We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to chill!”
Your view coming up to your private estate.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view coming up to your private estate.
Why it's called 'The Sunset' Fresh, delicious, plentiful breakfast.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Your view coming up to your private estate.
Why it's called 'The Sunset'
Fresh, delicious, plentiful breakfast.
Views as far as you can see.
Amazing play of color and light.
Dinner service, delicious home cooking.
High ceilings of sustainably harvested hardwoods.
Costa Rican art and tile work throughout the home.
6 comfortable bedrooms all with shower and bathroom.
Office area, Musical instruments to use.
Spacious and elegant.
Lake Cote is just a mile and a half hike or drive from the home!
Sunset from the pool house.
Your private rental estate.
Great views!
Great for large presentations or just your intimate group.
Awe inspiring views.
So much room to spread out and enjoy.
Simple, clean and well appointed.
You can go to the horses or the horses can come to you.
A vista from one of the several hiking trails.
2 or 25 we can tend to your group or large corporate groups.
We can set up all your adventures!!!
Comfortable and relaxed.
Sunset from a small local eatery we recommend. 15 minutes from the house.
Comfort overlooking nature's grandeur.
You may find a great book and not want to leave till you're finished!
Dining over the Lake for two to 24 people.
Chef's kitchen where your every dietary need can be met
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnaMaria...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect place to chill!”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fabulous!
★ ★ ★ ★ ★


This is an amazing property with great views in a gorgeous setting, but the best part of the experience is undoubtedly the care and attention given by Patrick and his wonderful team. Breakfast was always something to look forward to, and our best meal in Costa Rica was the mixed grill and fruit torta prepared by Patrick, who remained unphased when there was a power outage and dinner was served by candlelight. The house is very large with loads of space to spread out, enjoy the library, the pool or views from balcony areas, and there are lots of pleasant walks nearby, so something for everyone in a very tranquil setting. The road up to the house is rough, unpaved and a bit of a boneshaker, and most of the activities we did (zipline, hot springs etc.) were near la Fortuna ( a rather touristy little town), which was about 50 mins drive. It would have made more sense to take full advantage of Patrick's culinary skills, after a day of exploring, rather than turn out again to find restaurants. We stayed during rainy season and the weather was pretty wet, but it didn't stop us doing any activities - just clouded over the spectacular views a lot of the time. Some of our group went kayaking on Lake Arenal and horseriding up the mountains nearby. Patrick was always there for us, ready to book and arrange anything and honest in his advice. We were a family group of seven adults with two cars, which allowed for different choices of activities and everyone had a really special time. It could not have been more perfect. A huge thankyou to Patrick and all the staff for an exceptional few days - wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous meals from the owner and staff
Liked least: The unpaved road up to the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson S
1 review
“Exceeded expectations... PERFECT family vacation at Redsunset!”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We almost don't want to post and keep Redsunset our secret! The property is spacious, fantastic and amazing but Patrick and his entire family, including his preferred/private driver Jaime, made us feel welcome as extended family. Patrick planned/booked all of our activities on the fly and is an amazing chef, we ate dinner based on his menu just about every other night. All of us had such a great trip, thank you Patrick, Elisa, Mariel, Madigan, Harrison and Hunter (and Blackie and Brownie)! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great vacation in a new environment (for us)”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed a week with a large group (two families). The house was beautiful, spacious, and accommodating. The setting is gorgeous. It rained quite a bit, but we were equipped for hiking in the rain forest. The micro climates around the lake make the weather unpredictable. Patrick, the owner/host, was very helpful with planning daytime activities in the Arenal area. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We ate breakfast and dinner at the house, and the food was varied and delicious. Patrick hired a driver for the nine of us, Jaime Castro, who was very helpful getting us to and from our various activities. Most days I ended up in the front seat and had an opportunity to refresh my Spanish. Jaime's English is better than my Spanish. Ask for him if you're looking for a driver/guide. Note: roadway/street signage is marginal.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful meals
Liked least: The matresses
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PapaH2015
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Service, Exceptional Host, Amazing Property”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Red Sunset for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, Because we are a blended family we took most of our grown five children and their significant others for four days and nights in the mountains and four at the beach. Patrick Hughes is the epitome of a great host. He communicated well from the moment we contacted him. He made all of our travel arrangements once we reached the airport and had a car and driver for us every day, available to go wherever and whenever we wanted. Even at 64 and 63 we zip lined over green valleys and repelled down giant waterfalls. Every adventure was well guided and safely supervised.

The views from the home are 180 degrees across the Lake Arenal Valley to the volcanoes; and, the site at the highest point in the area is full of tropical birds and other unique and interesting wildlife. The food and accommodations at Red Sunset are first class. All the bedrooms and bathrooms are private, modern and well decorated. and the WIFI and cable are always available. Our breakfasts were feasts of local fruits and anything else we wanted. Patrick, his wife and others who work there are all excellent chefs and were willing to fix just about anything for dinner that our group requested. The pool is covered and heated so we could use this area regardless of the weather or temperature. Patrick's own home is adjacent to Red Sunset so he is readily available for all questions, requests and emergencies.....

Speaking of which, I had some unexpected medical issues while I was staying at Red Sunset. Patrick personally drove me to local medical facilities and stayed with me at the local clinic and made sure that I received the best care available. With his help and attention, my issues were solved very quickly and I was able to enjoy the rest of my vacation without incident.

My wife and I cannot think of a better way to get to know Costa Rica than to begin with a stay at Red Sunset of Guanacaste. My only regret is that I waited this long to write a review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The Host and his family
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWVan
Port Orange, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Spent the holidays here at the end of 2014 with 6 adults and 4 teenagers. The house is spacious and comfortable. Patrick and staff were exceptional hosts , taking care of anything we needed arranged, advise on where to go, and putting out a great breakfast to start our day. Also handled dinner for us on nights we requested, very convenient to not have to go back out after getting cleaned up from a day of hiking or fishing or 4-wheeling.

The area is centrally located making it reasonable to make day trips to the pacific coast or shorter runs to the east to get to the volcano and rain forest sights.

I highly recommend and hope to fund an excuse to go back soon.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing