We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Mansion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Mansion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

Great cozy hotel (17 rooms), Very romantic, relaxing, and the staff are friendly.
The chef is unbelievable, she cooked us the best food in Costa Rica. She is an American who lives in Costa Rica for many years.
The rooms are just great, an experience you will not forget. The only thing, we could not sleep during the heavy rain over the metal roof.
We highly recommend this place. It is definitely one of the best in Costa Rica. Probably the best kept secret… their private natural spring water tastes unbelievable, you don’t want to buy the bottled water…the place is always clean. Enjoy your stay

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The Rain
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelusa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    52
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
82
100
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2007

La Mansion Arenal is easily one of the most beautiful places we've ever stayed, or even seen from a distance. We loved having a private cottage -- we had gorgeous views of the land (and the horses on it), lake, flowers, and countless birds without having to leave our porch. The interior is lovely, with paintings of flowers and birds and monkeys on the walls and beautiful tile in the bathroom. Every day we had different fresh flowers arranged everywhere -- on our bed, in the bathroom, and on the little table in the seating area. Some highlights:
- bird watching from our porch
- amazing breakfasts -- not just a whole platter of fresh fruit, cheese, and toast, but also whatever hot options you'd like (e.g., macadamia nut banana pancakes, omelettes, excellent ham, etc.)
- canoeing on the lake... (but a warning here -- be careful! When it gets windy, there are strong currents and it can be hard to get back! My husband and I are fairly strong and we had a real struggle one morning)
- hike in Selva Leones cloud forest, including a horseback ride in the mountains, super-friendly guides, and delicious homemade barbecue
- day trip including visits to Arenal volcano, Eco Thermales hot springs (very pretty and not too busy), and other local spots
- great shower; this won't mean a lot to many people, but for those of us who care about great heat and water pressure, this shower was a stand-out. And you could see the trees from a high window.

We didn't rent a car and that actually worked out very well for us. It's tough to get around in this area, and La Mansion was extremely helpful in setting up all our tours and transportation for us; they just put it all on our bill so we didn't have to worry about a thing. (And the final totals were quite reasonable by any US standards.)

To respond to a preceding negative review... we can only speak from our own experience:
- we had no mustiness in our room
- all staff was extremely helpful
- booking dinners was very laid-back and easy, even last-minute
- there were some little TINY ants around, but nothing that caused any second thoughts even for an insectophobe like myself.
- there was so much else to do we never even went in the pool, but it looked great.
- food at dinner was admittedly mixed... not gourmet by US city standards, and the portions were too large for us. But the salads and soups were quite good, and it was worth it for us most nights to not have to worry about going out. Also breakfasts were the best we've had almost anywhere, and even the snack plates we requested impromptu were wonderful.

  • Liked — views and breakfast
  • Disliked — distance to get to other places
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AYinJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2007

We’ve traveled Costa Rica and this was our favorite place.
They have the best food, the nicest staff, thank you Godfried, and a breathtaking view on the Lake.
This place is incredible, a little heaven on earth.
It was just a great experience and a memorable part of our Honeymoon !
We will be back !

  • Liked — The view, hospitality and great food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TPMechelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!!!
There are so many other options that are far better than this one. It's distance from the attractions are the least of your problems. The "staff" that others refer to are two people... one good one bad. Hopefully you wont get stuck with the co-owner who is a mess. She was spacy and forgot to put us down for dinner one night- and so we never ate! the rooms musty and damp and over run with aunts (both our rooms we made a change halfway in to our stay.)

We wanted to go on additional tours - tours that are from the hotel fishing horseback riding but we couldn't find any staff members to book the trip. It really was the most horrible place to stay and try to relax. My one dinner i ate so salty I couldn't swallow it... The pool filter not working so a refeshing dip was with tons of dead bugs and lawn clippings! AGAIN there are so many new options in the area I'd skip this one at all costs!

aND I WOULDN'T HAVE WRITTEN THIS IF I HAD GOTTEN A SIMPLE SORRY FROM THE MANAGEMENT INSTEAD THEY BLEW MY COMPLAINTS OFF!

  • Disliked — Most of it bad service bad food bad rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ladynewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2007

this is such a beautiful place it is luxurious scenic and peaceful and the food is just wonderful the staff books all tours if you need them the lake view is incredible it is 40 minutes outside of la fortuna which some might not like so when you go on the rafting trip or ziplining or any of the other great adventures there you start off a bit earlier but you are more than compensated by the ambience of this great place we will absolutely come back


ken manhattan beach, ca

  • Liked — scenery and room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wholewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

We only stayed here one night in July, 2007. Too short a time but we were trying to get a good overview of the country - which we did. We loved the Arenal area. It's beauty is awe-inspiring. We drove here fron the Puntarenas area, going around the lake, through the town of Arenal - which has a strong German influence with German bakeries and restaurants galore - to this lovely Inn. The owner greated us upon our arrival, which was earlier than normal check in time. At this point in our travel we were overcompensating for arriving late and driving at dark, something we were trying to avoid. Nonplussed, he invited us to share a welcome drink with him and gave us a tour of the property. This is not a large resort but a lovely, well-planned out property overlooking a lush valley. Great lap pool, enormous hot tub with infinity edge, beautiful accommodations. We loved our room, which they had upgraded to a suite. We had a separate sitting area, hot tub area, and a separate bedroom with two additional beds. If we go back, this is where we'll stay, and put our grandkids in the other room. The concierge recommended a fabulous restaurant at another hotel closer to the volcano for dinner and volcano view - the Kioro - just about 10 km away. It was one of our most fantastic meals in Costa Rica and the volcano view outstanding. They have huge floor to ceiling windows that open up completely so you get a close up view of the volcano, which you want to see at night when the lava is glowing. During the day, it only appears as white, due to the ash covering. Unfortunately, it started raining cats and dogs when we got to Kioro so we didn't get to enjoy the fireworks - another reason to return. Breakfast the next morning at La Mansion was excellent - fresh fruit, breads, eggs, anything you wanted really. We chowed down and hopped on the road for the Guanacaste coast, remarking about what a great property this was and who we would tell about it.

  • Liked — Pool, room, restaurant, people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rannynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed at La Mansion for four nights and had a wonderful time. Our cottage was secluded and cosy with plenty of room for the four of us and a fabulous view of the lake. We sat on the verandah watching beautiful sunsets in the evening. The staff were so friendly and helpful and because the place is so small they get to know you and your preferences very quickly. Breakfasts are fantastic with beautifully presented fresh fruit and just about anything else we wanted to eat, and the dinners were great too - all in all a great start to our vacation in Costa Rica.

The Malik family - Irvine, CA

  • Liked — Friendly, personal service, great views, great food
  • Disliked — Distance from the activities we wanted to do
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
10.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
10.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
18.8 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#4 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Property: La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing