We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Stay at La Mansion Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay at La Mansion Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the arenal area at La Mansion Inn. The deal was really great; we paid $165 for two nights in a "deluxe cottage" and got the third night for free. The cottage had an extra bedroom which we didn't use, a nice sized bathroom, and plenty of space in the living area with a couch, TV and dresser. Everything was very clean; there were lots of ants but they are unavoidable as you are in the middle of the rainforest. The view of Lake Arenal from our private patio was fantastic all day and in the evening (we were in cottage 2 but it seems like everyone has a great, private view). You do need a car to stay here but it's really not a bad drive at all from La Fortuna, and we avoided extra fees on our tours by driving into town rather than getting picked up by the tour bus. Peggy, the owner, was very nice and helpful in getting us tours booked. We also did the Selva Leona rainforest tour which is organized by the hotel. It was a great day - boat ride across the lake where the driver helped point out birds, then a couple hour horseback ride, a hike down to some great waterfalls, and a (very authentic) bbq lunch cooked by our tour guides, who are a local family. Their English was not great but they were incredibly nice and accomodating. The pool at the hotel is small but I'd imagine that most people aren't staying in Arenal to hang out by the pool, and the view is gorgeous. My one qualm at this hotel is the food. The breakfast was edible but not much more than that - included for free is pretty good bread from a local bakery and jams, coffee & OJ. everything else (eggs, granola) was reasonably priced. we had dinner here two nights before exploring other options in the area, which were much better, cheaper and more interesting. The food at the hotel was just not very good and we ended up spending $50-60 excluding alcohol and left each dinner disappointed. There are plenty of fun options in the area and the road is dark but completely drivable at night so this shouldn't be a deterrent. Overall we absolutely loved our stay at La Mansion Inn - gorgeous, great room, good location and a perfect outpost for our trip to Arenal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    47
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
66
95
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks at La Mansion. The staff, location, views, birds, and proximity to excursions/ adventures were perfect. We couldn't recommend this beautiful hotel more highly. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us all feel at home. Our teenagers found lots to do and can't wait to go back. The rooms all had stunning views....I can only wonder if this is a little like what the Garden of Eden might have looked like. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Last minute our original rental was without power, and the property manager scrambled to find us suitable lodging for our 10 person party. We ended up at La Mansion, which was 10 times better than we had originally planned on. Upgraded from a 5 bedroom house for 9 adults, to 4 beautiful cottages fitted with a king and separate bedroom w/ 2 doubles. And the cottages are so pretty, rustic decor, tiles, wooden shutters... just magical.
Peggy the manager was so accommodating to our 3am arrival. Food was great, landscape pristine. I couldn't have imagined a better property for our vacation.
Thank you Costa Rican power company for causing an outage that put us in this awesome lodging.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Everything about this hotel was amazing: the view, the staff, the value, the wildlife, the location, the cottage, etc...

You cannot go wrong; we got a special (stay 2 nights and get the third free), with secure parking, a gorgeous cottage, and free breakfast. This place was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noplacelike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Everyone has raved about this special place and offered advice about car rentals etc, so what more can I add? I offer some context to my review so you can compare your situation with ours. My mom and I picked La Mansion as our "base of operations" for our week in Costa Rica. This was my second trip in two years to CR to celebrate my birthday; it was my mom's first trip to CR. Last year I visited the two coasts and Arenal. Instead of hopping around the country this year, I wanted to explore the rain forest environment in more depth.

Every morning a cacophony of bird song awakens you along with the rush of plants brushing against the cottage. We'd make a pot of coffee, settle in at the table on the patio, and greet the day. Each cottage has a perfect Eastern-facing view of the lake and is surrounded by beautiful plants, which attract a wide variety of birds. This prompted us to look up the variety of birds and get to know their names through the week. It was a delightful change from listening to the drone of traffic and overhead planes where I live!

Being from the US we are used to hopping in the car, and since I live near DC, driving for 20-40 minutes is no big deal. In fact, traveling around Arenal is a pleasant change from the clogged highways in the US since there's little traffic on the winding picturesque roads. Each day, after indulging in an amazing breakfast at La Mansion, we'd take off in search of adventure. We'd rented an economy vehicle, which was great on the paved roads but a bit iffy on the dirt ones. Having a GPS was essential even though the road signs are pretty reliable. Often we were back by dinner but sometimes it was much later. In either case, Leo and his staff were willing to accommodate us for an early or later meal. Leo has invested in top-of-the-line kitchen accoutrements and this is reflected in the high quality of the food that arrives at your table.

Leo and his staff are completely gracious. They offer a classy experience...with high European standards of cleanliness and comfort and warm Costa Rican hospitality. They work very hard to address the human invasion of the rain forest, by reminding the bugs that they're not welcome in the cottages! The pool, jacuzzi, and common areas are immaculately maintained. Each cottage is thoughtfully appointed with plenty of electrical outlets, lamps, a mini-fridge, fluffy towels, big pillows, and both closets and drawer space. In addition, we were comfortable with multiple tables w/ chairs, a sofa, and a t.v.

La Mansion is a place where you feel safe and secure, even late at night. More importantly, it offers a haven if you're seeking a time to pause in your busy life to put things in perspective.

I was so grateful to celebrate my birthday here!

Room Tip: Coordinate with Leo or his staff to ensure you get what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreainva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Nicely situated mid way along the Lake Arenal road, this hotel has wonderful views over the lake. It is tranquil and well away from the tacky tourist locations nearer the volcano. You can't see the volcano, but since it's in cloud most of the time, who cares? More importantly, the location is sheltered from the howling winds that scour Lake Arenal. If you want a change from the hotel restaurant, there are a couple of low-cost food options within walking distance, and the excellent Gingerbread House is 15 minutes to the northwest by car. The owner was helpful and all the staff friendly. Watching the sun set from the hot tub is so relaxing...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Our family also started our trip in Arenal, and La Mansion Inn was an ideal choice. The cottages are not like any other hotel room - they are small cottages with a Spanish decor and an outdoor private patio looking over the lake. We arrived at night, and woke up to the beauty of hills rolling down to the lake with grazing horses and beautiful birds. The staff was very gracious, and the meals were good. We also ate at the Gingerbread Inn, not too far away in Arenal, a lively spot with good food. We "adopted" a dog that had the run of the property and he followed us everywhere, making us feel welcome. A most beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: All the cottages are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
10.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
10.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,907 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Property: La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing