We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toad Hall is worth a stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Ranked #6 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Toad Hall is worth a stop”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

On our drive from LaFortuna to Santa Elena, along the north shore of Lake Arenal, we saw many small signs for Toad Hall. When we got there, we stopped and were glad we did. What a pleasant place to take a break, have a drink, eat, shop or just take in the view. Jeff comped us some nachos and we decided to have some lunch. Toad Hall is like an oasis as there are very few places to stop along this road. Very clean restrooms too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    32
    12
    6
    16
See reviews for
46
92
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had lunch here on a whim on the way to Tamarindo. They have an absolutely amazing view of the lake and surrounding hills. The food was excellent and the margarita was the best I've ever had... I live in Austin, TX, we have good margaritas. We didn't have cash and their credit card machine wasn't working so the lady who owns the place trusted us to pay her by Paypal when we got back to the states. She even showed us a shortcut to Tamarindo that wasn't on the map. I can't recommend this place enough, it's now one of my all time favorites!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXtourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is combination of restaurant, bar, gift shop, and hotel. We had lunch here and enjoyed the view as well as the sizable gift shop with local art. There is a bit of hype around this place, and the signs along the highway for miles before it can't be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
435 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

You will need a car, but if you have one, make an effort to get here, if just to enjoy the food, fantastic Bloody Mary's and especially the funny, casual, and personal attention by the husband and wife owner. You can even take a little hike down to the river on their property. Perhaps 25 minutes from Arenal? One of the highlights of our trip

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stopped at toad hall on our way back from arenal. We ate at their restaurant and our breakfast was fabulous! The service was amazing and the people there were extremely nice! They had a great view of the jungles and lake arenal. Also a super nice pool. Jeff gave us information about the roads and easier ways to travel. It was overall incredible and is a must stop if you are close by.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Westsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We found Toad Hall on the Internet sight unseen and it completely blew away our expectations. After a long drive from the Nicoya peninsula and Rincon de la Vieja, we were just ready for a warm bed, but the sight on my kids' faces when they saw the view was worth the wait. The jungle view, beautiful terrace and pool, aviary and outdoor art gallery is stunning!

Lydia and Jeff, the gracious and talented hosts, will immediately make you feel at home.

it is not often that you stumble across a boutique hotel in the middle of a jungle. Each room here, carefully designed by the owners, has its own distinct flair. We are traveling with three boys ages 8-15, and we have the perfect setup-the Villa Arriba- 2 bedrooms with a private patio and kitchenette. the kids room can sleep up to 4. Our room is somewhat of a Western theme, with really unique artwork, and wood and metal work that Jeff designs and builds. I had to take pictures of the bed, it was so unique. And after a week on the beach with sand in the sheets it was so nice to sleep in a bed with high thread counts and the perfect temperature.

We are so happy we took the path less travelled and decided not to stay in La Fortuna. This is a little bit farther from the volcano, but it actually makes you less inclined to hyper recreate and more inclined to recline. Bring binoculars so you can sit by the pool and check out the toucans and hummingbirds. We drove 45 minutes to the Cavernas de Venado and it was well worth the trip. You will need an SUV to take the shortcut. The tour is about an hour and a half and is not for claustrophobics, or the faint of heart. its a must see from Toad Hall .

enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying with Jeff & Lydia and how comfortable they made us feel in there beautiful place. Jeff himself was a wonderful host & would take time out of his busy schedule to make sure that we always had everything we needed & that we were always having a good time. In fact, he made a custom menu for dinner hust for us. We surely didn’t expect him to have time for much more than a quick wave hello as we passed, as we could see that he had a lot going on – yet he offered so much more than that, which really shows the type of persons that Jeff & Lydia Are. Toad Hall itself quickly became home for the weeks we were there, & we fell completely in love with this little piece of paradise . My favorite parts of the day were beginning & ending with the peaceful half mile walk to & from the the lake - the charming stones tucked inside beautiful tree-lined trails. We really can’t wait to come back & can’t imagine staying anywhere else. My wife & I both look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: If you want a all natural wake up call ask for jungle room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiredup777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Heroes
Hotel Los Heroes
#5 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Property: Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Address: La Union | 9 km SW from Nuevo Arenal on Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the jungle, overlooking the magnificent Lake Arenal, Toad Hall is a must while traveling in Costa Rica! The Jewel of Arenal! Looking for relaxing time, a thrilling adventure or both? We've got it all at the best boutique hotel of La Fortuna! Reserve Online Today! Toadhall Arenal Hotel is one of finest boutique hotels in Costa Rica and the best on Lake Arenal. Each villa is custom designed with a charming fusion of rustic charm, artistic flair, natural beauty and all of the comforts to make you feel right at home. Take a peak at each of our villas, each comes with it's own unique enchanting features to see which one is ideal for you. Interested in reserving more than one villa or planning a private party? Contact our Events coordinator for your next picture perfect occasion! Toad Hall Arenal Hotel in La Fortuna Costa Rica is a magical place. Once you're here, you'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Toad Hall Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing