We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT CAN'T YOU SAY GOOD ABOUT TOAD HALL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Ranked #6 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WHAT CAN'T YOU SAY GOOD ABOUT TOAD HALL”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

From our arrival to our "sad" goodbye we were in love with Toad Hall. We stayed for 5 nights in the "Hacienda" and 3 nights in the "Jungle Suite".........we were only supposed to be there for 4 nights total! Jeff and Lidia are the salt of the earth (as well as their friendly staff). We met people from all over the world and with only a few rooms (sanctuaries), you get to know all the area before you start driving.........Oh, speaking of driving, take a shuttle from SJO and rent a car at Alamo in La Fortuna (we left a laptop on a shuttle and they transferred it to Alamo for us). I called on Friday and asked if we could keep the Jeep until Tuesday and without hesitation "No problem!" DON'T ASK JEFF TO TRANSLATE FOR YOU.......GO WITH LIDIA! Honor system with drinks cooler, just let the kitchen know and they keep track if someone is not at the bar. I am British, was a flight attendant and have vacationed many tropical locations but if you have never been to Toad Hall you have missed out! The prices on local artistic items can not be beat for prices (no pressure sales) and OMG they have an ice cream pop freezer too! You can't miss the signs from either direction.....we have pics :) The ducks in the pool area are an experience not to miss, we got worried when they flew to the lake for the day. I am posting pictures of them....they don't have names so I nicknamed them "Whacky & Quaky". Oh, I left my "NACHOS RULE" shorts for Jeff and do IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII have a picture to post :P We went to see all areas to consider and decide which area to purchase and never left where it felt home. Miss you guys! We'll be back, still keeping in touch with the guests and wish you the best with your future endeavors if we don't see ya soon! Julie & Don Diego Montemayor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    32
    12
    6
    16
See reviews for
46
92
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife, daughter and I had an amazingly relaxing vacation at Toad Hall! The owners were truly attuned to our needs and wants during the entire length of our stay. the property is beautiful and it's clear that a lot of time and effort was put into the renovation. We took the opportunity to take a horseback ride up to the ridge overlooking Lake Arenal at sunset and were treated to some breathtaking views as well. Breakfast was great and our waitress immediately became a favorite for a number of meals for her great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were on our way to Tabacon Hot Springs on the 17th of May and we kept seeing these signs along the way for Toad Hall. And I thought this was very interesting! So on our way back to Playa Flamingo on the 19th we just had to stop to see what was this Toad Hall was all about!!! What a nice surprise. It is a cool place. So unexpecting. We stayed to have a beer, then two, then three. Then a snack. Talking to Jeff and Lydia for the longest time and we felt as if we knew them forever. It was Jeff's birthday too. He's very funny and both he and Lydia are so talented!!! So nice :O) We met a lovely couple from Arizona, who just got engaged. Romantic!!! and we also met another lovely couple from TO, Canada. Kimberly and Jay. Such a sweet couple too. We ended up staying the night and chatting all night with the gang. There were two other ladies there too from New Jersey. So quite the interesting, spontaneous evening! Relaxing, charming, fun, great food !!!!!!! I just loved it!! Can't say enough!! We will definitely be back on our next trip to Costa Rica!!! Take care Jeff and Lydia, see you next time. And thank you so much for your warm hospitality!!!! PURA VIDA!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am currently sitting on the screened in porch of the Jungle Suite after spending a week at Toad Hall. What a fantastic experience! Jeff and Lydia were very gracious and kind hosts. All of the staff was very sweet and helpful. Everybody here works really hard not just to make the guests feel comfortable but to improve the facilities as well.

The fish tacos are every bit as good as the hype. I had them twice while we were here.

Perfect location for someone looking for a less touristy feel while still being able to get to all of the touristy stuff (zip lining, waterfalls, rafting etc. etc. etc).

Extremely safe! First night here, my friend forgot her purse and camera in the common area and Lydia returned them first thing the next morning. The complex is secured when it gets dark and they have a full time security guard that opens the gate if you return after dark.

Really enjoyed the trip. Will be recommending it to anyone traveling to Costa Rica. Already missing it.

Room Tip: Jungle suite is awesome! Day beds on the screened in porch make for a great two bedroom option. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We met the owners and they are really good people. The view and the setting alone are worth the stop. Bar, restaurant, gift shop and hotel all in one without the "touristy feel". Could only give 4 stars because our itineryary didn't allow us to spend the night or eat. We did get a tour of the rooms and I would recommend stying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I got married at Toad Hall this past Tuesday night. We had stayed there before and had a great time and really enjoyed the place. Lydia and Jeff put on a great wedding and the sit down dinner was absolutely fantastic. We love the off beat character of the place and the rooms are all unique and very comfortable. If you're the Hilton type- stay at the Hilton. This place is one of those places you return to again and again.
PS: The fish tacos really ARE the best on the planet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laperla004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Service was very nice. Peaceful people that love the tourism. They kept the entire place very neat and beautiful. gift shop has a lot of native items with good literature on what's around. And like I said INCREDIBLE FISH TACOS & CEVICHE!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
256 reviews
10.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,826 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,368 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,440 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Property: Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Address: La Union | 9 km SW from Nuevo Arenal on Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the jungle, overlooking the magnificent Lake Arenal, Toad Hall is a must while traveling in Costa Rica! The Jewel of Arenal! Looking for relaxing time, a thrilling adventure or both? We've got it all at the best boutique hotel of La Fortuna! Reserve Online Today! Toadhall Arenal Hotel is one of finest boutique hotels in Costa Rica and the best on Lake Arenal. Each villa is custom designed with a charming fusion of rustic charm, artistic flair, natural beauty and all of the comforts to make you feel right at home. Take a peak at each of our villas, each comes with it's own unique enchanting features to see which one is ideal for you. Interested in reserving more than one villa or planning a private party? Contact our Events coordinator for your next picture perfect occasion! Toad Hall Arenal Hotel in La Fortuna Costa Rica is a magical place. Once you're here, you'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Toad Hall Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing