We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for extended family, ages 7-70”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #2 of 14 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Villa Decary was just right for us. The breakfasts, as advertised on Tripadvisor, were so beautiful that we took photos. We are grandparents, traveling with our 2 daughters, their husbands, and five children, ages 7-13. Dan wisely suggested that we take the five bedrooms in the main house, where there was no one else to bother with kid noise. Although there's no pool, the kids played games on the property every morning and evening, and said they would stay there again. Dan and Suzy are attentive, helpful, but laid back, and their staff is lovely and warm. We spent five nights there. It was a great base for touring the Arenal Hanging Bridges, basking in Hot Springs, white water rafting (for a few of us), river floating (and wildlife viewing) for others, ziplining, and a visit to Elkin's family, where we had a great time in spite of mud and rain. It was a privilege to spend time with such lovely people.

If there is any way to arrive before dark, do it. The roads can be treacherous, especially after rainy season. That's my only caveat. Villa Decary is an easy, comfortable place to stay. We even ordered in pizza one night when all were exhausted. Suzy and Dan do all they can do accommodate guests, without hovering.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlrTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 323 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2011

Unfortunately I only spent one night at Villa Decary and wish I was able to spend more time. The region is very picturesque and the view from the B&B is outstanding. I am not normally a breakfast person but I really enjoyed the fruit plate, homemade juice, breads and the omelette cooked to perfection. Both Suzy and Dan are excellent hosts and I recommend Villa Decary to everyone travelling to Arenal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorynenarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you are looking for a respite from the hustle and bustle of La Fortuna, the Villa Decary is your best choice in the area. With beautiful views of Lake Arenal, non-stop bird-watching on the property, and clean modern rooms, this B&B is a gem. The hosts, Suzy and Dan, are the most friendly and accommodating in the business. Their colleague (Elkin) has a day-trip to the farm of his youth a few kilometers away that is not to be missed. Along with Christina, the local Costa Rican coffee and variety of breakfasts were always a delight and a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaeljs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We loved staying at Villa Decary - especially since it meant we were beneficiaries of Dan and Suzy's advice and assistance. The hotel itself is lovely, situated on a beautiful property with plenty of wildlife and great views over Lake Arenal. Sunset views from anywhere in the property were amazing. Both fortunately and unfortunately, sunrise views were also incredible. I say unfortunately because, oddly, our room didn't have any blinds, so we got the amazing sunrise views every morning whether we wanted them or not.

The only other minor negative about the hotel was its location - it's about a 45-1 hour drive from La Fortuna, where most of the tourist excursions are or leave from. This is fine if you have a car, but was a bit of a hassle for us since we did not. Fortunately, Dan and Suzy connected us with Emilce and Balo, a couple who drive and provide tours in the area. They were great - picked us up at the airport, drove us around Arenal and La Fortuna for 2 of the 3 days we were there, drove us down to Manuel Antonio, and gave us tours of a few wildlife parks in the process. I think the price for everything was around $600, which was very reasonable relative to other things I found online.

The other great benefit of Villa Decary is being able to go on a tour of a working farm with the hotel's chef, Elkin. His family owns a farm about a half hour away from the hotel and he took a group of us out to see it. It's on gorgeous, hilly land, with a beautiful river cutting through the property. After the hike, Elkin's mother made all of us a traditional Costa Rican lunch - you could see where Elkin got his cooking chops from!

All in all, this was an amazing trip, made more so by the wonderful hotel and amazing assistance of Dan and Suzy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyrahoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My family (7 adults) spent two nights at the lovely Villa Decary, perched on a hillside overlooking Lake Arenal. We were warmly welcomed by Suzy and Dan, the owners, as soon as we arrived. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and nicely decorated. My husband and I stayed in a casita, which is a stand-alone building, and it had a porch with a nice view of the lake. One of my daughters and her husband stayed in one of the regular hotel rooms also with its own little porch. A bird-lover, she was thrilled that her room overlooked the area where many beautiful birds, including the aracari, a type of toucan, came to feed every morning.

The breakfasts were fantastic starting with the fresh, beautifully arranged tropical fruit presented to us each morning as the first course. The second course was always delicious and meticulously prepared. Fresh fruit juice each morning was also special treat for us. We felt that their breakfasts were among the best that we’ve ever had on a trip.

I was so happy to meet Suzy after having exchanged many emails with her prior to our arrival. She was extremely helpful to me in planning our trip to Costa Rica and sent me lots of information about the sights of the area, as well as arranged transportation for the seven members of my family who arrived there in two groups from two different parts of Costa Rica within minutes of each other. In fact, the entire staff was very personable, especially Elkin, who leads private tours of his family’s large farm. At Suzy’s recommendation, we spent half a day with Elkin visiting the farm that also included a small rainforest, stream, and waterfall. After our hike, we enjoyed a fabulous, bountiful lunch prepared by his charming mother. All of us agreed that this one of the most enjoyable experiences of our visit to Costa Rica.

We highly recommend Villa Decary to anyone wanting to visit the Arenal area. We only wish that we could have stayed longer to explore its beautiful property.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elemeshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

A charming B&B with spectacular views from your balcony. The rooms are decorated with fabrics from guatamala and furnishings by local Costa Rican artisans The breakfast was amazing and the hospitality was warm and friendly . WE loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquarius15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The hosts were fantastic; full of information and extremely helpful. The staff made amazing breakfasts and the house was always clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fogisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
264 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
137 reviews
13.3 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 77 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,025 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Nicholas
Chalet Nicholas
#8 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing