We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Property, Very Friendly Owner, Has...”
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Villa Encantada ~~ A vacation DESTINATION~`~ one you won't forget Villa Encantada ~~ Tri Level Architectural Masterpiece for your enjoyment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Villa Encantada ~~ A vacation DESTINATION~`~ one you won't forget
Villa Encantada ~~ Tri Level Architectural Masterpiece for your enjoyment
Side View ~~Huge Terrace w/ Lake Views. Perfect for your family reunion or wedding celebration
Your Hosts at Villa Encantada ~~ Family Photo of Glenn, Patricia and Gloriana
Kayaking in your Backyard.. too much fun!
Kayaks for up to 10 persons (included~~ no extra charge). Kayak on the Ponds or 5 min walk to lake
Brand New (June 2013) 100 ft Waterslide at Twilight
5 yr old enjoying the Waterslide. Fun for all ages. Little people don't go too fast. It's safe!
Priceless Moments.. what a Blast!
Spring Fed Swimming Pool (no chemicals)
Pool at Twilight ~~ Chemical Free Crystal Clear Spring Water ~~ A Dream Come True!
The Owner and your Host, Glenn.. enjoying the fruits of his labor. This is where YOU need to be!
Waterslide.. Awesome adventure! Want to go fast..lay down ~~ 100 ft in 4 seconds..WOW! Gravity Rules
Villa Encantada Magical and Mezmerizing photo by Guest Randy Gribbin taken  in Jan 2012
Another Fabulous Sunset at Villa Encantada
Meet Chalupa, our resident 2 Toed Sloth ~~ scroll down for more pics of this tame, sweet animal
Chalupa lives in the tree next to the Pool/Slide.. she's free and not a caged animal
Chalupa climbing her tree in the gardens.. right next to the Pool/Slide. She's free and happy !
Lindo ~~ our Axanthic (Blue Morph) Green Iguna is a regular visitor to our gardens. ,more pics below
Glenn w/ Lindo, our tame Blue Morph Green Iguana..Awesome colors to be found only in Nature
Howler Monkey on a daily visit ~~chillin' out on the Preserve.
Villa Guest with Bass caught in our backyard pond.. delicious dinner.. YUM!
Your kids will forget where the left their Ipods/Nintendos
Your kids will have a blast swimming in this huge pond over 120 ft X 100 ft
Refreshing outdoor shower prior to entering the swimming pool. This young man is a happy camper!
Villa Encantada Private Waterfalls in the Rainforest
Awesome beauty of Nature found on our Trails
Villa Encantada Guests enjoying a massage
Nature at its Exquisite Best
Your own Private Paradise
Tame Peacock meandering thru the gardens of Villa Encantada
Peacock in it's Mating Ritual at Villa Encantada
Master BR Suite w/ Queen Sized Bed,  Fireplace, Full Bath & Incredible Lake & Garden Views
Master BR Suite 2nd pic perspective from front view.
Swan Towel Sculpture ~~ Deatils of a fine hotel await you
Newly Remodeled Master Bath
Mini-Master 1 Suite with Queen Sized hand carved bed overlooks manicured gardens and Rainforest
Front view of Mini-Master 1, exquisite hand carved furnishing
Mini-Master 2 Suite with Queen Sized hand carved bed overlooks manicured gardens, Ponds & Rainforest
Mini-Master 2 ~~ ALL suites elegantly furnished w/  full length drapes, & private entry from Gardens
Fine Hand Carved Doors throughout Villa Encantada
Master Loft, sleeps 4 or 6 using the Sofa Bed, awesome views of the Lake and Gardens
Master Loft has a Double Bed, 2 Singles and a Double Sofa Bed.. ALL new Furniture and Ortho Beds
Dining area w/ Unique Carved Table for 8, w/ glass walls to enjoy Nature at your fingertips
Wet Bar and Kitchen overlooking the Ponds and Garden, Hand Craved Doors and Hardwood are everywhere
Dining Room with Living Room ~~ Casual Elegance at it's Best!
Sunken Living Room has Fireplace and Super Comfortable Sofa
Hand Painted Mural of Lake Arenal. Guitar and othe instruments for your enjoyment, play some music
C. Garvey's pic of Spiral Starcase at Villa Encantada
Garden view from Master Loft deck.. great spot for some R&R
Main Living Area w/ Wet Bar, Sunken Living Room/ Fireplace and Awesome Lake Arenal views
Sunken Living Room  with Fireplace & Awesome Lake Views ~~ Cable TV ~~ WiFi ~~~~ SWEET!!!
Lake View from the Master Loft has outside deck to take your coffee or read a book, or suntan
Full Kitchen w/ Granite Counter Tops, Wet Bar, New Appliances & Refi w/ Ice Maker. Everything U need
Wet Bar/ Kitchen overlooking our Gardens, Ponds and Lake Arenal. Nature at it's best!
Full wrap around kitchen with plenty of space.
Our Lovely Tame Peacocks wandering thru the Gardens
Your Host ~ Glenn showing off a 9 lb Guapote Bass caught in the pond at the villa ~ and released
We have some 10 Lb Bass to catch and release right in your back yard ~ Awesome Fishing
Fly Fishing on the Villa Encantada Preserve. You CAN catch fish on our streams... Awesome!
Lake Arenal & Rain Forest view from our 1200 sq ft deck perfect for Weddings and Family Reunions
Spacious Terraza overlooking Lake Arenal
Miles of Manicured Gardens ~~ Everywhere
Villa Encantada ~~ An Architectural Delight
Villa Encantada ~~ Front View
Villa Encantada... an architectural delight
Huge tiled deck for catching a tan. Great place for your family reunion or Wedding!
Comfy furniture for a relaxing day. Fire up the BBQ and enjoy life ~~ you deserve it!
Your own private Paradise. It's our pleasure to share this with yor group/family
Sit under this waterfall for a great massage.
Our private pool on the river for a nice swim.. concrete lined.. and so refreshing.
Your Host Glenn at the Waterfalls Pool
Pristine Waterfalls  and swimming area
Volcan Arenal~~ a safe 15 miles from Villa Encantada..Awesome & Spectacular to watch Lava Flows
Huge BBQ overlooking the Ponds and Gardens
Villa Encantada Front Terraza pic by R. Gribbin 01/12
Magical Full Moon over Villa Encantada
Pond at Villa Encantada to Kayak, swim and fish
Swimming Pool Waterfall ~~ Crystal Clear Chemical Free Water ~~ You can Drink this Water.. honest!
Swimming Pool Waterfall...details like this everywhere
Puma Woodcarving on our trails ~~  a work of Art
Arbol Encantado (Magic Tree) Old Growth Primary Forest Tree at 300+ ft tall on our Nature Preserve
Arbol Encantado only a 5 minute hike from Villa Encantada. Over 400 years old ~~ simply INCREDIBLE!
Rainforest Stream ~~ Waterfalls everywhere! Thanks Scott for some great Pics!
The Tanden Falls after a Rainshower.. the force & beauty of Nature
Let me take you on a Trail Hike..the next 10 pics of Primary Rainforest, Manicured Trails, Waterfall
After 16 Years nothing delights me more than an early morning hike.. always new critters and Nature
Monkey Trail.. along the River w/ waterfalls,lots of wildlife, including Howler & Whiteface Momkeys
Awesome scenery at every turn
Primary Old Growth Rainforest still amazes me after 15 years
Mini Falls.. a great spot to relax and enjoy Nature
Miles of Manicured Trails... well marked ~~ you can't get lost
Easy access trails ~~ for explorers of all ages
LadyBug Trail.. well manicured with lots of Orchids and  photo opportunities
Bridge to the Island
Rare... Poison Dart Frog found on a trail hike
Surprises like this tiny Tree Frog around every corner
White Tail Deer on a frequent visit to Villa Encantada
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mariygerm...
puerto rico
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Very Friendly Owner, Has Opportunties”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just Returned from famlily trip, 4 adults, 5 Kids one week at this lovely property. The Positives: The grounds are beautifully manicured with fun activities for kids: waterslide, kayak, pond, river, waterfalls, hiking. Glen the owner is off the charts nice, and very helpful. The bed sheets, linens, towels are all high quality, and comfortable. There is maid service every couple of days.
Negatives: Driving Time: The property is 1 hour from La Fortuna each way, twisty road, if you plan on doing many excursions the drive is going to take up two hours of your day. Get there took 3:45minutes. at night in the rain, it is an unpleasant drive. There is no dishwasher. The loft for kids to sleep is fun because they have their owns space, but it is a loft: so no privacy from sun, streaming in the morning, and for adults to talk in the living room at night. The hot water in master bathroom would run out after 2 minutes. After sun down we could not go outside, too many insects.
From the pictures and Description, this was the best sounding VRBO I had ever seen for families, having stayed there, we enjoyed ourselves, but while nice it was a bit disappointing, particularly considering you are paying top dollar for Costa Rica.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
Dear German,

A wise prophet once said "Ya can't make all of the people happy all of the time" I try, and for 16 years of renting Villa Encantada, and with 100's of guest reviews on this and other sites (check them yourself) I've never had anything less than glowing 5 Star Reviews. I'm spoiled... your review, even though it was given a 4.5 star review rating, leaves me feeling a bit low.

Had you reviewed the Amenities section of this Flipkey site, you would have found that indeed, we don't have a dishwasher at the villa. Yours is truly the 1st mention of this in 16 years! The Master Loft is a Huge area, and yes it open. There are window shades, but for a space this large, ambient light will surely enter the area. Had you viewed our Virtual Tour of the Master Loft this would have been very obvious.

Really, the only (valid) complaint that you mention as far as Villa Encantada in concerned is that of the hot water running out after a short while. I find it odd that you never mentioned this issue to me as I did call you on a daily basis to make sure everything was perfect. The adjustment has been made and the Hot Water is perfect, as it should be.

Most of our guests opt for Nuevo Arenal rather than the La Fortuna area because Nuevo Arenal isn't so touristy, but yet certainly within easy day excursion drive access. La Fortuna is much more like a Disney theme park, crowded with long lines and at times very hot and humid, while Nuevo Arenal is what the real Costa Rica is all about, with a cooler climate and breezes off of the lake.

Also, you'll not find any mention in any of our reviews of insect problems. Sure, the occasional mosquito might arrive, but in no way is it oppresive. Remember, we are in the Rain Forest! I guess some folks are just delicate.

Thanks again for your visit German, and we'll keep doing our best to make sure our guests have the very best possible experience possible at Villa Encantada.

Pura Vida,
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelhol...
Glendale, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable! A MUST DO!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a amazing place! You will not be disappointed! From the moment you walk in the door you are in awe of the magical place Glenn has here. The grounds are meticulous ... you can feel the love Glenn has put into this special place. I have traveled all over the world and Villa Encantada is at the top of my list. My family and I will be back! We were traveling with my 2 year old daughter and Glenn even put up a fence around the patio area so she could run around without us being nervous. My husband and I had a blast on the water slide! Made us feel like kids again! We had Chef Joan come in and cook our family a meal one night, which was excellent. No pictures do it justice, you have to experience it for yourself. We will be back in a couple years when my daughter can fully enjoy all this place has to offer! Thanks Glenn for sharing Villa Encantada with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The grounds!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2014
Dear Nicole,

Thanks so much for your 5 Star Vote of Confidence. That you've traveled the world and put Villa Encantada at the top of your destinations, truly is a Spectacular Compliment ~~ Muchas Gracias! My efforts over these last 16 years at Villa Encantada pay off when I am fortunate enough to receive reviews such as yours. Yes, it is a labor of love, and a wonderful opportunity to meet loving families like yours. I noticed that you also posted some of your favorite pics of the villa and gardens, and one photo in particular shows the security fence that we put up around the back patio to make sure that little people can't wander off. We take your family's security VERY seriously and try to take every precaution to ensure a safe and healthy environment for your entire family. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the waterslide.. it's truly the best $$ I ever spent at the villa, as it brings a sense of excitement and a thrill that you'll take away with you. Lastly, thanks for mentioning Chef Joan and her husband Jim that prepared an excellent dinner for your family. Apart from the wonderful, attentive service and food, Joan and Jim are such magical and enthusiastic individuals in their own right. Thanks for allowing us to be of service for your family's special vacation to Costa Rica Nicole. We look forward to your next visit, and rest assured that we'll keep the light on for you.
Your Host and friend,
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thanks so much for your kind comments and 5 Star Guest Review. One of our primary goals is to provide a Vacation Destination with plenty of activities right on the property for your group/family. I'm so glad your family explored our miles of hiking trails through Virgin Rainforest and that the kids had a blast under the Waterfalls on the River Walk Trail ~~ nothing like a soothing massage under the jungle waterfalls after a long trail hike. That your kids had so much fun on the Water Slide/Swimming Pool and with the Kayaks and stayed so active during your weeklong stay is very gratifying for me personally.

Thanks for allowing me to be of service in arranging your Zip Line and White Water Rafting excursions and pointing you in the right direction for other "walk up" activities to get the most out of time with us and to fulfill your anticipation of having the "Amazing Vacation" that your family deserves.

We look forward to hosting your family again Christine.

Muchas Gracias
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Dear Judy and Jerry,

I really appreciate your 5 Star Review and am thrilled that you enjoyed Villa Encantada so much during your 2 week stay. That you elected to spend the majority of your time right on the property is a Huge Endorsement for our continued efforts in providing an experience for our guests in which they will always hold fond memories ... and as your said ~~ "We're coming back next year".

That you consistently found more than enough activities right at your fingertips to stay on the Estate is exactly what we've been trying to achieve, and your "your own private resort" statement is all and more than we can hope for.

It was our pleasure hosting you and your family and yes, "we'll keep the light on for you" and look forward to seeing your smiling faces again and sharing your contagious enthusiasm.

Your Host and Friend
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blackjack...
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

Had a wonderful stay with my wife, kids, and parents last spring. The car ride from San Jose was a bit long- but pretty. I would recommend Liberia if you can do it....

The most amazing part of the villa is the grounds - they are 2nd to none. My 12 year old daughter was first up every morning with Grandma to catalogue and take pictures of the birds. My 3 year old was up next- dying to shout at the howler monkeys and have them shout back! It can get a bit hot inside- but the pool is very refreshing. My son loved fishing and kayaking in the pond, and everyone loved lunch in town at the local soda. Peacocks were beautiful! Bedrooms and shower were well appointed. Not a lot of TV- but there was golf channel for my Dad- we don't usually watch TV on vacation anyway.

Glenn was very helpful booking tours and recommending excursions- we had a blast on the zip lines. We take a big vacation every year, and this was one of the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lush grounds and water
Liked least: A little hot
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2014
Dear Sam and Family,

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit your 5 Star Review of your time with us at Villa Encantada. I clearly remember your young daughters unbridled enthusiasm of all the wonders of nature and her taking tons of pics of all the flowers, orchids, waterlilys, and more, especially how quickly the kids learned to paddle the kayaks on the pond and zipping down the waterslide. Really, this is what I live for and this gives me a sense of satisfaction that is priceless. I'm so glad and thankful that we were able to be a part of a most memorable and cherished vacation for you and your family. I'm looking forward to seeing all of your smiling faces again as soon as time allows. Next time you visit, I hope to have completed a 9 hole golf course on the property.. it's in the planning stages right now and ought to be lots of fun. Hasta Pronto Amigos,
Your Host and friend,
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2014
Corey, Thanks so much for your Guest Review and beaming recommendation of Villa Encantada . Your group/family was one of the most active and enthusiastic that we've had the pleasure of hosting. Aside from spending lots of time at Villa Encantada enjoying the BBQ, Waterslide, Swimming Pool,Fishing & Kayaking on our ponds and Hiking our miles of Hiking Trails... I really applaud your ambitious explorer instincts. Thanks for allowing me to be of service in arranging your tour itinerary and ground transportation.

I'm sure you had to go home just to rest up after doing the Hot Springs, The Selvatura Canopy Zip Line and Hanging Bridges, The 4X4 Quadracycle Off Road tour and the Canyoning Rapelling Adventure.... and your kids just about wore out the Waterslide. The only thing you left out was a White Water Rafting Excursion and maybe a Horseback Riding tour ~~~ but there's always next time, on your next visit.

We'll keep the light on for you and your family Amigo, and hope to see all of your smiling faces again Muy Pronto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IL
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2013
Dear David, Catherine and Sweet Daughters,

Return Guests, like yourselves are an especially personally rewarding experience for me ~~ and in your cases, it was like having an old high school friends here at the villa and just made me all the more intent to share quality time with your family and make sure that this vacation surpassed your vacation in 2011 with us at Villa Encantada. The new Swimming Pool and Water Slide got a great reception from your family and I'm so glad you enjoyed these new features, and made good use of them. We also incorporated many new adventures for your family this time around, including the White Water Rafting, the Canopy Zip Line and an excursion to the Eco-Danus Nature Preserve. Your daughters are quite adventurous as evidenced by the Tree Frog on the forehead pic that you posted.... too much fun! Did I mention that I live vicariously through my guests adventures and excursions while with us ~~ so, when you have fun,, so do I, and I thank you for that and for sharing your friendship with me. I'm very much looking forward to your next visit, and don't worry, I'll have new features here at the villa for you to enjoy as well as new adventure excursions for your family to enjoy.

Hasta Pronto

Your host and friend,

Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing