We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #2 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san jose ca usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Jewel”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our stay here was booked through Gecko travel so we didn't know what to expect. We couldn't have done better. The hotel is beautifully situated with views of the lake and lovely grounds. The hosts -Dan and Suzy-are amiable and helpful (to the point of lending us money so we could visit the cash only Gingerbread restaurant the first night. And the breakfasts each morning are hand crafted and unique. Although the hotel is a little isolated from main attractions like the volcano, it presents a much more restful and beautiful option than all the hotels along the strip nearer Arenal. Plus the Gingerbread next door is one of the better restaurants we found in all of Costa Rica. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocofoodSanJoseCaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
171
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Delightfully surprised. Suzy was very friendly and knowledgable and gave us the inside scoop on all the arenal attractions. Spent the day with Elkin, personal friend of Suzy, and his family to really have the Costa Rican experience, Elkins mom was great and a great cook. We enjoyed the howler monkeys from the deck and than a delicious and varied hot breakfast before heading off for adventure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grooveNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I took our 3 young adult daughters to Costa Rica to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Little did we know this would be a trip of a lifetime and largely in part to the assistance we received from Suzy and Dan, the owners of Villa Decary. We stayed here for the first half of our trip...4 nights in paradise. The accommodations were not only comfortable but the surroundings were breathtaking. Our rooms overlooked Lake Arenal, with views of birds and tropical grounds. We woke each morning (very early) to the howler monkeys. Now we know why they are named so. Twice during our stay we watched large families of howlers and even got up close and personal on one occasion. Suzy and Dan gave us perfect recommendations for our stay including zip lining, canyoneering, volcano hike, kayaking on Lake Arenal, an amazing day with Elkin on his family farm, and a dinner to die for at the Gingerbread. We missed meeting Suzy, we are sad to say, but Dan was a warm, doting, most helpful host. Oh, and I must mention breakfast...each morning started with a fruit plate too pretty to eat (but of course, we ate it anyway) and then a different breakfast each morning. Outstanding food!
The Costa Ricans are known to say "pura vida" but our most favorite saying is "con mucho gusto." And it is "con mucho gusto" that we stayed at Villa Decary. We will be back! Cheryl and Don

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breilandroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Every Country has it's own truth which is not usually found in it's tourist sites. If you are looking to discover some of the real Costa Rica, stay at Villa Decary. The beauty will inspire you, the food will delight you, the cleanliness will comfort you and the owners Dan and Susie will care for you like family. Don't miss this place and be sure to ask to find the hidden treasures.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmillerclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This place has it all -- delightful hosts, and a beautiful location overlooking Lake Arenal.

Wecould have relaxed an extra day, sitting on the deck with our binoculars and watching toucans flying across the tree tops. Delicious breakfast with attention to details (one morning, we had ground macadamia nuts and homemade compotes accompanying our hotcakes).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_since_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

In May 2010 I had the great please of spending 6 nights at Villa Decary. From the moment we stepped on the grounds my friend and I were enchanted. The owner was delightful and went out of his way to make us feel welcome and to see that our stay was everything it could be.

The casita we stayed in was wonderful with a glorious view of Arenal Lake. We woke every morning with the howler monkeys and enjoyed tea and coffee on the large deck. We saw toucans and many other amazing animals. The breakfasts were tasty and fresh with special attention to the details. Everything was clean and well cared for.

We were given lots of advice about sights to see, how to get there, where to eat, and places to avoid. A wonderful day was arranged to visit the Tico farm of a friend of the owner. It was an amazing experience to see how a "real" Costa Rican family lives. We were treated with a guided tour of the rainforest and a wonderful home cooked meal. One of my favorite times.

Villa Decary is out of the hustle bustle of La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano but close enough to take advantage of all the sites. It was wonderful to come back to a quiet, beautiful, peaceful retreat at the end of a busy day. I will definately be backj!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights (wish it was longer) in the main building. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely view of Lake Arenal. The grounds are gorgeous. Our host Dan and his staff were very attentive. When Dan found out that we have to be at La Fortuna at 8 AM; he suggested that we come down for breakfast earlier then his regular service hours. Breakfast was delish. Dan was very helpful with restaurants suggestions as well. Gingerbread was culinary experience we'll never forget. We’ll definitely come back here for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costa1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
256 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Property: Villa Decary
Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing