We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Ranked #6 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip ever”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed at toad hall and it was awesome it was very nice , Jeff and Lydia were so nice and such a beautiful view too they also had 2 rare parrots that talk to you and a toucan. One evening everyone was done working and the resteraunt was closed and we asked for suggestions were to eat and Jeff took us to the kitchen and cooked us supper he even letted me help him cook, we had so much fun. BEST TRIP EVER!!!!!!!!! From Ed, Nic and Brooklyn

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    32
    12
    6
    16
See reviews for
46
93
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My family stayed at Toad Hall in February of 2014. Being a family of 5, we rented the Villa Arriba which fit our family comfortably. The drive from Liberia airport took us about 2 and a half hours. The last hour of the road is long and winding. Thank goodness for all the Toad Hall signs because they let us know we were on the correct road. It also prevented my kids from getting carsick because they focused on finding the next sign instead of worrying about the endless number of curves in the road. The signs were a blessing. The pool was good for a quick dip and the food was delicious. I never liked guacamole before but I do now! It was really good. We cooked a few of our own meals in Villa Arriba. The kitchen was small but was fine as long as we kept the meal very simple. The view at Toad Hall was amazing and the boys enjoyed visiting the rescued birds several times each day. The drive to most of our excursions were about 45 minutes away. We were always happy to return each day to the friendliness and comfort of Toad Hall. Lydia and Jeff were always kind and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Jeff was especially kind to my boys and offered them simple jobs to do around the place to earn some ice cream and gifts from the gift shop. They loved every minute of their "jobs". What a great place with wonderful owners. We would go back again in a heart beat. Wish I was there now

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This review gets an average rating because the food wasn't very good, But, the view was spectacular. I would recommend a stop for a cold drink and just to relax. Eat somewhere else.

There is also a small shop on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzouMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are clean, spacious and creatively decorated. We stayed in the private jungle suite and would definitely go back again. There's nothing like enjoying a fresh cup of coffee, which is provided, and taking in the sounds and the amazing view of Lake Arenal in our screened in living room. Talk about bringing the outdoors in! There's also a restaurant affiliated with the hotel so ordering from there and having 'room service' , is the best! Definitely one of our highlights of our trip to Costa Rica! There are oodles of signs raving about how great this place is along the way, but none at the forks in the road telling you which direction to go to get there. Less "We're Sooooooo Great!" and more "Go this way =>" signs would make this already fantastic place even better.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank floresysol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My girlfriend and I were driving from fortuna back west when I struck the most massive pothole ever about 800m before toad hall. I ended up popping two tires and limping into toad hall. After arriving the owner ran out to help us. He told me to put my feet up and grab a beer, wouldn't even let me change my own tire. He took my mangled tire to town and got it checked out. He spent two hours getting me up and out. Unfortunately the tire was so mangled we got stranded there for approximately 7 hours. After learning it will be another 4 hours to get two spares to our location from the rent a car company, they offered us a room to use to go watch football and just relax and take a load off. We were leaving the next day and a little stressed out. The owner let us use her personal cell phone to contact the car company, kept checking in on us. This is the true spirit of good hearted individuals. They care and couldn't be more helpful. I thank both of them again, and wish them the best in everything they do. Also food was great. The fist tacos and nachos were excellent, and I do love the guacamole. The room we did get to relax in was awesome, and had the most spectacular view. I would love to come back to costa rica and stay here again. Plus I need to fill that stupid pothole!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregandkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Driving toward Fortuna from Liberia, we began seeing an endless array of signs for Toad Hall. Best staff, best guacamole, bets fish tacos, best bathrooms, and on and on. Being a sucker for promotion, we decided we had to stop. The place is in an interesting location and has good views. We found the staff at the restaurant to be disinterested at best. However, I must say the chicken nachos were great and the guacamole was excellent. And they did have clean bathrooms.

Overall, as good a place as any to stop for a rest on this twisty, tiring drive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highflier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Needed a break from "that drive" from monteverde to la fortuna. A glass of chardonnay & the ceviche was so nice @ the bar. Great ceviche, beautiful view, nice bartender girl. Bought a t shirt in the store. $30.00 US but a cool shirt.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank butterscotch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
10.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
259 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
10.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Property: Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Address: La Union | 9 km SW from Nuevo Arenal on Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the jungle, overlooking the magnificent Lake Arenal, Toad Hall is a must while traveling in Costa Rica! The Jewel of Arenal! Looking for relaxing time, a thrilling adventure or both? We've got it all at the best boutique hotel of La Fortuna! Reserve Online Today! Toadhall Arenal Hotel is one of finest boutique hotels in Costa Rica and the best on Lake Arenal. Each villa is custom designed with a charming fusion of rustic charm, artistic flair, natural beauty and all of the comforts to make you feel right at home. Take a peak at each of our villas, each comes with it's own unique enchanting features to see which one is ideal for you. Interested in reserving more than one villa or planning a private party? Contact our Events coordinator for your next picture perfect occasion! Toad Hall Arenal Hotel in La Fortuna Costa Rica is a magical place. Once you're here, you'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Toad Hall Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing