We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Travel Company in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Trade Winds

Pacific Trade Winds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pacific Trade Winds is your one stop source for private tours and adventure travel in Costa Rica. Take a private tour to Arenal Volcano and then unwind in tropical hot springs. Hike through the jungle to a gorgeous celeste blue waterfall surrounded by emerald green rainforests. Our all-inclusive tours will allow you to unwind on beautiful tropical beaches after touring, exploring and adventuring the rainforest and volcanoes. We'll take you to Costa Rica's top destinations such as Arenal Volcano, Manuel Antonio, Monteverde, Puerto Viejo, Tamarindo, Samara or the Osa Peninsula. Certifications include ICT, Canatur, BBB and more.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Travel Company in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently booked a trip to Costa Rica through Pacific Tradewinds. This was my first time booking through them. I travel a lot and typically don't use travel agencies or tour companies. I was doing some research on Costa Rica and came across their site. I really liked that they were a local travel agency, and they had a wealth of information on their site about Costa Rica. They have pre-planned trips, or you can customize your trip. We did a custom vacation. We stayed 2 nights at Tabacon Resorts in Arenal, and 3 nights at The Falls in Manuel Antonio. Both hotels were excellent and all of the activities they planned for us were excellent as well. We had such a great time. They made our trip so easy and seamless, and they were very helpful and efficient in the planning process. If you're thinking about traveling to Costa Rica, I would highly recommend Pacific Tradewinds to help plan your trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great people and awesome views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pacific Trade Winds was great from the start. Answered all my questions (via email) in a very timely manner. We were traveling with a 6 year old so I wanted to make sure he'd be allowed to zipline.
They picked us up on time and took us to their base camp where we met our guides. From there we were off to the park.
They suited us all up and instructed us on what we'd be seeing and doing.
We were told that our son would be paired with a guide because he's just a little guide...he'd never make it across on the long lines.
Yves was our main guide and he was great. As was his partner in crime and unfortunately I cannot recall his name.
There were a total of 7 us of that were paired together.
We had a great time. The pointed out bats, a millipede, a poisonous frog and tree cutter ants. Unfortunately we didn't see any monkeys or sloths!!
The views through the trees were amazing.

I brought my camera but in all honesty the only pictures I have are standing on the platform. You don't have a free hand while your soaring through the air!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Wonderful Suggestions and Great Communication”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pacific Trade Winds did a fabulous job scheduling two hotels and transportation for 18 people with various schedules on our 11 day adventure. We were very pleased with their suggested hotels and tours. They were always available to answer our questions both before and during our vacation. We highly recommend them to anyone visiting Costa Rica! We plan on visiting Costa Rica again soon and will definitely utilize their expertise again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pacific Trade Winds and our Costa Rica vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pacific Trade Winds exceeded our expectations and we had a fantastic trip!! Our 18 person group presented some challenges with different departure/arrival times and different tour requests but they handled it all. We tried to plan it ourselves and determined an approximate cost per person. Then we asked Pacific Trade Winds what they could do. They came in under our budget, and planned a superb trip. We enjoyed the Zip Line, Hot Springs, LaFortuna Waterfall, Canyoneering, and Cerro Chato Hike. The various transports were all on time and the representatives were full of information. They were a few hours each, except the hike which was about 6 hours. It rained occasionally, but we expected it. We will definitely use them on our next trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thank You Pacific Trade Winds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Since this was our first trip to Costa Rica for a wedding, we decided to extend our stay and contacted Pacific Trade Winds to plan our trip. We told them what we wanted to do, and they took care of the rest! It was the best experience ever! We stayed in Treehouses, did ziplining and horseback riding. All the tours were well organized and and the guides friendly and very knowledgeable. We can't say enough about PCT. The vacation was planned perfectly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Trade Winds also viewed

Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pacific Trade Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing