We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nuevo Arenal
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good food in a nice setting”

Gingerbread Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Gingerbread is a fine restaurant and boutique hotel perfectly situated along Lake Arenal in Costa Rica. Operated by a charismatic and talented culinary master, Chef Eyal absolutely works magic with food. We’ll serve you an amazing international cuisine, delicious top shelf drinks, and exceptional overnight accommodations. . Our world class B&B, restaurant, and bar is open Tuesday through Saturdays to travelers and guests. We invite you to stay and experience Costa Rica with us. Come and eat, drink then take a leisurely stroll back to your comfortable room to relax. We start every morning with a delicious hot breakfast and end every evening with an exceptional three-course meal created by the Chef.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to get some great food! The setting is rather european but very nice. Great food with an touch of israel. Portion are fairly large so you can ask for half a platter.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Lyci_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found about the Gingerbread Restaurant when planning our trip to Costa Rica and after hearing all of the reviews, knew we had to make it there for dinner.

We were staying in La Fortuna and thought this restaurant was just outside town near Arenal. NO! This restaurant is in Nuevo Arenal which is a good 50 minutes on a slow curvy road.

Halfway along the drive we considering turning back, especially with not much gas left in the gas tank but I have to tell you we are so glad we continued and made it to the restaurant.

OMG! The staff were great and the food was EXCEPTIONAL!!! The food rivals any 5-star restaurant in New York City. And the portions are HUGE!! You better come hungry because these are generous portions.

If we weren't so full we would have licked the plates clean. It is a dining experience. The owner is very entertaining and does everything he can to make his customers feel welcome.

Thanks again for a great dinner. Can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cameraeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It says on the website that it is fine dining - very relaxed atmosphere - you can go in a tank top and shorts if you like - the servers and chef are awesome and the food is amazing. Portions are for 2 people - says that right on the menu that is outside on the board. Great flavour and reasonably priced. Suggest you definately try it out!!! Very clean restaurant as well!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mgmmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Thanksgiving at Gingerbread...was a great party. There was a live band...plenty of dancing. Each plate of food was a culinary experience. Full of food and drink we slept like babies in one of their lovely,comfortable rooms. It was a total experience we will not soon forget. Our thanks to the chef and staff!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 20janeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

It was for Valentine's Day and they made room for us otherwise it was solid book. Food, drinks, decoration, location , everything is excellent

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerbread Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Gingerbread Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing