We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German Style food and dessert”

Tom's Pan German Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
428 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“German Style food and dessert”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Good food and great pretzels! The desserts were tasty as well. The staff was friendly. No beers on tap just bottles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_Freee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    142
    78
    58
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stopped for lunch after traveling from Monteverde. Karen, our server, was cheery and efficient. I ordered the sausage plate, while my friends had sandwiches. Good sized portions. Due to mixup in kitchen, my order was delayed, so I was offered a choice of pastries as an apology. Nice selection of meats and bread...enough that I made a sandwich of my leftovers to have the next day for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margepurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A simple delight in the middle of almost nowhere!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Ive never had german goods before but I will now. Karen, a new employee/could have fooled me!, was extremely knowledgeable and her recommendations were spot on! I plan on revisiting on our return trip. Pricing wasnt too bad!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maereese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive Place to Snack”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Please be advised that drivers of buses and vans of tourists are tipped to bring tourists here. You will pay dearly if you buy a piece of fruit here when there is a grocery store and a fruit and vegetable stand right around the corner with great prices. I would still shop here to get a treat and I know the prices are high. I would not eat here due to prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachV070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this one”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Over-rated, over-priced and frequently over-crowded because tourist busses are paid to stop here. Locals avoid it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Pan German Bakery also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tom's Pan German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing