We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 beautiful days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2007

this is such a beautiful place it is luxurious scenic and peaceful and the food is just wonderful the staff books all tours if you need them the lake view is incredible it is 40 minutes outside of la fortuna which some might not like so when you go on the rafting trip or ziplining or any of the other great adventures there you start off a bit earlier but you are more than compensated by the ambience of this great place we will absolutely come back


ken manhattan beach, ca

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wholewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

We only stayed here one night in July, 2007. Too short a time but we were trying to get a good overview of the country - which we did. We loved the Arenal area. It's beauty is awe-inspiring. We drove here fron the Puntarenas area, going around the lake, through the town of Arenal - which has a strong German influence with German bakeries and restaurants galore - to this lovely Inn. The owner greated us upon our arrival, which was earlier than normal check in time. At this point in our travel we were overcompensating for arriving late and driving at dark, something we were trying to avoid. Nonplussed, he invited us to share a welcome drink with him and gave us a tour of the property. This is not a large resort but a lovely, well-planned out property overlooking a lush valley. Great lap pool, enormous hot tub with infinity edge, beautiful accommodations. We loved our room, which they had upgraded to a suite. We had a separate sitting area, hot tub area, and a separate bedroom with two additional beds. If we go back, this is where we'll stay, and put our grandkids in the other room. The concierge recommended a fabulous restaurant at another hotel closer to the volcano for dinner and volcano view - the Kioro - just about 10 km away. It was one of our most fantastic meals in Costa Rica and the volcano view outstanding. They have huge floor to ceiling windows that open up completely so you get a close up view of the volcano, which you want to see at night when the lava is glowing. During the day, it only appears as white, due to the ash covering. Unfortunately, it started raining cats and dogs when we got to Kioro so we didn't get to enjoy the fireworks - another reason to return. Breakfast the next morning at La Mansion was excellent - fresh fruit, breads, eggs, anything you wanted really. We chowed down and hopped on the road for the Guanacaste coast, remarking about what a great property this was and who we would tell about it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rannynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed at La Mansion for four nights and had a wonderful time. Our cottage was secluded and cosy with plenty of room for the four of us and a fabulous view of the lake. We sat on the verandah watching beautiful sunsets in the evening. The staff were so friendly and helpful and because the place is so small they get to know you and your preferences very quickly. Breakfasts are fantastic with beautifully presented fresh fruit and just about anything else we wanted to eat, and the dinners were great too - all in all a great start to our vacation in Costa Rica.

The Malik family - Irvine, CA

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for five nights during our honeymoon in May 2007. During our entire stay here we felt very comfortable and well taken care of by the staff.

The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, and have amazing views of the lake and surrounding grounds. We spent quite a bit of time at the pool just reading and looking out at the wonderful view.

On of the great things about this place was that they were very accomodating when it came to menu selection. We were able to tell them whatever we wanted for our meal and they were able to provide it for us. They also are great about arranging activities for their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GoTeamNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed the week of May20th, 2007. I want to personally thank Godfried and his staff for their excellent service, phenomenal food, and amazing accommodations. What a beautiful beautiful place and an exquisite relaxing atmosphere. I can't think of a place where I have ever relaxed and been pampered more and still have the opportunity for adventure. And the view from the vanishing soaking pool kept us lounging in the warm waters well after sunset. Stunning.
La Mansion at Arenal will definitely be our destination again next trip.

The food was the best we had in over two weeks of travel around CR. The cooked to order breakfasts (complementary) cant be beat. They have a good bar and an excellent wine selection favoring the reds.

La Mansion also arranged for tours, guides, transportation, and fees for any of the sites we wanted to visit. The prices were more than fair and the service top notch.

Godfried even loaned me his brand new personal camera to photograph our adventures away from La Mansion after we had an unexpected camera loss on the Picuare River a couple of days before. How often do you see that kind of service anymore?

The rooms really are as beautiful as the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank michael_mcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

La Mansion is far superior to Tabacon in this area if you like quiet luxurious and romantic hotels and dislike touristy and crowded areas. My husband and I spent 4 nights at La Mansion and were very very impressed with the personalized service and loved having our very own casita. The food at the hotel was wonderful and the sounds of the birds waking us every morning was so peaceful. As quiet and peaceful as the resort is, it's just a stone's throw away from outdoor adventure -- try the hanging bridges, waterfall rapelling and ask the owner of La Mansion to set you up with your own private tour of the cloud forest where you can zip line. What a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RRZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2007

We arrived in Costa Rica without any hotel reservations and stumbling upon La Mansion was the highlight and defining moment of our trip. We drove through La Fortuna and were lucky enough to have a full view of the volcano. In fact, we didn't know how lucky we were. The volcano was covered in fog for the remainder of our stay in the area. Definitely take every advantage of touring around the volcano when the weather is right. We continued driving west, past the many overly touristy hotels and stumbled upon La Mansion. Immediately we knew this was the paradise we were searching for. The setting was peaceful and beautiful, the grounds immaculate and the rooms impeccable. The food in the open air restaurant was phenomenal....fresh seafood, vegetables, desserts, European breakfasts. Considering the amenities, you definitely get your money's worth at La Mansion. The owner and hotel staff are welcoming, friendly and will make you feel at home. They are thoroughly knowledgable and will arrange tours to nearby activities and adventures. The visit to Monte Verde is a must. One can really base their stay in Costa Rica at La Mansion and enjoy different activities each day. La Mansion leaves a taste of pampered luxury in one's mouth and a strong desire to return.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SuzanneDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
18 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
831 reviews
10.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,878 reviews
10.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,468 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
10.6 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range: $173 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing