We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secluded spot”
Review of Agua Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agua Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Trent made us feel right at home when we arrived. Kim knew everything to do in the area, she even booked some dinner reservations for us. The breakfast and coffee made each start to the day amazing thanks to the great view and sounds from the river below.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrux31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaInnarenal, Guest Relations Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing us. I am glad that we were able to provided a wonderful experience for you. We aim to do all we can for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 83 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The place is incredible located on top of a small cascading river full of wild life and a small walk to lake Arenal. Trent is great and Javier and Kim make an amazing breakfast. When it comes to advice go prepared with a plan, they are quite hands off and the place is very secluded 45-1hr taxi away from hot springs and la fortuna. If your looking to adventure make sure you book a car in advance. During peak season everything books out.

Definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a secluded oasis. It is like nothing else!!! And the rooms are very clean and smell amazing!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for the kind review. It is true that we are 45 minutes from the most popular tourist sights. A car is certainly recommended while vacationing in Costa Rica. Sorry that we could not be more helpful in your trip planning. We try our best to arrange tours and transportation the best we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We began our Costa Rica vacation with a night at Agua Inn and incredible massages from Kim . After the stress of traveling you could not help but relax once you get to Agua Inn. The entire property is surrounded by a beautiful creek that will not let you forget it's there. We sat on the porch with sipping wine and listening to the rain and the sounds of the animals. They have a common living area and kitchen so we were able to use the refrigerator to store the items we bought in town. I was able to have a rare morning alone reading outside of our room, but between the pattering of the rain and the sound of rushing water, I could barely keep my eyes open!! Javier is an exceptional host and made us an incredible Costa Rica style breakfast that sent us immediately back to bed. We LOVED our time there! SO relaxing, SO soothing. We went during the off season, so the pool was not available, but we have pools at home! I will say, as a tip, you do have quite a downgrade into the actual property. To get back onto the main road, some taxies may need extra weight to give them enough traction to get back up. We will definitely be back!! PS: I don't know why all my pics are sideways- sorry!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyNDevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Stacey thank you so much for your lovely review! We enjoyed having you and hope that we will see you again. You will have to come back when it is not quite as rainy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The views and grounds of this place are absolutely amazing! During the day we spent a lot of our time in/by the river below the property and right next to the pool. So peaceful! Go to bed and wake up to the sounds of the rainforest. Exactly the experience that we wanted. There is a small town very close by with restaurants and a couple bars. There was breakfast served each morning which was delicious. Trent and the crew were all very welcoming and very helpful. Kim, who works in the spa, was especially helpful in guiding us through our transportation routes (we chose to use the bus system), suggesting places to eat, and suggesting activities. Would definitely stay here and again and for a longer period. Awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Lauren we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help with your trip planning! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay.

Kim, the onsite manager was extremely helpful and planned all of our activities each day. She went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and were comfortable.

The property was absolutely beautiful, immaculate and tranquil. Set further up the hill from town,this is a fantastic location for those who enjoy taking part in all the outdoor activities Arenal has to offer, but looking for a more peaceful place to stay away from the noise and crowds. We saw so many beautiful birds while walking around on the property and loved the sound of the creek running next to the Inn - a true Costa Rican experience

We rented a car while we were here, as we knew we wanted to go all over during our stay - however, we think using public transportation is also quite manageable. On our last night here we took a bus back from town after a full day of activities & a lovely dinner .

I must recommend dining at The Gingerbread House - the food was incredible, and the staff very passionate about the restaurant. We let the chef pick our appetizers and entrees for us - all perfectly done and in very generous portions, we had to take some to go! The chef can come off somewhat conceited...but for GOOD reason. He was actually very friendly once we talked with him more.

We hope to return to Arenal one day with friends and family, and will definitely be staying at Agua Inn when we do!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS51687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad that you had a lovely time with us! Gingerbread is certainly a highlight of many peoples stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a special place! It was like staying with a friend of a friend in their house. The staff and ambiance made our 1 night stay very relaxing and comfortable. Great beds, too! The owner, Trent, was super friendly and interesting to talk to. The creek and trees and plants made you feel like you were staying in the middle of nowhere! Very romantic for couples.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and felt like friends of the family! We hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is beautiful, the pictures just don't do it justice. A quaint 4 room inn secluded on a gorgeously maintained property, close enough to town to take a $2 taxi and on the bus route to Tileron and La Fortuna. The rooms are small and simple but clean and comfortable and the rest of the communal area such as kitchen, porches and sitting room are cozy and inviting. The pool area is great and all you hear is the sound of the river and the sounds of nature. You can sleep with the windows wide open and no mosquitos!

The owners are friendly and welcoming as is the rest of the staff. Adela doesn't speak much English but she makes a great breakfast. Kim is helpful with sightseeing information and a great massage therapist!

This is a great place if you need peace and quiet to unwind and rejuvenate or if you are looking for a clean, inexpensive spot for a home base as you make day trips to other areas and attractions such as the hot springs, hanging bridges, zip line, observatory, volcano, Monteverde or other towns.

I loved my stay here and returned home feeling rested and peaceful.

Room Tip: I know some people want frills and amenities like room service, hair dryers, AC, robes, toiletries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
11.8 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Nicholas
Chalet Nicholas
#8 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
2.2 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
137 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Inn

Address: 20 Meters West of the Road to Guatuso, Route 142, Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range: $72 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Agua Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Inn caters to discerning travelers who come to our quiet, verdant setting to feed their soul and nourish their spirit. Set on the boulder-laced bend of where the River Cote meets Lake Arenal, Agua Inn Spa offers guests a perfect retreat where guests are wrapped in the sustaining energy of nature. Here guests can soak in the splendor of Costa Rica's tropical wonder, and then, when they are ready, resume their journeys. While you rest, we provide breakfast, as well as help in organizing non-stressful day-trips. Walk our private lake trail, sip cool drinks next to our refreshing pool, take a boat trip, watch as Volcano Arenal erupts clouds of steam from her majestic crown, eat at the nearby Gingerbread Restaurant, and browse among local art galleries. The cozy Agua Inn purposely is intimately sized with only four guest rooms. All available for group use and all rooms have private bath rooms with hot water. For a taste of the real Costa Rica, come savor authentic Costa Rica where river and lake meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Agua Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Inn Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing