We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good meal but huge quantities!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gingerbread Restaurant

Gingerbread Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
428 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Very good meal but huge quantities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a very nice restaurant close to the town of Nueve Arenal.

We were told when ordering that the portions were big enough for two so keeping that in mind we ordered one salad and one main course.

As we were trying to decide what salad to order and what main, the waitress suggested that they would split the salad so we could order two different salads and offered the same thing with the main.

The food and service was very good. Menu changes daily and the chef is very creative in his menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    25
    5
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had two wonderful meals at Gingerbread. At the first we had a terrific salad with sushi-like tuna. The portion was big enough for the two of us. For our second meal we made sure to leave room at the end for a delicious chocolate cake and ice cream combo dessert. Both times we found ourselves in interesting conversations with other diners, as well as the genial waitress and the cef.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pneimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat - usually”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I've eaten here twice. The first time was like a good food dream but I didn't have to wake up wishing the dream went on, I got to eat a fantastic meal of short ribs followed by a fantastic dessert. The second time was a much larger party at our table 3 vs 8. One in our party is a vegetarian. It seemed that her choice to be a vegetarian was ridiculed by the owner and things got noisy in the bar which is in the restaurant. The owner who was also our server seemed to get louder, and perhaps had been drinking alcoholic beverages, and the food was not as good as it had been during my first visit. I would recommend this restaurant to small parties and suggest you eat early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachV070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, pretty decor, you will have leftovers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We sat at the bar and had a very enjoyable meal. The staff is very pleasant and warned us about the the large portions, so we ordered 2 entrees, "half-size". This was still too much (and we have pretty good appetites) and took quite a bit home. The chef, as noted by others, is very engaging and lively....sitting at the bar gets more of his interaction. When we were considering which white wine to start with, he poured us a taste of the 3 house whites so we could better choose, very nice. When we asked about a special tequila, he poured us a small one to try and we ordered the its premium "brother". Again, nice to have some comparisons. It is a beautiful restaurant and likely the best non-costa rican food in Nuevo Arenal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckydog12341378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottage grove, oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An amazing meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful creative food, in huge quantities. The chef was a great charecter and our waitress was lovely. This restaurant is located in a very beautiful part of the lake and away from some of the hussle and bussle of La Fortuna. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerbread Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Gingerbread Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing