We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone”
Review of Maverick's - CLOSED

Maverick's
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neuveo Arenal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gone”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wow was really surprised to see them close,hoping Tom opens another place, excellent food nature right at your finger tips, monkeys in trees twenty feet from your table. Please Tom,find another spot, and they will come, fantastic place

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tebowlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No more Maverick's :(”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Sadly for travelers and for us in the area, Maverick's Restaurant has closed its doors. The best burgers in Costa Rica are no more. Tom, we will miss our impromptu parties and that great barbecue from the open flame grill. Travelers can check out Moya's in Nuevo Arenal - wonderful food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaLST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rain and Great Gringo Food”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My friend and I ate here 5/22/12. As soon as we set down the skies open and we moved inside. It's tood bad as the patio dining area offers a wide vista. Each of us had sandwiches and onion rings which we could barely finish-huge portions. Very friendly service. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank feldafing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good Gringo Food!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Maverick's is the place to go when you crave some good "gringo food!" the cheeseburgers, french-fries and onion-rings are the best around, Try his BBQ ribs and his salads. Tom has his big grill right out front so you can see the best of meats he uses being cooked right in front of you. The outdoor dining is a pleasant experience. Tom uses the best ingredients in all of his dishes including homemade dressings and BBQ sauce. Worth stopping into for a good meal and a place the locals gather on a regular bases.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The man can cook”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a solid restaurant frequented by locals and travelers alike. For lunch, the burgers really are the best in the country and the Tri Tip Steak dinner is heaven (so says my husband). Check out the enormous onion rings or try the homemade guacamole (I love it and I don't even like guacamole). Ribs and BBQ chicken? To die for. But don't die - save room for dessert.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaLST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maverick's also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing