristineKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

So we ventured out of La Fortuna one morning on a drive to Lake Arenal with no game plan in mind except to see some of the country. Once we passed the Arenal Lake dam the signs began and to say the least we were intrigued. They had us at the best Bloody Mary so thought we're stopping just to see what this place is about. As we round the corner here is this 6' something Toad by the side of the road which would be a very good indicator that you've arrived. Walking in we still don't know what we're in for as we enter between the two building with one being a gift shop and the other the restaurant kitchen. Wow to say the least! I don't think there are words to explain where we sat and enjoyed our Bloody Mary's. Looking out over one of the last jungle canopy's on the lake was spectacular. We then met Lydia who you can't help but take a liking too. Her and husband Jeff had a wonderful vision that I hope many get to see. The 7 rooms for lodging are truly amazing with the comforts for us North American folk that will make you feel comfortable and relaxed. We truly wish we had more time than the afternoon we got to spend with them. Sitting there with the lake in the distance and watching all the birds fly by is just amazing and sooo relaxing. We spoke to Jeff about taking a canoe out on the lake as we thought that would be a great way to see it. He told us we'd be on the lake in 3 minutes if we wanted but if we wanted a cooler it might take 5. What the heck we said and were in for both. 5 minutes later he comes walking from the kitchen with a camo cooler and says "you gotta see what the staff just did for you". We unzip this and they have prepared sliced pineapple, kiwi, grapes and chocolate drizzled strawberries all to go with the bottle of chilled white wine and a couple of Imperials all sitting on ice and framed with flowers. This blew our mind and made for such a great paddle. Didn't get far, but found a nice little quiet bay to sit and enjoy the views.
Can't wait to visit again.
Make this place a must see when in the Lake Arenal area for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel as guests, but we did stop there to eat for lunch one day. They have a cute shop and a very nice staff. Everyone is very friendly. The reason we stopped there was because they have a MILLION signs advertising their place, so we finally said "apparently we need to stop here on our way to our next hotel..." So we did. The owner spoke to us for a few minutes while we were waiting for our lunch and told us all about toad hall. They also have a small bird sanctuary where they have a few parrots and a baby toucan! It was so fun to see the birds up close, especially the toucan. He was super curious and friendly.

The lunch we had was ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR! I got Kebabs and my husband got fish tacos. We added some chips and guacamole to our order and I have to say, we have NEVER had better guacamole EVER! It was to die for! I would go back just to have lunch there again!

All the advertisement will definitely peak your interest!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ldowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Your anticipation will be at unnerving by the time you actually arrive at Toad Hall as their marketing campaign around Lake Arenal is brilliant. Everything about Toad Hall screams funky fun for families and couples alike. We stayed in the Jungle Room and were amazing with views overlooking the jungle and lake. Watching sunrise and listening to the sounds of the jungle wake up every morning is an all-time travel highlight for me. Anything you need from food, lodging, beverages and local artwork can be found at Toad Hall. It is a can't miss on the Lake if you're passing through but I highly recommend staying a couple nights to experience everything it offers.

Room Tip: Jungle Room has amazing views
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinbarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The endless signs to Toad Hall got our interest as we drove down the road and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We stopped for a very good lunch and took in the views south over the lake. We decided to book a night on our return tip and were fortunate enough to share the place with 4 other couples. We all got along great and the American expat owners organized us huge platter of amazing food (fish tacos, kabobs) for us all for dinner.
Toad hall is a destination in itself 30 min drive from La Fortuna and set on a hill side with beautiful views from the rooms, infinity pool and lounging area
A bit of a splurge for $90 inc taxes, but well worth it. Costa Rica is no longer a cheap destination and you definitely get what you pay for.
.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have kitchens, but we stayed beside the pool in the wedding suite with a super comfy...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I went to Toad hall for lunch, after a great Arena boat tour, I enjoyed the signage coming into La Union, it definitely heightened our anticipation.. I had read about Toad hall online and in International living magazine. The fish tacos were excellent, the chicken kabobs less so. The chicken was dry and the marinade was not appealing. We had two lunches and three mixed drinks for a total of $47, not a bargain, but the view was amazing. There is much to recommend about Toad Hall, I guess I expected more...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank curk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
260 reviews
10.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,315 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
10.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Address: La Union | 9 km SW from Nuevo Arenal on Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range: $75 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the jungle, overlooking the magnificent Lake Arenal, Toad Hall is a must while traveling in Costa Rica! The Jewel of Arenal! Looking for relaxing time, a thrilling adventure or both? We've got it all at the best boutique hotel of La Fortuna! Reserve Online Today! Toadhall Arenal Hotel is one of finest boutique hotels in Costa Rica and the best on Lake Arenal. Each villa is custom designed with a charming fusion of rustic charm, artistic flair, natural beauty and all of the comforts to make you feel right at home. Take a peak at each of our villas, each comes with it's own unique enchanting features to see which one is ideal for you. Interested in reserving more than one villa or planning a private party? Contact our Events coordinator for your next picture perfect occasion! Toad Hall Arenal Hotel in La Fortuna Costa Rica is a magical place. Once you're here, you'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Toad Hall Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing