We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly stop and authentic german cuisine”

Tom's Pan German Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
nuevo arenal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly stop and authentic german cuisine”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

im a frequent stopper in the bakery and the meals, pastries and all the other good stuff there are available to cure that urge you get when you want something German. Nowhere else in costa rica can you get a fresh pretzel and a cold Paulaner cloudy creamy beer. I have always found the staff very friendly and helpful. i also don't agree with some of the previous posts that claim he's is "only sees dollar signs" its very costly here to provide all the food and items he has on a daily basis and everyone should appreciate that its available here in such a remote area of the country. the bread is fantastic as is the cheeses you can take on your trip. enjoy you stop at Tom's as most of us all do.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    142
    78
    58
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very high, unreasonable exchange rate, aplican un cambio de moneda irrazonable!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had lunch here about two weeks ago. The people who work here are very kind. For the rest I can only say that they charge a very high, unreasonable exchange rate, which was not being charged to us in any other place!!! The food was not bad, but I would not call it special. I would not recommend anybody to visit this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.gallen
1 review
“You get what i call real bread!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

It's absolutely worth to take a break here! Delicious bread, good food and fair prices. However i really can recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank Mdoppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.gallen
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The best bread in hole costy rica and a lovely service!
The prices are faire and its a nice place to eat breakfast or something else!

Helpful?
Thank vanilla_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“'Drive by' next time”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was disappointed on this return trip to the German Bakery. The prices were very high, and what I ate didn't have the quality or freshness of what I remember. Especially for bakery items. Service seemed uncaring and numb. I did enjoy meeting and talking with other travelers here,as the restaurant/bakery seems to be a magnet for many. I did find all the roadway signs telling me to "come to this place" very annoying and trashy for such a beautiful region. I wish they could be removed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Pan German Bakery also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Tom's Pan German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing