We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always come back”

Tom's Pan German Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hi, I just wanted to share with you info about the original German Bakery (Panaderia Alemana) in the Lake Arenal area. We have been stopping here every time on our way to Tabacon. We love it!
The atmosphere, the food, German beer, white sausages, sauerkraut, schnitzels and obviously the apfelstrudel with vanilla ice cream!
Kids get nice service as well. Never had enough. Never get bored. And it is a such nice variety of having a tasty and quality european food in your mouth after weeks of "arroz and frijoles" :)
We love it and always bring our friends here. How fascinating and unbelievable it is to have a German Village and German Bakery in the hearth of exotic Costa Rica!
I am always mesmerized by the fact of people from all over the world mixing in different countries, sharing their tradition and kitchen.
Tom, the owner is a great guy! Always finds time even when busy to chat with us for a bit. Gives good tips and informatics about where to stay and what to see.
Thank you Tom Team!
Highly recommend for a lunch on your way or back from Tabacon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartaPozniakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    137
    76
    58
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blind customers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was reading through some of the reviews. One complaint was that there were no prices. As many restaurants do these days, they have a huge price board right at the entrance to the sales counter. Plus the prices are listed in the back of each menu.

We had a great experience, because we like German food. It was absolutely well prepared and delicious. The entire place and the food reminded us at a rustic atmosphere of Central Europe. We were well served.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cessy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Went to this place for morning pastries and found them to be good. Another day went there for Lunch. There is a menu but there were no prices - the owner was accommodating to explain the specials and all seemed good. We had a decent couple of plates of German cuisine with a check totaling $60. Ouch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schlitz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Makes me feel like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there to have a meal. The staff is very kind. It was no problem to get a special combination of Bratwurst, Leberkäs mit Spiegeleiern and Kartoffelsalat. And they had a fantastic german Christstollen. Makes me feel like home in Germany. My friends and I enjoyd to be there a lot and wanna visit this place again!

Helpful?
Thank rechthewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Count your change if you eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stopped by and ordered 2 beers, and 2 salami and cheese sandwiches. Bill came to $29. Gave cashier $40, but she only gave back a dollar in change. Had to ask for my $10. Not sure if this was by accordant or on purpose but in a tourist area my guess is this happens a lot. Sandwiches had a lot of bread and vegetables, but very little meat or cheese. I would not go back to this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquiedoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Pan German Bakery also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tom's Pan German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing