We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC PIECE OF PARADISE”
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Villa Encantada ~~ A vacation DESTINATION~`~ one you won't forget Villa Encantada ~~ Tri Level Architectural Masterpiece for your enjoyment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Villa Encantada ~~ A vacation DESTINATION~`~ one you won't forget
Villa Encantada ~~ Tri Level Architectural Masterpiece for your enjoyment
Side View ~~Huge Terrace w/ Lake Views. Perfect for your family reunion or wedding celebration
Your Hosts at Villa Encantada ~~ Family Photo of Glenn, Patricia and Gloriana
Kayaking in your Backyard.. too much fun!
Kayaks for up to 10 persons (included~~ no extra charge). Kayak on the Ponds or 5 min walk to lake
Brand New (June 2013) 100 ft Waterslide at Twilight
5 yr old enjoying the Waterslide. Fun for all ages. Little people don't go too fast. It's safe!
Priceless Moments.. what a Blast!
Spring Fed Swimming Pool (no chemicals)
Pool at Twilight ~~ Chemical Free Crystal Clear Spring Water ~~ A Dream Come True!
The Owner and your Host, Glenn.. enjoying the fruits of his labor. This is where YOU need to be!
Waterslide.. Awesome adventure! Want to go fast..lay down ~~ 100 ft in 4 seconds..WOW! Gravity Rules
Villa Encantada Magical and Mezmerizing photo by Guest Randy Gribbin taken  in Jan 2012
Another Fabulous Sunset at Villa Encantada
Meet Chalupa, our resident 2 Toed Sloth ~~ scroll down for more pics of this tame, sweet animal
Chalupa lives in the tree next to the Pool/Slide.. she's free and not a caged animal
Chalupa climbing her tree in the gardens.. right next to the Pool/Slide. She's free and happy !
Lindo ~~ our Axanthic (Blue Morph) Green Iguna is a regular visitor to our gardens. ,more pics below
Glenn w/ Lindo, our tame Blue Morph Green Iguana..Awesome colors to be found only in Nature
Howler Monkey on a daily visit ~~chillin' out on the Preserve.
Villa Guest with Bass caught in our backyard pond.. delicious dinner.. YUM!
Your kids will forget where the left their Ipods/Nintendos
Your kids will have a blast swimming in this huge pond over 120 ft X 100 ft
Refreshing outdoor shower prior to entering the swimming pool. This young man is a happy camper!
Villa Encantada Private Waterfalls in the Rainforest
Awesome beauty of Nature found on our Trails
Villa Encantada Guests enjoying a massage
Nature at its Exquisite Best
Your own Private Paradise
Tame Peacock meandering thru the gardens of Villa Encantada
Peacock in it's Mating Ritual at Villa Encantada
Master BR Suite w/ Queen Sized Bed,  Fireplace, Full Bath & Incredible Lake & Garden Views
Master BR Suite 2nd pic perspective from front view.
Swan Towel Sculpture ~~ Deatils of a fine hotel await you
Newly Remodeled Master Bath
Mini-Master 1 Suite with Queen Sized hand carved bed overlooks manicured gardens and Rainforest
Front view of Mini-Master 1, exquisite hand carved furnishing
Mini-Master 2 Suite with Queen Sized hand carved bed overlooks manicured gardens, Ponds & Rainforest
Mini-Master 2 ~~ ALL suites elegantly furnished w/  full length drapes, & private entry from Gardens
Fine Hand Carved Doors throughout Villa Encantada
Master Loft, sleeps 4 or 6 using the Sofa Bed, awesome views of the Lake and Gardens
Master Loft has a Double Bed, 2 Singles and a Double Sofa Bed.. ALL new Furniture and Ortho Beds
Dining area w/ Unique Carved Table for 8, w/ glass walls to enjoy Nature at your fingertips
Wet Bar and Kitchen overlooking the Ponds and Garden, Hand Craved Doors and Hardwood are everywhere
Dining Room with Living Room ~~ Casual Elegance at it's Best!
Sunken Living Room has Fireplace and Super Comfortable Sofa
Hand Painted Mural of Lake Arenal. Guitar and othe instruments for your enjoyment, play some music
C. Garvey's pic of Spiral Starcase at Villa Encantada
Garden view from Master Loft deck.. great spot for some R&R
Main Living Area w/ Wet Bar, Sunken Living Room/ Fireplace and Awesome Lake Arenal views
Sunken Living Room  with Fireplace & Awesome Lake Views ~~ Cable TV ~~ WiFi ~~~~ SWEET!!!
Lake View from the Master Loft has outside deck to take your coffee or read a book, or suntan
Full Kitchen w/ Granite Counter Tops, Wet Bar, New Appliances & Refi w/ Ice Maker. Everything U need
Wet Bar/ Kitchen overlooking our Gardens, Ponds and Lake Arenal. Nature at it's best!
Full wrap around kitchen with plenty of space.
Our Lovely Tame Peacocks wandering thru the Gardens
Your Host ~ Glenn showing off a 9 lb Guapote Bass caught in the pond at the villa ~ and released
We have some 10 Lb Bass to catch and release right in your back yard ~ Awesome Fishing
Fly Fishing on the Villa Encantada Preserve. You CAN catch fish on our streams... Awesome!
Lake Arenal & Rain Forest view from our 1200 sq ft deck perfect for Weddings and Family Reunions
Spacious Terraza overlooking Lake Arenal
Miles of Manicured Gardens ~~ Everywhere
Villa Encantada ~~ An Architectural Delight
Villa Encantada ~~ Front View
Villa Encantada... an architectural delight
Huge tiled deck for catching a tan. Great place for your family reunion or Wedding!
Comfy furniture for a relaxing day. Fire up the BBQ and enjoy life ~~ you deserve it!
Your own private Paradise. It's our pleasure to share this with yor group/family
Sit under this waterfall for a great massage.
Our private pool on the river for a nice swim.. concrete lined.. and so refreshing.
Your Host Glenn at the Waterfalls Pool
Pristine Waterfalls  and swimming area
Volcan Arenal~~ a safe 15 miles from Villa Encantada..Awesome & Spectacular to watch Lava Flows
Huge BBQ overlooking the Ponds and Gardens
Villa Encantada Front Terraza pic by R. Gribbin 01/12
Magical Full Moon over Villa Encantada
Pond at Villa Encantada to Kayak, swim and fish
Swimming Pool Waterfall ~~ Crystal Clear Chemical Free Water ~~ You can Drink this Water.. honest!
Swimming Pool Waterfall...details like this everywhere
Puma Woodcarving on our trails ~~  a work of Art
Arbol Encantado (Magic Tree) Old Growth Primary Forest Tree at 300+ ft tall on our Nature Preserve
Arbol Encantado only a 5 minute hike from Villa Encantada. Over 400 years old ~~ simply INCREDIBLE!
Rainforest Stream ~~ Waterfalls everywhere! Thanks Scott for some great Pics!
The Tanden Falls after a Rainshower.. the force & beauty of Nature
Let me take you on a Trail Hike..the next 10 pics of Primary Rainforest, Manicured Trails, Waterfall
After 16 Years nothing delights me more than an early morning hike.. always new critters and Nature
Monkey Trail.. along the River w/ waterfalls,lots of wildlife, including Howler & Whiteface Momkeys
Awesome scenery at every turn
Primary Old Growth Rainforest still amazes me after 15 years
Mini Falls.. a great spot to relax and enjoy Nature
Miles of Manicured Trails... well marked ~~ you can't get lost
Easy access trails ~~ for explorers of all ages
LadyBug Trail.. well manicured with lots of Orchids and  photo opportunities
Bridge to the Island
Rare... Poison Dart Frog found on a trail hike
Surprises like this tiny Tree Frog around every corner
White Tail Deer on a frequent visit to Villa Encantada
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pkpitts
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC PIECE OF PARADISE”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Everything you ever dreamed of in a vacation rental and so much more! We had the absolute pleasure of staying at Villa Encanta January 2015 for six very short days. The photos and advertisement for this vacation rental actually don't do it justice. With so much to do on the grounds - fish, swim, hike and then of course the crazy waterslide - we only ventured to town a couple of times. Many hours were spent sitting out back enjoying the bird feeding station - as long as there was fruit - there were various birds. Glenn is a wonderful host - he arranged a fabulous private boat cruise to the volcano for us. You certainly don't want to miss out on having Glenn arrange a chef to come in and cook dinner - boy if we knew how fabulous and reasonable this was - we would have arranged more dinners. I cant say anything negative about this property - only possible drawback is to get to main bedrooms you have to go down a spiral staircase - we had someone with us with very limited mobility - one call to Glenn and he very quickly set up a comfy sleeping area on the main floor and everything was perfect. We are definitely hoping to get back to the Villa in 2017!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leann B
Key Largo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise found, look no further!”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I don't really know where to begin. We arrived at the villa and our jaws dropped. We are a group of 7 that loves to travel and this was our first experience where our eyes exceeded our expectations. The property alone feels like you are completely secluded in paradise. The attention to detail in the trails and landscaping are remarkable. We walked these trails daily And spotted Tucan, dart frogs and howler monkeys! Jose the gardener does live on the property and I can see why, he must put a lot of pride in his work. We wouldn't have known he was there had we not periodically bumped into him on the trails with a friendly smile on his face. And did you see the waterslide?! So much fun! And that thing is fast, I'm surprised it doesn't skip you right out of the pool, it will make you feel like a kid again.
The Villa is extremely well kept and clean. Being a large group we were comfortable with the bedroom arrangements And the layout of the kitchen living area is open and inviting, though we spent most of our time on the back porch and walking the grounds. The wood work on the doors is stunning.
When you contact the owner Glenn, be prepared to make a friend. I just loved our conversations and found him so genuine and kind. Glenn arranged our pick up from the airport, met us at the villa, helped us with a late night grocery/liquor delivery lol and arranged all of our activities for us. I will be back to the villa one day and am looking forward to chatting with Glenn. We did not rent a car and used his suggestion to hire a driver. Such a great decision on our end. He arranged for the kindest couple Emilce and Bolo to be our transportation and it was like having family in Costa Rica. Emilces English is good and she gave us so many tips, where to shop, get food, she took us on a suspension bridge tour, watched our belongings while we tested the local spot of the free hot springs, I'm telling you it was ideal.
I truly could go on and on, you have to experience the villa, stop reading and book it! You will not regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal service from owner
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi A
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent a week at Villa Encantada with our family and were blown away. It is beautiful and spectacular. The house, the grounds, the hiking trails, the pool, the views, the fishing, the service and our host Glenn were all fabulous from the minute we arrived. It is truly a magical place and we were so in love with it. We went zip lining and traveled to La Fortuna (the drive is gorgeous) but spent most of our time at the house. It is so lovely. We will go back. It truly is a special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! It was truly an amazing time.
Liked least: We loved everything. Nothing to not like.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill1900
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2015

There was 7 of us who stayed here for a week and it was amazing I would love to return if I come back to Costa Rica I wouldn't have changed a thing the property was beautiful and the pool and slide were so much fun !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonsky
Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pictures cannot capture its beauty”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Attention to detail was not overlooked. Glen welcomed our group personally, but also in the way the home was set up. I love to go to a place where it is understood that I require coffee even if I haven't had time to shop. Coffee was there so I did not have to rush out night for essentials. Glen gave us the numbers we needed and helped for anything we wanted to do without selling anything. It felt like he just wanted us to enjoy the property without being intrusive which is what we wanted.
Now, as far as the property...Wow. I saw the pictures and hoped it was as lovely, but it really exceeded my expectations. The house is nicer than the pictures and the grounds truly are amazing. Great vacation spot. It is far enough from the center of tourism that you get to enjoy the experience without feeling like a walking dollar sign, and it is so beautiful that you can relax and take in the views from all around the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie3ki...
Allen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful property - highly recommend!”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent 5 nights at Villa Encantada and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Plenty of rooms/beds and baths for our family of 5 and so much to see and do. The first morning we woke up, opened the drapes, and saw 3 toucan birds. The following mornings we woke to the sounds of howler monkeys. A couple of the days the gardener had the 2 peacocks and some chickens roaming the grounds around the house. We spent days fishing (kids each caught 15-20 fish), kayaking, walking the grounds/trails but especially with the kids going down the water slide. Our 3 kids each rode that slide 50-100 times. Over & over - they had a blast. We even found ourselves rushing through our activities the last day so we could get back to the house & enjoy the house, slide & fishing one more time. The grounds are beautifully groomed and maintained, you have all of this land to yourself. It really is a beautiful place that I have already recommended to friends. One quick tip: If the water slide is important to your group, find out in advance when it will be drained/cleaned so you can plan outside activities while it's unavailable. It takes some time to refill with that cool refreshing water. Also, it's not too far of a drive to Mistico Arenal Hanging Bridges & several hot springs which are also highly recommended. And it's a quick drive into town where there are multiple good restaurants and a couple of small grocery stores.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but kids would likely say "water slide" :-)
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities that were a part of the property
Liked least: No air conditioning in the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing