We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. It was not planified, but we are happy that we fall on it by chance
Absolutely great and charming view on Lake Arenal. The suites are really charming with perfect view out of the bed directly outside on the lake, sunset included.
During night you are surrounded by softly sounds of nature (frog, birds) and during the day you get all kind of colourful birds (including many colibris) coming by.
Just after sunset its time for lightning bugs and so on
The suites (we tried two of them) are well equiped with all you need (and clean). Perfect italian styling, great wall painting
Service and staff very nice and helpful, food great (the best sirloin we had in costa rica - we didn't try anything else as it was so good).
perfect for familly (always at least 5 beds) and/or couple
We will surely come back and stay for longer as it was just magic
many thanks to Gottfried and his staff for this highlight

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timm_Leth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 260 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just returned from CR and had a great time for 10d. We spent 3 nights at the La Mansion Inn as a base for our activities around the lake and volcano. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms nice, clean, with AC, affordable, private. Excellent bed linens, beds slightly stiff but definitely doable Small but refreshing infinity pool with an amazing view of the lake. The staff is friendly and helpful. The owners seemed quite reserved and quiet, not rude but not exactly welcoming either. That is an area that could use some improvement. However, no complaints about the local staff persons. I would stay here again however, as it was a very relaxing place to be. They did give us a free night as we needed to add on another night at the end, and fortunately they were able to accomodate us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmccurmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

wow. this place is paradise. the pictures truly do not do it justice. Rustic and charming, with lots to do in the area. the roads have improved locally and the locals are working hard to cater to travelers.

The rooms are stunning. Not manicured and artificial; rather they are truly authentic to the area and great for an escape from the "west".

Terrific staff and owners make this place a 10/10. We will return again and again. Thank you La Mansion. We miss you already!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, speak with the birds!! Close the windows and put on the air. The birds in the are...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonHardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed 6 fabulous nights at La Mansion! After our long drive in the first night from San Jose - we were greeted by Peggy who quickly showed us to our cabin to unload. We went into the restaurant for a quick bite and a drink and met Cindy and quickly knew we made the right choice for our stay! Leo & Peggy were fabulous...recommending places to eat, making reservations and even scheduling massages for us. Cindy was wonderful...trying to teach us Spanish and making recommendations on things to do. We had planned day excursions in the area and La Mansion was conveniently located between everything we wanted to see, and so relaxing to come back to every evening to sit on our porch and listen to the birds. Beautiful Place & Beautiful People – we love La Mansion!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were happy to quickly escape the tourist bustle in La Fortuna and make the scenic drive to Neuvo Arenal with gorgeous views of Lake Arenal and the grassy hillsides. You cannot see the volcano from this place, but it is a short drive away. Having a car rental provides you with the freedom and flexibility to explore the Arenal area to its fullest, and you will need one if you're staying at La Mansion. We rented a Cabin Deluxe which provided comfortable space for a couple and 2 friends in separate rooms. There were 2 showers (but only 1 toilet) and a sitting area and fridge and a safe for keeping valuables...the views were so lovely from our porch that we didn't ever bother to turn on the satellite TV! We enjoyed our morning breakfast in the restaurant, but didn't eat a proper meal there...The staff was always helpful, and the decor of both the rooms and the main area feels very upscale. The pool has lovely views, but the hot tub area needs a bit of maintenance. Overall - we very much enjoyed "treating ourselves" to what felt like a luxurious stay, but was actually quite affordable. Definitely recommended if you are in the area.

Room Tip: All of the cabins have 'private' views overlooking Lake Arenal and the fields with grazing h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I second all the wonderful things that have been said about this wonderful hotel, it's owners and the staff. We have one small story to add. On our last night there we ordered the salad and the entree. It all proved too much food for my wife and she hardly touched the meat in her entree. We asked the waitress to wrap it and we would keep it in the fridge in our unit overnight. She kindly obliged. The following morning I asked Leo, the owner, if the girl in the kitchen could use that meat to make up some sandwiches to go. Without any hesitation he said " of course". That makes us feel valued as customers. We would certainly return to La Mansion.
Fran and Denis Berube, Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: It seems that all units have a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemtoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our stay last week in La mansion was really great !
The environment is fantastic, room spacious and creatively furnished .
Peggy gives all necessary information, and we were really enchated by the day trip on the other side of thne lake . A must do for those whi want to feel what Costa Rica really is . Your guide Nixon, will help you on your horses ( even if you can't drive, it is easy, no problem and fun ) , show you great scneries and cook you a "mountain-bbq".
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patlambein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,310 reviews
10.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,847 reviews
10.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,928 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range: $147 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing