We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Absolute Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #1 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“An Absolute Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you are looking for a respite from the hustle and bustle of La Fortuna, the Villa Decary is your best choice in the area. With beautiful views of Lake Arenal, non-stop bird-watching on the property, and clean modern rooms, this B&B is a gem. The hosts, Suzy and Dan, are the most friendly and accommodating in the business. Their colleague (Elkin) has a day-trip to the farm of his youth a few kilometers away that is not to be missed. Along with Christina, the local Costa Rican coffee and variety of breakfasts were always a delight and a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaeljs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
168
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

We loved staying at Villa Decary - especially since it meant we were beneficiaries of Dan and Suzy's advice and assistance. The hotel itself is lovely, situated on a beautiful property with plenty of wildlife and great views over Lake Arenal. Sunset views from anywhere in the property were amazing. Both fortunately and unfortunately, sunrise views were also incredible. I say unfortunately because, oddly, our room didn't have any blinds, so we got the amazing sunrise views every morning whether we wanted them or not.

The only other minor negative about the hotel was its location - it's about a 45-1 hour drive from La Fortuna, where most of the tourist excursions are or leave from. This is fine if you have a car, but was a bit of a hassle for us since we did not. Fortunately, Dan and Suzy connected us with Emilce and Balo, a couple who drive and provide tours in the area. They were great - picked us up at the airport, drove us around Arenal and La Fortuna for 2 of the 3 days we were there, drove us down to Manuel Antonio, and gave us tours of a few wildlife parks in the process. I think the price for everything was around $600, which was very reasonable relative to other things I found online.

The other great benefit of Villa Decary is being able to go on a tour of a working farm with the hotel's chef, Elkin. His family owns a farm about a half hour away from the hotel and he took a group of us out to see it. It's on gorgeous, hilly land, with a beautiful river cutting through the property. After the hike, Elkin's mother made all of us a traditional Costa Rican lunch - you could see where Elkin got his cooking chops from!

All in all, this was an amazing trip, made more so by the wonderful hotel and amazing assistance of Dan and Suzy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyrahoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

My family (7 adults) spent two nights at the lovely Villa Decary, perched on a hillside overlooking Lake Arenal. We were warmly welcomed by Suzy and Dan, the owners, as soon as we arrived. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and nicely decorated. My husband and I stayed in a casita, which is a stand-alone building, and it had a porch with a nice view of the lake. One of my daughters and her husband stayed in one of the regular hotel rooms also with its own little porch. A bird-lover, she was thrilled that her room overlooked the area where many beautiful birds, including the aracari, a type of toucan, came to feed every morning.

The breakfasts were fantastic starting with the fresh, beautifully arranged tropical fruit presented to us each morning as the first course. The second course was always delicious and meticulously prepared. Fresh fruit juice each morning was also special treat for us. We felt that their breakfasts were among the best that we’ve ever had on a trip.

I was so happy to meet Suzy after having exchanged many emails with her prior to our arrival. She was extremely helpful to me in planning our trip to Costa Rica and sent me lots of information about the sights of the area, as well as arranged transportation for the seven members of my family who arrived there in two groups from two different parts of Costa Rica within minutes of each other. In fact, the entire staff was very personable, especially Elkin, who leads private tours of his family’s large farm. At Suzy’s recommendation, we spent half a day with Elkin visiting the farm that also included a small rainforest, stream, and waterfall. After our hike, we enjoyed a fabulous, bountiful lunch prepared by his charming mother. All of us agreed that this one of the most enjoyable experiences of our visit to Costa Rica.

We highly recommend Villa Decary to anyone wanting to visit the Arenal area. We only wish that we could have stayed longer to explore its beautiful property.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elemeshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

A charming B&B with spectacular views from your balcony. The rooms are decorated with fabrics from guatamala and furnishings by local Costa Rican artisans The breakfast was amazing and the hospitality was warm and friendly . WE loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarius15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

The hosts were fantastic; full of information and extremely helpful. The staff made amazing breakfasts and the house was always clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fogisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

What an amazing place! We headed here straight from San Jose airportand arrived just in time to catch a one of a kind sunset from the porch of our casita. The owners and staff were wonderful; their suggestions were very helpful. Two thumbs up for this jewel of Costa Rica. How lucky we were to stay here for a few nights and absorb the culture, wildlife and hot springs in the Arenal/La Fortuna area. I highly recommend Villa Decary to everyone.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank milagirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

I can't say enough positive things about the inn keepers and this special place. Their respect for the local environment, food, culture and people in so many ways. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were healthy and delicious, and their attentiveness to our needs were over the top. From the first time we made contact with them to find out about the area, I was impressed by their helpful and prompt responses. We stayed at a few places in Costa Rica, but this was one of the most pleasant. We also had an amazing experience with their friend and staff person, Elkin, who is from the area, getting "the real Costa Rica" tour. We fell in love with his family and culture and will never forget their wonderful hospitality and kindness. This is a place for nature lovers who want to watch birds, enjoy some isolation, eat well, and learn about the local environment. I would definitely return if I go back to the lake arenal area. Also,our teen girls LOVED their pet dog "Olivia" and seeing the toucans in the morning while having breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Property: Villa Decary
Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing