We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #1 of 13 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We loved our stay at Villa Decary. The location is simply stunning, fabulously landscaped, with a great view of Lake Arenal from all rooms and casitas [we had a room.] We enjoyed the little fridge with $2 beers outside our door, sitting on our deck looking at the lake, watching for birds, and listening to the howler monkeys. Birders give tours on the property because the sitings are good. The hosts are lovely people, and were very helpful in pointing out the best of the local attractions and restaurants [we highly recommend Maya for pizza and Gingerbread for a lovely meal]. We went to bustling La Fortuna briefly and were glad we didn't stay there ... very touristy. Villa Decary is about a 30 minute drive to the volcano, but the volcano is in the clouds most of the time anyway and it wasn't active when we were there. There are wonderful restaurants near Villa Decary and we loved our quiet paradise. The breakfasts were lovely, especially the fresh juices and beautiful fruit plate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lojoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Villa Decary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 321 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

Overlooking beautiful Lake Arenal and a whole mess of green sprinkled with amazing colorful flowers, trees and other plants, the Villa truly lives up to its name. The owners are excellent people who seem to enjoy meeting everyone who walks in. They were also very concerned and helpful with making sure I had the best time while I was here and had some great discounts on various activities I was interested in... recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cribbagechamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I recently spent one night at Villa Decary and one night at the Arenal Observatory Lodge. While I love the setting of the Observatory Lodge there are just too many people. I much preferred Villa Decary, the laid back atmosphere, the view of the Lake Arenal, and the kind, attentive service provided by Suzie and Dan. I highly recommend this place to all travellers visiting the Arenal region.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Villa Decary was just right for us. The breakfasts, as advertised on Tripadvisor, were so beautiful that we took photos. We are grandparents, traveling with our 2 daughters, their husbands, and five children, ages 7-13. Dan wisely suggested that we take the five bedrooms in the main house, where there was no one else to bother with kid noise. Although there's no pool, the kids played games on the property every morning and evening, and said they would stay there again. Dan and Suzy are attentive, helpful, but laid back, and their staff is lovely and warm. We spent five nights there. It was a great base for touring the Arenal Hanging Bridges, basking in Hot Springs, white water rafting (for a few of us), river floating (and wildlife viewing) for others, ziplining, and a visit to Elkin's family, where we had a great time in spite of mud and rain. It was a privilege to spend time with such lovely people.

If there is any way to arrive before dark, do it. The roads can be treacherous, especially after rainy season. That's my only caveat. Villa Decary is an easy, comfortable place to stay. We even ordered in pizza one night when all were exhausted. Suzy and Dan do all they can do accommodate guests, without hovering.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlrTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Unfortunately I only spent one night at Villa Decary and wish I was able to spend more time. The region is very picturesque and the view from the B&B is outstanding. I am not normally a breakfast person but I really enjoyed the fruit plate, homemade juice, breads and the omelette cooked to perfection. Both Suzy and Dan are excellent hosts and I recommend Villa Decary to everyone travelling to Arenal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorynenarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you are looking for a respite from the hustle and bustle of La Fortuna, the Villa Decary is your best choice in the area. With beautiful views of Lake Arenal, non-stop bird-watching on the property, and clean modern rooms, this B&B is a gem. The hosts, Suzy and Dan, are the most friendly and accommodating in the business. Their colleague (Elkin) has a day-trip to the farm of his youth a few kilometers away that is not to be missed. Along with Christina, the local Costa Rican coffee and variety of breakfasts were always a delight and a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaeljs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We loved staying at Villa Decary - especially since it meant we were beneficiaries of Dan and Suzy's advice and assistance. The hotel itself is lovely, situated on a beautiful property with plenty of wildlife and great views over Lake Arenal. Sunset views from anywhere in the property were amazing. Both fortunately and unfortunately, sunrise views were also incredible. I say unfortunately because, oddly, our room didn't have any blinds, so we got the amazing sunrise views every morning whether we wanted them or not.

The only other minor negative about the hotel was its location - it's about a 45-1 hour drive from La Fortuna, where most of the tourist excursions are or leave from. This is fine if you have a car, but was a bit of a hassle for us since we did not. Fortunately, Dan and Suzy connected us with Emilce and Balo, a couple who drive and provide tours in the area. They were great - picked us up at the airport, drove us around Arenal and La Fortuna for 2 of the 3 days we were there, drove us down to Manuel Antonio, and gave us tours of a few wildlife parks in the process. I think the price for everything was around $600, which was very reasonable relative to other things I found online.

The other great benefit of Villa Decary is being able to go on a tour of a working farm with the hotel's chef, Elkin. His family owns a farm about a half hour away from the hotel and he took a group of us out to see it. It's on gorgeous, hilly land, with a beautiful river cutting through the property. After the hike, Elkin's mother made all of us a traditional Costa Rican lunch - you could see where Elkin got his cooking chops from!

All in all, this was an amazing trip, made more so by the wonderful hotel and amazing assistance of Dan and Suzy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyrahoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
260 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,928 reviews
8.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
830 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 13 in Nuevo Arenal
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 13 in Nuevo Arenal
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing